Bitcoin Forum
December 11, 2017, 12:50:16 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: I lost bitcoind in a ssh screen.. help?  (Read 1105 times)
gigabytecoin
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 280


View Profile
June 23, 2011, 06:58:14 AM
 #1

So I was running bitcoind through an SSH screen on ubuntu 11.04.

The connection terminates randomly after long periods of inactivity.

Before I disconnected once, I had a running ./bitcoind screen open...

Now when I re-connect I cannot seem to find it, but bitcoind is still running.

How do I go about properly closing bitcoind without corrupting the blockchain or worse?
Be very wary of relying on JavaScript for security on sites such as blockchain.info and brainwallet.org. The site can change the JavaScript at any time unless you take unusual precautions, and browsers are not generally known for their airtight security.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1512953416
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1512953416

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1512953416
Reply with quote  #2

1512953416
Report to moderator
1512953416
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1512953416

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1512953416
Reply with quote  #2

1512953416
Report to moderator
kseistrup
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 565


Unselfish actions pay back better


View Profile WWW
June 23, 2011, 07:10:10 AM
 #2


How do I go about properly closing bitcoind without corrupting the blockchain or worse?

If you have RPC enabled, ssh to the box, then write: /full/path/to/bitcoind stop

(try ‘bitcoind help’ for full help.)

Cheers,

Klaus Alexander Seistrup
http://about.me/kseistrup
gigabytecoin
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 280


View Profile
June 23, 2011, 09:31:21 AM
 #3


How do I go about properly closing bitcoind without corrupting the blockchain or worse?

If you have RPC enabled, ssh to the box, then write: /full/path/to/bitcoind stop

(try ‘bitcoind help’ for full help.)

Cheers,

Worked a charm, thank you!
Rob P.
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 84



View Profile WWW
June 23, 2011, 04:13:43 PM
 #4

I know you fixed it, but if it was run using screen, when you reconnect you can also use:

% screen -ls

To list all of your screen sessions.  It will then give you the name of the session to reattach it.

--

If you like what I've written here, consider tipping the messenger:
1GZu4CtHa6ai8iWoWiVFxV5VVoNte4SkoG

If you don't like what I've written, send me a Tip and I'll stop talking.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!