Bitcoin Forum
December 03, 2016, 12:35:44 AM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Have anyone tried mining with HP Servers DL380 G5  (Read 3299 times)
ninjapug
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 40


View Profile
June 23, 2011, 07:10:24 AM
 #1

I have a number of retired HP Servers DL380 G4 and G5 in my server rooms. I am planning of using them for mining since they are spare servers.
Do you think servers are suitable and do they have enough PCI express slots for HD 5850.

1480725344
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480725344

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480725344
Reply with quote  #2

1480725344
Report to moderator
1480725344
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480725344

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480725344
Reply with quote  #2

1480725344
Report to moderator
1480725344
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480725344

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480725344
Reply with quote  #2

1480725344
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
Zagitta
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 84


View Profile
June 23, 2011, 05:03:23 PM
 #2

If you have the servers and don't even know wether or not they have PCI-E slots you probably shouldn't even own those servers in the first place...

Either way servers usually don't have any pci-e slots so you'll have to get a PCI -> pci-e adaptor
Atroxes
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 120



View Profile
June 23, 2011, 08:27:20 PM
 #3

I did a quick google search, and the servers do have 4 PCI-E slots, but if they're all x16, x1 or a combination of both, I don't know.

Also, space would be a problem, together with heat.
Capitan
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 112


View Profile
June 23, 2011, 08:55:30 PM
 #4

Please don't mine using someone else's equipment, facilities, and electricity.
FireFox31
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 29



View Profile WWW
June 24, 2011, 05:12:42 AM
 #5

Mining with HP servers is a terrible waste of electricity.  It sounds like you're going to try and put video cards in them for GPU mining.  That means, you'd be running the server's many fans, SCSI hard drives, redundant power supplies, and other excessive server-grade hardware unnecessarily.

The goal for mining rigs is to maximize GPU compute output while minimizing power draw.  This means sticking many GPUs in a tiny, underpowered motherboard.  You want 6990's powered by an AMD Sempron with no extras.

Think of it like sticking a Dodge Viper V12 engine in a Geo Metro; all power, minimal weight.  Putting GPUs in an HP server is like sticking a Dodge Viper V12 engine in a 14 car freight train; decent "power", but way too much extra weight.

1LmZ7BV2QE1WhWQBCY5yRHVrFjYnec69ec
I sell Magic: The Gathering cards for Bitcoins.  Singles, bulk, let me know what you'd like.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!