Bitcoin Forum
October 18, 2017, 01:25:29 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.0.1  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: can my z77 extreme 6 mobo run cards?  (Read 1056 times)
Kinetic915
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 168



View Profile
May 24, 2013, 03:07:29 AM
 #1

Hello all,

I want to run 2 7950s and one 7790 on a z77 motherboard.  Should i be worried about blowing the board?  I can connect the extra molex for crossfire if that makes a difference.
Thanks!

1508333129
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1508333129

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1508333129
Reply with quote  #2

1508333129
Report to moderator
"There should not be any signed int. If you've found a signed int somewhere, please tell me (within the next 25 years please) and I'll change it to unsigned int." -- Satoshi
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
notaek
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1106


✔Hire me as a manager http://bit.ly/notaek


View Profile WWW
May 24, 2013, 03:36:38 AM
 #2

You probably won't blow the board.  The main problem with boards is whether or not they have enough memory to support so many cards, but with only three you should be fine.  Also, most people would agree that 3 cards is within the amount of cards where no added molex power is safe. 


Kinetic915
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 168



View Profile
May 24, 2013, 04:18:43 AM
 #3

You probably won't blow the board.  The main problem with boards is whether or not they have enough memory to support so many cards, but with only three you should be fine.  Also, most people would agree that 3 cards is within the amount of cards where no added molex power is safe. 



awesome! thanks for the help.  This is my remaining board so thats why i am a bit iffy..... ill follow your advice.

chondrite
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 237


View Profile
May 24, 2013, 01:11:33 PM
 #4

7950s and 7970s dont mix well when mining.  7970s need g=2 while 7950s need g=1.  You can't set "g" to two different settings in any mining software.  The cards will work together, but, to make hashrates normal on one card you'll have to sacrifice hashes on another.
Kinetic915
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 168



View Profile
May 24, 2013, 03:13:56 PM
 #5

7950s and 7970s dont mix well when mining.  7970s need g=2 while 7950s need g=1.  You can't set "g" to two different settings in any mining software.  The cards will work together, but, to make hashrates normal on one card you'll have to sacrifice hashes on another.

Gotcha. It's a 7790 actually

Kinetic915
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 168



View Profile
May 24, 2013, 07:24:05 PM
 #6

by the way.  The 2 7950s I currently have going arent screwed/fastened on to anything they are just sitting there plugged in vertically on the horizontal motherboard.  Is it a bad idea not to have them fastened on?

MaGNeT
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1204


Waves | 3PHMaGNeTJfqFfD4xuctgKdoxLX188QM8na


View Profile WWW
May 26, 2013, 05:12:40 PM
 #7

7950s and 7970s dont mix well when mining.  7970s need g=2 while 7950s need g=1.  You can't set "g" to two different settings in any mining software.  The cards will work together, but, to make hashrates normal on one card you'll have to sacrifice hashes on another.

Just start two instances of cgminer.
One for the 7950 cards, one for the 7970 cards.

Select the cards you want to use in each instance with the -d parameter.

Unofficial Waves topic: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=2142722   |   My Waves address alias = magnet
sololoop
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 113


View Profile
May 28, 2013, 08:29:27 AM
 #8

7950s and 7970s dont mix well when mining.  7970s need g=2 while 7950s need g=1.  You can't set "g" to two different settings in any mining software.  The cards will work together, but, to make hashrates normal on one card you'll have to sacrifice hashes on another.

should be ok with 2 cgminer instant
ravenx13
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 10


View Profile
May 28, 2013, 05:03:51 PM
 #9

I have the z77 extreme6 also and am running 2x7970s. It run just fine, though one card runs quite hot (91 on factory clock) because the card sandwiched between the CPU and other GPU doesn't have a lot of space to breath on this board. You may need to underclock it to get to safe temps, though the 7950s probably won't generate quite as much heat.
Kinetic915
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 168



View Profile
May 29, 2013, 02:37:49 AM
 #10

I have the z77 extreme6 also and am running 2x7970s. It run just fine, though one card runs quite hot (91 on factory clock) because the card sandwiched between the CPU and other GPU doesn't have a lot of space to breath on this board. You may need to underclock it to get to safe temps, though the 7950s probably won't generate quite as much heat.

thats what ive been doing with 2 cards so far.  i get high temps on the first one too.  My risers always seem to cause issues, but connecting the cards direct to the boards has been successful. 

deslok
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 462


It's all about the game, and how you play it


View Profile
May 29, 2013, 02:08:52 PM
 #11

by the way.  The 2 7950s I currently have going arent screwed/fastened on to anything they are just sitting there plugged in vertically on the horizontal motherboard.  Is it a bad idea not to have them fastened on?

Typically as long as your board is in a stable location(away from fur beasts and other gremlins that might knock it about) that'll be fine, otherwise it's easy enough to use a small strip of aluminum and some sheet metal screws to create a bracket for some stability(or pick up a free/cheap pc case and cut it up)

"If we don't hang together, by Heavens we shall hang separately." - Benjamin Franklin

If you found that funny or something i said useful i always appreciate spare change
1PczDQHfEj3dJgp6wN3CXPft1bGB23TzTM
Kinetic915
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 168



View Profile
May 29, 2013, 08:04:05 PM
 #12

by the way.  The 2 7950s I currently have going arent screwed/fastened on to anything they are just sitting there plugged in vertically on the horizontal motherboard.  Is it a bad idea not to have them fastened on?

Typically as long as your board is in a stable location(away from fur beasts and other gremlins that might knock it about) that'll be fine, otherwise it's easy enough to use a small strip of aluminum and some sheet metal screws to create a bracket for some stability(or pick up a free/cheap pc case and cut it up)

gotcha.  anyone else have problems with risers?  I find alot more crashing with risers/ no post or boot.  Ive changed the pci x16 to gen 1 which helps but doesnt solve.

kodo
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42



View Profile
May 29, 2013, 09:50:05 PM
 #13

this is cool

Just A Guy Interested In Bitcoins
Kinetic915
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 168



View Profile
May 29, 2013, 11:14:30 PM
 #14

this is cool


and you commented "I like it thanks" on another thread... what? lol

Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!