Bitcoin Forum
December 17, 2017, 04:43:27 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Is this the best I can do? (Newbie Questions)  (Read 275 times)
mr.grant.maxwell
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1


View Profile
May 24, 2013, 12:43:59 PM
 #1

I've just started mining this week, and have tried to optimise my set up myself, but I'm still not achieving what others are reporting on my present set up.

I'm mining off a ATI Radeon HD5770 with 1GB memory, and this is not a dedicated card - its running my PC, too. I'm using the phatk kernel on the phoenix miner. Vectors, hd5xxx+ and fastloop are all on. Aggression is 8, and worksize is 128. I've joined the 50BTC pool, but for no good reason. If there is somewhere better to be, I'm open to suggestions there.

Some questions:

  • At present, I'm getting ~185MH/s when the card is working, but not for a lot of the time. My average is setting around 60MH/s. I've heard from others that it's possible to get +20MH/s on my card, on similar settings, so I think I might be missing something crucial here. I am also curious as to why I'm only mining 30% of the time.
  • I'm getting about 18-20% of my results rejected, too, and from what I understand, the aim here is to be at least under 6-8%. Any ideas as to what is letting me down on this count?

Many thanks!
1513485807
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513485807

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513485807
Reply with quote  #2

1513485807
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
veox
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 10


View Profile
May 24, 2013, 03:01:17 PM
 #2

You most probably need to increase aggression. Have you checked Mining hardware comparison on the wiki? It has some examples in the right column.

Notice most of the entries in that chart are overclocked cards. Also, cards differ from manufacturer to manufacturer. Some are better at overclocking.

I assume you are using Windows? Can't help with software setup if so. Your driver and AMD SDK versions have an influence, too.

(EDIT: URL)
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!