Bitcoin Forum
October 19, 2017, 01:55:30 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.0.1  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: 7970 for gaming (+mining), and 7850 (mining) in a same motherboard  (Read 929 times)
hasher87
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 546



View Profile
May 24, 2013, 03:13:47 PM
 #1

Hello fellow miners!

First things first. Initially my current system is using Sapphire HD7850 for gaming + mining. Right now, im planning to sell my 7850 and buy a 7970 instead, to improve the mining hashrate, and of course gaming.

I do know that crossfirex is only do-able if both card are using the same HD7### Series, so obviously crossfirex 7850 and 7970 is definitely out of question.

Now im actually wonder, is it possible that i installed both card at the same time, in which 7970 acted as a primary card for display/gaming/mining, where as 7850 acted as a secondary card in which its only purpose is for mining? By doing this, i can get up to 700mhash/s++ and another 320mhash/s, bringing a total of 1ghash/s.

My motherboard is Asrock Z77 Extreme4 (2 slots of PCI-E x16), with a 650w PSU.

How about the PSU, do i need to upgrade it as well?

Thanks!

goddammit nad
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1508378130
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1508378130

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1508378130
Reply with quote  #2

1508378130
Report to moderator
1508378130
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1508378130

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1508378130
Reply with quote  #2

1508378130
Report to moderator
1508378130
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1508378130

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1508378130
Reply with quote  #2

1508378130
Report to moderator
notaek
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1106


✔Hire me as a manager http://bit.ly/notaek


View Profile WWW
May 25, 2013, 04:17:19 AM
 #2

It should work just fine.  For you PSU, you might want to upgrade.  If it has 4 pcie connectors, you will be able to use both cards but it is bad to have your PSU running at full load all the time.   

Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!