Bitcoin Forum
November 21, 2018, 05:09:46 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.17.0 [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: How Free up Space from my vps with bitcoin-cli ? ubuntu 14.04  (Read 892 times)
kingdice21
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 145
Merit: 10


View Profile WWW
September 05, 2017, 01:22:21 PM
 #1

Hello everyone. Grin

I have a bitcoin client in my vps ubuuntu.

but recently, I have no more space. to continue downloading the blocks of the blockchain.

and search for google. and the only information I found was to remove two directories from the folder bitcoin -> blocks -> chainstate. but when I start the bitcoin client again. in less than 8 hours it again download all the blocks data. so my hdd is up again

my question is. is there any way to erase the database. I do not want to again download all the blocks. jut start from 0
without having to uninstall the bitcoin client
1542776986
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1542776986

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1542776986
Reply with quote  #2

1542776986
Report to moderator
1542776986
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1542776986

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1542776986
Reply with quote  #2

1542776986
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1542776986
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1542776986

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1542776986
Reply with quote  #2

1542776986
Report to moderator
1542776986
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1542776986

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1542776986
Reply with quote  #2

1542776986
Report to moderator
ScripterRon
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 136
Merit: 106


View Profile
September 05, 2017, 02:36:08 PM
 #2

Hello everyone. Grin

I have a bitcoin client in my vps ubuuntu.

but recently, I have no more space. to continue downloading the blocks of the blockchain.

and search for google. and the only information I found was to remove two directories from the folder bitcoin -> blocks -> chainstate. but when I start the bitcoin client again. in less than 8 hours it again download all the blocks data. so my hdd is up again

my question is. is there any way to erase the database. I do not want to again download all the blocks. jut start from 0
without having to uninstall the bitcoin client

You can't run a full client without downloading the complete blockchain.  However, you can run a pruned client which just keeps the latest blocks on disk.  You do this by adding 'prune=n' to bitcoin.conf, where n is the number of MBytes to allocate for stored blocks (n must be greater than 550).  Old blocks will be automatically removed when the prune limit is reached.  Note that a pruned node cannot supply historical blocks to other nodes nor can it do a rescan operation without re-downloading the blockchain.
kingdice21
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 145
Merit: 10


View Profile WWW
September 05, 2017, 02:37:56 PM
 #3

yeah thanks i fix that!
miguelmorales85
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 544
Merit: 501


View Profile
September 09, 2017, 12:07:16 AM
 #4

Hello everyone. Grin

I have a bitcoin client in my vps ubuuntu.

but recently, I have no more space. to continue downloading the blocks of the blockchain.

and search for google. and the only information I found was to remove two directories from the folder bitcoin -> blocks -> chainstate. but when I start the bitcoin client again. in less than 8 hours it again download all the blocks data. so my hdd is up again

my question is. is there any way to erase the database. I do not want to again download all the blocks. jut start from 0
without having to uninstall the bitcoin client

You can't run a full client without downloading the complete blockchain.  However, you can run a pruned client which just keeps the latest blocks on disk.  You do this by adding 'prune=n' to bitcoin.conf, where n is the number of MBytes to allocate for stored blocks (n must be greater than 550).  Old blocks will be automatically removed when the prune limit is reached.  Note that a pruned node cannot supply historical blocks to other nodes nor can it do a rescan operation without re-downloading the blockchain.

Good answer but I think you need to clarify if pruned nodes can resolve transactions.
ranochigo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1582
Merit: 1094

Somewhat inactive.


View Profile WWW
September 09, 2017, 02:45:18 AM
 #5

You can't run a full client without downloading the complete blockchain.  However, you can run a pruned client which just keeps the latest blocks on disk.  You do this by adding 'prune=n' to bitcoin.conf, where n is the number of MBytes to allocate for stored blocks (n must be greater than 550).  Old blocks will be automatically removed when the prune limit is reached.  Note that a pruned node cannot supply historical blocks to other nodes nor can it do a rescan operation without re-downloading the blockchain.

Good answer but I think you need to clarify if pruned nodes can resolve transactions.
The client will verify blocks and transactions as usual. However, the client will not help other nodes it is connected to to synchronize. A pruned node can only relay new blocks and transactions.

miguelmorales85
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 544
Merit: 501


View Profile
September 09, 2017, 09:40:39 PM
 #6

You can't run a full client without downloading the complete blockchain.  However, you can run a pruned client which just keeps the latest blocks on disk.  You do this by adding 'prune=n' to bitcoin.conf, where n is the number of MBytes to allocate for stored blocks (n must be greater than 550).  Old blocks will be automatically removed when the prune limit is reached.  Note that a pruned node cannot supply historical blocks to other nodes nor can it do a rescan operation without re-downloading the blockchain.

Good answer but I think you need to clarify if pruned nodes can resolve transactions.
The client will verify blocks and transactions as usual. However, the client will not help other nodes it is connected to to synchronize. A pruned node can only relay new blocks and transactions.

Thanks you very much for your answer, now I can keep my node pruned. I was worried about the reindex time and sync of the whole BC.
MFahad
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 854
Merit: 500



View Profile
September 13, 2017, 03:35:33 PM
 #7

I would not try doing that, but rather get your private keys out, set up and new wallet, probably a lite version would be better, and then import the balances into the new wallet. That way you have safely stored them. Or you could just transfer the coins to a new wallet that is online or whatever works. It is much easier to move coins than to deal with fixing an ailing wallet set up.

       ▄▄█████████▄▄
    ▄█████████████████
  ▄████████▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀
 ▄███████▀   ▄▄   ▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄
▄████████▄▄▄████  ▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄
█████████▀▀▀▀▀▀▀  █████████
█████████   ▄▄▄▄   ▀███████
█████████   █████   ███████
 ▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀   █████   ██████▀
 ▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀   ███▀▀   █████▀
      ▄▄▄▄▄▄███▄▄▄▄█████▀
     █████████████████▀
       ▀▀█████████▀▀
Bitcoin Air 
 
.
█      ███
█      ███
  ██
  ██  ███
  ██  ███
  ██  ███
      ███
█  ██
  ███
█  ██
  ███
   ██
  ███
█  ██  ███
█  ██  ███
█  ██
....MEDIUM....
.....GITHUB....
.....REDDIT....
     ██  █
███  ██  █
███  ██
███  ██  █
███  ██  █
███  ██  █
███      █
███  ██ 
███  ██ 
     ██ 
███
  ██ 
███
  ██ 
     ██
 
.
.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!