Bitcoin Forum
May 24, 2018, 02:39:36 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.16.0  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Connecting GPU and Riser from the same PCIe cable  (Read 524 times)
slazarov
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 8
Merit: 0


View Profile
September 06, 2017, 08:53:41 PM
 #1

Hello,

I have an EVGA Supernova 850W PSU which has 2x [6-Pin + 8(6+2)-Pin PCI-E] VGA Cables. Basically, its a cable with a 6-Pin and an 8(6+2)-Pin connectors (I have attached a picture which best describes how they look, though its not the actual cable).

I would like to reduce the amount of cables in the rig and I am wondering if it would be a wise idea to connect a GPU and a riser to that cable.
Essentially, I would connect the GPU to the 8-Pin and the riser to the 6-Pin (through an extender).

Has anyone tried this and can comment and provide some technical details?

Thanks!

https://imgur.com/a/5Avi2
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1527129576
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1527129576

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1527129576
Reply with quote  #2

1527129576
Report to moderator
AzCrTe
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 98
Merit: 10


View Profile
September 06, 2017, 09:00:28 PM
 #2

for 1 GPU maybe, but you want to spread the load across the different sections of the PSU as each section of the PSU has a limitation as to how much power that section can deliver - 850W is the total of all the sections combined
Undefined31415
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 336
Merit: 250

Gone phishing...


View Profile WWW
September 06, 2017, 10:01:23 PM
 #3

Hello,

I have an EVGA Supernova 850W PSU which has 2x [6-Pin + 8(6+2)-Pin PCI-E] VGA Cables. Basically, its a cable with a 6-Pin and an 8(6+2)-Pin connectors (I have attached a picture which best describes how they look, though its not the actual cable).

I would like to reduce the amount of cables in the rig and I am wondering if it would be a wise idea to connect a GPU and a riser to that cable.
Essentially, I would connect the GPU to the 8-Pin and the riser to the 6-Pin (through an extender).

Has anyone tried this and can comment and provide some technical details?

Thanks!

https://imgur.com/a/5Avi2

You should be fine using both 1x 6 pin and 1x 8 pin power connector off of the same line. If you started using splitters, or if you wanted to make that 6-pin an 8-pin connector with a 1:1 adapter, I'd be a little more concerned, but you should be fine with this use.

Your EVGA PSU should have a single 12V rail, so I'm not seeing any tricks with distributing load due to split 12V rails.

           ▀██▄ ▄██▀
            ▐█████▌
           ▄███▀███▄
         ▄████▄  ▀███▄
       ▄███▀ ▀██▄  ▀███▄
     ▄███▀  ▄█████▄  ▀███▄
   ▄███▀  ▄███▀ ▀███▄  ▀███▄
  ███▀  ▄████▌   ▐████▄  ▀███
 ███   ██▀  ██▄ ▄██  ▀██   ███
███   ███  ███   ███  ███   ███
███   ███   ███████   ███   ███
 ███   ███▄▄       ▄▄███   ███
  ███▄   ▀▀█████████▀▀   ▄███
   ▀████▄▄           ▄▄████▀
      ▀▀███████████████▀▀
DeepOnion
███
███
███
███
███
███
███
███
███
███
   Anonymity Guaranteed
   Anonymous and Untraceable
   Guard Your Privacy
      ▄▄██████████▄▄
    ▄███▀▀      ▀▀█▀   ▄▄
   ███▀              ▄███
  ███              ▄███▀   ▄▄
 ███▌  ▄▄▄▄      ▄███▀   ▄███
▐███  ██████   ▄███▀   ▄███▀
███▌ ███  ███▄███▀   ▄███▀
███▌ ███   ████▀   ▄███▀
███▌  ███   █▀   ▄███▀  ███
▐███   ███     ▄███▀   ███
 ███▌   ███  ▄███▀     ███
  ███    ██████▀      ███
   ███▄             ▄███
    ▀███▄▄       ▄▄███▀
      ▀▀███████████▀▀
slazarov
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 8
Merit: 0


View Profile
September 07, 2017, 07:16:05 AM
 #4

Thanks for the answer. Would you mind explaining how the connector is different from a splitter?
Obviously, it is but to non-technical people like me it look a cable coming out from another Smiley.
Cheers!
Xexen4
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 588
Merit: 269


Simple Liquidity - Fueled by NEO


View Profile
September 07, 2017, 07:20:00 AM
 #5

most of psu has a feature called single rail. that means you can feed the consumption power from 1 power line.
therefore you can split your pcie power lines if you want. at firstly check your psus specifications. and use pcie splitter cables

          ▄▄▄█████████▄▄
       ▄██████████████████▄
     ▄███████████████████████
   ▄██████████▀▀    ▀███████
  █████████            ▀██▀

 ████████              ▄██
▐███████             ▄█████
███████             ▀███████
██████▌               ███████
██████▌                ██████▌
███████                ▐██████
 ███████▄              ▐██████
  ████████             ██████▌
   █████▀             ███████
    ██▀              ███████▌
   ███▄            ████████▌
  ███████▄▄   ▄▄▄█████████▀
 ███████████████████████▀
   ▀██████████████████▀
      ▀▀███████████▀▀
spotcoin
www.spotcoin.com










▆▆▆▆▆▆▆▆▆▆▆▆▆▆▆▆▆▆▆▆▆▆▆▆▆▆▆▆▆▆▆▆▆▆▆▆▆▆▆▆▆▆▆▆▆▆▆▆▆▆▆▆▆▆▆▆▆▆
Exchange OTC Market
Mining Dividend token
Retail Payments
▆▆▆▆▆▆▆▆▆▆▆▆▆▆▆▆▆▆▆▆▆▆▆▆▆▆▆▆▆▆▆▆▆▆▆▆▆▆▆▆▆▆▆▆▆▆▆▆▆▆▆▆▆▆▆▆▆





  ICO: MAY 1 
   ANN | Bounty | Reddit
Blog     Facebook
Twitter Telegram
Telegram(Bounty)





        ▄▄▄█████▄▄
    ▄▄██████████████▄▄
 ▄█████████████████████▄
█▄▄▀▀███████████████▀▀▄▄█
█████▄▀▀███████▀▀▀▄▄█████
████████▄▄▀▀▀  ██████████
██████████     ██████████
██████████     ██████████
██████████     ██████████
██████████     ██████████
██████████     ██████████
██████████       ▀▀██████
██████████            ▀▀█
 ▀▀███████
     ▀▀▀██
NEO
[/tr
Undefined31415
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 336
Merit: 250

Gone phishing...


View Profile WWW
September 07, 2017, 04:25:27 PM
 #6

Thanks for the answer. Would you mind explaining how the connector is different from a splitter?
Obviously, it is but to non-technical people like me it look a cable coming out from another Smiley.
Cheers!

The cable that came from the PSU is designed to handle both the 8(6+2)-pin and the 6-pin PCIe connectors having a load on them simultaneously. You can definitely get away with using both plugs. I suppose they are technically splitters, the only difference is that the manufacturer intended for both of the plugs on the included cable to provide full power (at spec) simultaneously, and perhaps more, should you obtain your own additional splitters.

However, I'd avoid using splitters until you run out of connectors on the included PCIe cables, and even then, avoid daisychaining multiple splitters. Even though you don't have split 12V rails, you want to be careful to avoid running too great a current through one line of PSU connectors.

           ▀██▄ ▄██▀
            ▐█████▌
           ▄███▀███▄
         ▄████▄  ▀███▄
       ▄███▀ ▀██▄  ▀███▄
     ▄███▀  ▄█████▄  ▀███▄
   ▄███▀  ▄███▀ ▀███▄  ▀███▄
  ███▀  ▄████▌   ▐████▄  ▀███
 ███   ██▀  ██▄ ▄██  ▀██   ███
███   ███  ███   ███  ███   ███
███   ███   ███████   ███   ███
 ███   ███▄▄       ▄▄███   ███
  ███▄   ▀▀█████████▀▀   ▄███
   ▀████▄▄           ▄▄████▀
      ▀▀███████████████▀▀
DeepOnion
███
███
███
███
███
███
███
███
███
███
   Anonymity Guaranteed
   Anonymous and Untraceable
   Guard Your Privacy
      ▄▄██████████▄▄
    ▄███▀▀      ▀▀█▀   ▄▄
   ███▀              ▄███
  ███              ▄███▀   ▄▄
 ███▌  ▄▄▄▄      ▄███▀   ▄███
▐███  ██████   ▄███▀   ▄███▀
███▌ ███  ███▄███▀   ▄███▀
███▌ ███   ████▀   ▄███▀
███▌  ███   █▀   ▄███▀  ███
▐███   ███     ▄███▀   ███
 ███▌   ███  ▄███▀     ███
  ███    ██████▀      ███
   ███▄             ▄███
    ▀███▄▄       ▄▄███▀
      ▀▀███████████▀▀
slazarov
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 8
Merit: 0


View Profile
September 09, 2017, 03:29:59 PM
 #7

I have tested it and its faultless. Thanks for all the answers!
Bigdrago
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 154
Merit: 0


View Profile
January 13, 2018, 03:47:16 PM
 #8

I have tested it and its faultless. Thanks for all the answers!

Hi. Is it still working flawless?

I habe an evga g2 1600w and need to power 8gpu and 8 risers. The psu only have 9x 8pin output. But if I power one gpu+riser on the same cable (8pin to 8pin & 6+2pin) the problem is solved.
The psu came with 5 '8pin to 8pin&6+2pin' and 4 '8pin to 6+2pin'

Need to change it 8 '8pin to 8pin&6+2pin' so all risers and gpu have power.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!