Bitcoin Forum
December 14, 2017, 08:14:35 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Same 7950 card works great on one motherboard, sucks on another one.  (Read 444 times)
B.T.Coin
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 332



View Profile
May 25, 2013, 03:20:00 PM
 #1

I bought a 7950 card to try mining and I put it in my own PC to give it a test. Everything worked great and I want to build a dedicated mining rig.
So I ordered an Asus F2A55M-LE motherboard with an AMD A4-5300 CPU (or APU as they call it).
When I install the SAME 7950 card on this motherboars and I use the SAME config file for cgminer, it will not work Sad
First I get the error "Maximum buffer memory device 0 supports says 536870912, Your scrypt settings come to 1422917632"
When I remove my 'thread-concurrency' from the config file, cgminer will work but only up to intensity 13. If I put the intensity higher I just get hardware errors. On the other motherboard I could run at intensity 20 without any problems.

Does anybody have any clue what's going on?

A fine is a tax you pay for something you did wrong.
A tax is a fine you pay for something you did right.
1513239275
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513239275

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513239275
Reply with quote  #2

1513239275
Report to moderator
1513239275
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513239275

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513239275
Reply with quote  #2

1513239275
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1513239275
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513239275

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513239275
Reply with quote  #2

1513239275
Report to moderator
1513239275
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513239275

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513239275
Reply with quote  #2

1513239275
Report to moderator
Kaepora
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42



View Profile
May 25, 2013, 04:45:25 PM
 #2

I bought a 7950 card to try mining and I put it in my own PC to give it a test. Everything worked great and I want to build a dedicated mining rig.
So I ordered an Asus F2A55M-LE motherboard with an AMD A4-5300 CPU (or APU as they call it).
When I install the SAME 7950 card on this motherboars and I use the SAME config file for cgminer, it will not work Sad
First I get the error "Maximum buffer memory device 0 supports says 536870912, Your scrypt settings come to 1422917632"
When I remove my 'thread-concurrency' from the config file, cgminer will work but only up to intensity 13. If I put the intensity higher I just get hardware errors. On the other motherboard I could run at intensity 20 without any problems.

Does anybody have any clue what's going on?

Same thing on one of my rigs I set my core at 1008 core and my memory at 699 and 13 intensity and i am now hashing at over 500 you just need to tweak it. Actually on my fast rig with 1000 core and 699 memory I am getting around 540 hashes except it can take over 13 intensity but I leave it a bit low. Increase work size to like 320 or 256 and g-2


Cant decide what to mine? Check here: http://www.wheretomine.com/
LTC & BTC Profit Calculator: http://ltc.kattare.com/calc.php | Coin to Coin Currency Converter: http://coins2coins.com/
Think you have a virus, keylogger or trojan use Malware Bytes Free: http://www.malwarebytes.org/products/
B.T.Coin
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 332



View Profile
May 25, 2013, 05:08:01 PM
 #3

But on my first setup I was getting 630 K/hash (scrypt) and now I'm lucky to hit 300 without any hardware errors so I'm definitely not going to accept that.
Can anyone confirm that this can be a motherboard issue? If yes, I will just buy a decent board.
The first board was an Intel with the H67 chipset, the second (bad) one is and Asus board based on the AMD A55 chipset.
Does anyone know if I will be OK if I buy a new Intel board based on the B75 chipset?

A fine is a tax you pay for something you did wrong.
A tax is a fine you pay for something you did right.
Kaepora
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42



View Profile
May 25, 2013, 05:15:37 PM
 #4

But on my first setup I was getting 630 K/hash (scrypt) and now I'm lucky to hit 300 without any hardware errors so I'm definitely not going to accept that.
Can anyone confirm that this can be a motherboard issue? If yes, I will just buy a decent board.
The first board was an Intel with the H67 chipset, the second (bad) one is and Asus board based on the AMD A55 chipset.
Does anyone know if I will be OK if I buy a new Intel board based on the B75 chipset?
Did you try the settings above?

Cant decide what to mine? Check here: http://www.wheretomine.com/
LTC & BTC Profit Calculator: http://ltc.kattare.com/calc.php | Coin to Coin Currency Converter: http://coins2coins.com/
Think you have a virus, keylogger or trojan use Malware Bytes Free: http://www.malwarebytes.org/products/
B.T.Coin
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 332



View Profile
May 25, 2013, 08:38:23 PM
 #5

But on my first setup I was getting 630 K/hash (scrypt) and now I'm lucky to hit 300 without any hardware errors so I'm definitely not going to accept that.
Can anyone confirm that this can be a motherboard issue? If yes, I will just buy a decent board.
The first board was an Intel with the H67 chipset, the second (bad) one is and Asus board based on the AMD A55 chipset.
Does anyone know if I will be OK if I buy a new Intel board based on the B75 chipset?
Did you try the settings above?

Yes, I did try the above settings and you are correct, I can get the hashrate up to 580 with a lot of tweaking.
But knowing this same card will do 630 on another motherboard, I'm not satisfied with 580, especially since I want to add a second card and get my money's worth of hashing power.

I don't mind spending days on tweaking but can anyone explain me why different motherboards behave so differently?
When I understand why things happen, it's much easier to solve the problem.

Any insight would be much appreciated.

A fine is a tax you pay for something you did wrong.
A tax is a fine you pay for something you did right.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!