Bitcoin Forum
October 18, 2017, 10:40:20 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.0.1  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Same 7950 card works great on one motherboard, sucks on another one.  (Read 423 times)
B.T.Coin
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 332



View Profile
May 25, 2013, 03:20:00 PM
 #1

I bought a 7950 card to try mining and I put it in my own PC to give it a test. Everything worked great and I want to build a dedicated mining rig.
So I ordered an Asus F2A55M-LE motherboard with an AMD A4-5300 CPU (or APU as they call it).
When I install the SAME 7950 card on this motherboars and I use the SAME config file for cgminer, it will not work Sad
First I get the error "Maximum buffer memory device 0 supports says 536870912, Your scrypt settings come to 1422917632"
When I remove my 'thread-concurrency' from the config file, cgminer will work but only up to intensity 13. If I put the intensity higher I just get hardware errors. On the other motherboard I could run at intensity 20 without any problems.

Does anybody have any clue what's going on?

A fine is a tax you pay for something you did wrong.
A tax is a fine you pay for something you did right.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1508366420
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1508366420

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1508366420
Reply with quote  #2

1508366420
Report to moderator
1508366420
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1508366420

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1508366420
Reply with quote  #2

1508366420
Report to moderator
Kaepora
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42



View Profile
May 25, 2013, 04:45:25 PM
 #2

I bought a 7950 card to try mining and I put it in my own PC to give it a test. Everything worked great and I want to build a dedicated mining rig.
So I ordered an Asus F2A55M-LE motherboard with an AMD A4-5300 CPU (or APU as they call it).
When I install the SAME 7950 card on this motherboars and I use the SAME config file for cgminer, it will not work Sad
First I get the error "Maximum buffer memory device 0 supports says 536870912, Your scrypt settings come to 1422917632"
When I remove my 'thread-concurrency' from the config file, cgminer will work but only up to intensity 13. If I put the intensity higher I just get hardware errors. On the other motherboard I could run at intensity 20 without any problems.

Does anybody have any clue what's going on?

Same thing on one of my rigs I set my core at 1008 core and my memory at 699 and 13 intensity and i am now hashing at over 500 you just need to tweak it. Actually on my fast rig with 1000 core and 699 memory I am getting around 540 hashes except it can take over 13 intensity but I leave it a bit low. Increase work size to like 320 or 256 and g-2


Cant decide what to mine? Check here: http://www.wheretomine.com/
LTC & BTC Profit Calculator: http://ltc.kattare.com/calc.php | Coin to Coin Currency Converter: http://coins2coins.com/
Think you have a virus, keylogger or trojan use Malware Bytes Free: http://www.malwarebytes.org/products/
B.T.Coin
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 332



View Profile
May 25, 2013, 05:08:01 PM
 #3

But on my first setup I was getting 630 K/hash (scrypt) and now I'm lucky to hit 300 without any hardware errors so I'm definitely not going to accept that.
Can anyone confirm that this can be a motherboard issue? If yes, I will just buy a decent board.
The first board was an Intel with the H67 chipset, the second (bad) one is and Asus board based on the AMD A55 chipset.
Does anyone know if I will be OK if I buy a new Intel board based on the B75 chipset?

A fine is a tax you pay for something you did wrong.
A tax is a fine you pay for something you did right.
Kaepora
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42



View Profile
May 25, 2013, 05:15:37 PM
 #4

But on my first setup I was getting 630 K/hash (scrypt) and now I'm lucky to hit 300 without any hardware errors so I'm definitely not going to accept that.
Can anyone confirm that this can be a motherboard issue? If yes, I will just buy a decent board.
The first board was an Intel with the H67 chipset, the second (bad) one is and Asus board based on the AMD A55 chipset.
Does anyone know if I will be OK if I buy a new Intel board based on the B75 chipset?
Did you try the settings above?

Cant decide what to mine? Check here: http://www.wheretomine.com/
LTC & BTC Profit Calculator: http://ltc.kattare.com/calc.php | Coin to Coin Currency Converter: http://coins2coins.com/
Think you have a virus, keylogger or trojan use Malware Bytes Free: http://www.malwarebytes.org/products/
B.T.Coin
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 332



View Profile
May 25, 2013, 08:38:23 PM
 #5

But on my first setup I was getting 630 K/hash (scrypt) and now I'm lucky to hit 300 without any hardware errors so I'm definitely not going to accept that.
Can anyone confirm that this can be a motherboard issue? If yes, I will just buy a decent board.
The first board was an Intel with the H67 chipset, the second (bad) one is and Asus board based on the AMD A55 chipset.
Does anyone know if I will be OK if I buy a new Intel board based on the B75 chipset?
Did you try the settings above?

Yes, I did try the above settings and you are correct, I can get the hashrate up to 580 with a lot of tweaking.
But knowing this same card will do 630 on another motherboard, I'm not satisfied with 580, especially since I want to add a second card and get my money's worth of hashing power.

I don't mind spending days on tweaking but can anyone explain me why different motherboards behave so differently?
When I understand why things happen, it's much easier to solve the problem.

Any insight would be much appreciated.

A fine is a tax you pay for something you did wrong.
A tax is a fine you pay for something you did right.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!