Bitcoin Forum
December 04, 2016, 02:19:13 PM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Can only figure out CPU generator  (Read 1015 times)
curiousone
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 71


View Profile
June 23, 2011, 07:38:40 PM
 #1

Hello, have a couple of questions:

1) If I setup a crap computer I have to just use a CPU miner (4MHash/s), will this quickly destroy the computers CPU?  Or will it do no harm at all and not reduce the life of the computer?

2) I am having trouble setting up my home computer to GPU mine.

My video card: Asus HD 4350 512MB DDR2 DVI VGA HDMI Out PCI-E Low Profile Graphics Card

What is the easiest miner to use, any other advice?  Thanks
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1480861153
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480861153

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480861153
Reply with quote  #2

1480861153
Report to moderator
1480861153
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480861153

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480861153
Reply with quote  #2

1480861153
Report to moderator
1480861153
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480861153

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480861153
Reply with quote  #2

1480861153
Report to moderator
Fevy
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3


View Profile
June 23, 2011, 07:43:18 PM
 #2

That doesn't look very profitable to me.
Also, I wouldn't recommend mining with a CPU.

Going with an ATI video card seems way better.

https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/Mining_hardware_comparison
beezm
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42


View Profile
June 23, 2011, 07:52:30 PM
 #3

I definitely don't have a definitive answer for the CPU question. But I sure hope not, I have a few chewing on my pc's around the house.

As to your question about GPU mining. Have you downloaded guiminer at all or tried getting it going ?
curiousone
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 71


View Profile
June 23, 2011, 08:09:54 PM
 #4

thanks guys, bump
lolcat
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126



View Profile
June 23, 2011, 08:33:02 PM
 #5

 Umm I recommend this hardware guide. Much better imo

http://bitclockers.com/forums/index.php?topic=6.0

www.Bitclockers.com <-- Pool if you are interested
Your CPU will survive Wink
Some Dude
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 7


View Profile
June 23, 2011, 08:36:33 PM
 #6

1) If I setup a crap computer I have to just use a CPU miner (4MHash/s), will this quickly destroy the computers CPU?  Or will it do no harm at all and not reduce the life of the computer?

Short answer is no. While a CPU under constant load will reduce the potential life span of the CPU due to increased heat, the reduction will not be significant, nor probably relevant given that most people upgrade between 2-4 years. Thus, will it quickly destroy the CPU? No.

1MjoFRzEdt56pHAVFykx2idjXxbGaikDkC
JazzyJ
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 54


View Profile
June 23, 2011, 09:08:59 PM
 #7

That doesn't look very profitable to me.
Also, I wouldn't recommend mining with a CPU.

Going with an ATI video card seems way better.

https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/Mining_hardware_comparison
He has an ati/amd card , it's not great but I imagine it'll be better than the CPU. You need to download the ati streamer thing and guiminer. Google is you friend.
lolcat
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126



View Profile
June 23, 2011, 09:10:56 PM
 #8

He also needs AMD APP SDK, because he has a 4 series card. (it enables OpenCL) I have a 4650 and i get like 32 mh/s
curiousone
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 71


View Profile
June 23, 2011, 09:47:53 PM
 #9

so I need to install the AMD catalyst suite even though I have a asus card, would that still work?
JazzyJ
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 54


View Profile
June 23, 2011, 09:56:00 PM
 #10

Although it's an asus they are using the ati gpu, it's like if you buy a dell over a HP pc, they are both probably using intel processors..
curiousone
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 71


View Profile
June 23, 2011, 09:59:50 PM
 #11

thanks for all the help guys, think I finally got it sorted Smiley 

does 7Mhash/s sound about right?
aquabit
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 20


View Profile
June 23, 2011, 11:37:47 PM
 #12

thanks for all the help guys, think I finally got it sorted Smiley 

does 7Mhash/s sound about right?
Yes. Go here for a comparison of cards for mining: https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/Mining_hardware_comparison

If you can afford it you should get yourself an ATI 5850. You will then get around 300 Mhash/s. I'd also recommend joining a mining pool instead of mining on your own due to the high difficulty rate.
lolcat
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126



View Profile
June 24, 2011, 01:02:48 AM
 #13

To work with any miner you'll need "AMD APP SDK" google can help you find it.
naypalm
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1212


AFK :/


View Profile WWW
June 24, 2011, 02:13:44 AM
 #14

I thought that the 4XXX series didn't support OpenCL. At least it doesnt say anything about it here:

http://www.amd.com/us/products/desktop/graphics/ati-radeon-hd-4000/hd-4350/Pages/ati-radeon-hd-4300-specifications.aspx

coinage
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 60


View Profile
June 24, 2011, 03:52:42 AM
 #15

CPU mining looks great at first because you think, "Ah, I can do that more easily: I've already got one!  Just a free software installation."  Then 15 hours later (or hopefully 1.5) you come across a thread casually mentioning the time to find your first block with a CPU could run into years.

It's disappointing it worked out this way.  GPUs are better at some things (hashes & spewing heat for the winter) and worse at others, so it's conceivable bitcoin's proof-of-work system could have been designed differently to keep more people in the game longer.  Bitcoin is turning more into a Pro-to-Peer network than P2P in some ways, with some businesses apparently devoting entire floors to racks of miners.

GPUs themselves may be left rather behind by ASICs (application specific ICs) created for btc hashing ... or just by the overall growth of the network (in which case slower, standardized-but-customizabe FPGAs could outcompete GPUs due to their much lower electricity costs).

All is not lost, as some posters on these boards claim they have moves afoot to provide ASIC devices to the masses.  I say "claim" because ASICs are fabulously expensive to develop and one wonders whether they will go through with their plans of creating them, or whether they may later decide to keep the results to themselves after all that investment.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!