Bitcoin Forum
December 03, 2016, 03:52:32 PM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Are the CPU, Memory and Power Supply on this rig good enough for 3 x HD 5970?  (Read 801 times)
NISMOkwim
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 14


Do it to it!!!!


View Profile
June 23, 2011, 10:49:00 PM
 #1

AMD's website it calls for at least 1GB RAM to run the Radeon HD 5970, but since I am going to be running 3 of them, won't I need more than 1GB RAM? Will I need a better CPU?
Also, AMD calls for at least a 650Watt power supply, and calls for a 850Watt power supply if you plan to use ATI CrossFireX™ technology in dual mode.

Here's the System Requirements from their website: (http://tinyurl.com/27vndvz)

  • PCI Express® based PC is required with one X16 lane graphics slot available on the motherboard
  • 650 Watt or greater power supply one 75W 6-pin and one 150W 8-pin PCI Express® power connectors recommended (850 Watt with two 75W 6-pin and two 150W 8-pin connectors for ATI CrossFireX™ technology in dual mode)
  • Certified power supplies are recommended.  Refer to http://support.amd.com/us/certified/power-supplies/Pages/listing.aspx for a list of certified products
  • Minimum 1GB of system memory
  • Installation software requires CD-ROM drive
  • DVD playback requires DVD drive
  • Blu-ray™ playback requires Blu-ray drive
  • For an ATI CrossFireX™ system, a second ATI Radeon™ HD 5970 graphics card, an ATI CrossFireX Ready motherboard and one ATI CrossFireX Bridge Interconnect cable per graphics card (included) are required


Here is what I have in the setup currently:

ChassisAPEX PC-389-C Black Steel ATX Mid Tower$19.99http://tinyurl.com/n9x9ku
Power SupplyAPEVIA 650W ATX12V - Crossfire Ready$54.99http://tinyurl.com/3vq6r5k
MotherboardMSI 890FXA-GD70$175http://tinyurl.com/6y78afz
CPUAMD Sempron 130$29.99http://tinyurl.com/694lzzz
Memory1GB DDR3$11.99http://tinyurl.com/6b9a3su
Graphics card    3 * Radeon HD 5970$1,800 ($600 × 3)    http://tinyurl.com/62hxqpl
StorageWestern Digital 40gb Internal Hard Drive$10http://tinyurl.com/6838co4
TotalApproximate Mhashes 2011.1754$2,102 + s/h/t$1.082437 per Mhash



I'm concerned that the RAM/CPU aren't enough to handle 3 of the Radeon HD 5970's. And that they might need a bigger power supply. What do you guys think?

Feeling a little tipsy? ---> 18PUkwfK5zEWtm9R7Xb4vmfWafXX5pM9NN
1480780352
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480780352

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480780352
Reply with quote  #2

1480780352
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1480780352
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480780352

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480780352
Reply with quote  #2

1480780352
Report to moderator
1480780352
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480780352

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480780352
Reply with quote  #2

1480780352
Report to moderator
1480780352
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480780352

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480780352
Reply with quote  #2

1480780352
Report to moderator
Etienne
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1


View Profile
June 23, 2011, 10:55:27 PM
 #2

I just finished setting up 2 systems with 2 5970 each.
It ended up being cheaper than getting a mobo for 4 cards!
So I end up having a resilient mining set up with cheaper cpu's and stable performance.
I didn't overclock the cards much, just 825 mhz GPU / 1200mhz RAM.
Good luck
fabianhjr
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 322


Do The Evolution


View Profile
June 23, 2011, 11:01:27 PM
 #3

Power supply won't be enough you need at least 1KW and a 1.2KW is recommendable. :/

Each card pulls a max of 300 watts for a total of 900 and you are still missing CPU, HDDs/SDDs, Optical Drives, USB Devices, Memory, and cooling(fans).

NISMOkwim
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 14


Do it to it!!!!


View Profile
June 23, 2011, 11:09:44 PM
 #4

I just finished setting up 2 systems with 2 5970 each.
It ended up being cheaper than getting a mobo for 4 cards!
So I end up having a resilient mining set up with cheaper cpu's and stable performance.
I didn't overclock the cards much, just 825 mhz GPU / 1200mhz RAM.
Good luck

Etienne: Do you mind if ask what all is in your setup? I was looking at 3 systems running 3 x 5770's a piece, but at that point it seems easier to just bump up a card to the 5970 lol

Power supply won't be enough you need at least 1KW and a 1.2KW is recommendable. :/

Each card pulls a max of 300 watts for a total of 900 and you are still missing CPU, HDDs/SDDs, Optical Drives, USB Devices, Memory, and cooling(fans).


fabianhjr: Thanks man!!!! I've been looking for that sort of an answer haha If I was running the dual setup with only 2 cards each, do you think at 850? or even 750 would work?

Feeling a little tipsy? ---> 18PUkwfK5zEWtm9R7Xb4vmfWafXX5pM9NN
Bobnova
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 210


View Profile
June 23, 2011, 11:13:26 PM
 #5

As a sidenote:  Avoid Apevia power supplies across the board regardless.  They're well known for exploding and killing off everything connected to them.
If you want to be damn sure of getting a good power supply, Corsair doesn't make a single bad unit, and the top level Antec units are very good as well.
Other than those two companies, it's a good idea to google both the PSU manufacturer and the model itself and find a review, ideally a review at jonnyguru.com as they do a very, very good job of testing there.
Failing that, find someone else who did actual load tests, not just a plug it into some parts and check voltage output "load test".

If you're thinking about overclocking the 5970s you'll need over 300w per card, I would get a 1200w minimum.  Keep in mind that a fully loaded 1200w power supply will be drawing 1300w or more from the wall, you'll probably want a dedicated circuit for that computer as most house circuits are only capable of 1500-1800w.

BTC:  1AURXf66t7pw65NwRiKukwPq1hLSiYLqbP
NISMOkwim
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 14


Do it to it!!!!


View Profile
June 23, 2011, 11:17:17 PM
 #6

As a sidenote:  Avoid Apevia power supplies across the board regardless.  They're well known for exploding and killing off everything connected to them.
If you want to be damn sure of getting a good power supply, Corsair doesn't make a single bad unit, and the top level Antec units are very good as well.
Other than those two companies, it's a good idea to google both the PSU manufacturer and the model itself and find a review, ideally a review at jonnyguru.com as they do a very, very good job of testing there.
Failing that, find someone else who did actual load tests, not just a plug it into some parts and check voltage output "load test".

If you're thinking about overclocking the 5970s you'll need over 300w per card, I would get a 1200w minimum.  Keep in mind that a fully loaded 1200w power supply will be drawing 1300w or more from the wall, you'll probably want a dedicated circuit for that computer as most house circuits are only capable of 1500-1800w.

Thanks for the heads up on Apevia. I really like the Corsair models as well... I'll stick with those I think.

As for wattage, if I wasn't overclocking, do you think a 1200Watt would be safe? And can you recommend a place to pickup a dedicated circuit?

Feeling a little tipsy? ---> 18PUkwfK5zEWtm9R7Xb4vmfWafXX5pM9NN
Bobnova
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 210


View Profile
June 24, 2011, 12:14:59 AM
 #7

If you aren't overclocking a 1200w (quality) psu is plenty, you'll probably use around 1kw of it, leaving 200 to spare, which is generally a good idea.

A dedicated circuit means a circuit in your house/apartment/whatever that doesn't have anything else plugged into it.
If you aren't overclocking just make sure that you don't use that same circuit for a microwave or hair dryer or other high wattage appliance and you'll be fine.

BTC:  1AURXf66t7pw65NwRiKukwPq1hLSiYLqbP
bal3wolf
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 426



View Profile
June 24, 2011, 03:46:46 AM
 #8

a good 1200 watt but you will probly need to find a way to handle the heat also thats going to be a ton of heat coming from 3 5970s unless your watercooling them.

my btc address 1LRWTJS3rf8ubG2oMjcm7CmGGDJQSomdRP
Mining tools and Drivers
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!