Bitcoin Forum
December 18, 2017, 09:36:45 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Is it possible to mine altcoin with antminer?  (Read 479 times)
XiaDan96
Newbie
*
Online Online

Activity: 5


View Profile
September 13, 2017, 02:49:21 AM
 #1

I saw some comments at other forum said that theoretically it's possible to use like antminer s9 from bitmain to mine other SHA-256 based altcoin, and I'm wondering how to do it practically.

There is a place for SD card on S9 so I was thinking will it be just like what we do to GPU miners. We download mining software from mining pool, save it to the SSD, and run it.

So I checked those S9 set-up tutorial but it seems like I was wrong, there wasn't any step including download anything from mining pool.

Did anyone here try similar things before?

And I know that this kind of ASIC miners are optimized for certain kind of coins. But for example, is S9 optimized for bitcoin or for SHA-256 algorithm?

Thanks a lot.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1513589805
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513589805

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513589805
Reply with quote  #2

1513589805
Report to moderator
tsaroz
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 980



View Profile
September 13, 2017, 03:27:22 AM
 #2

I don't have total technological knowledge about the Antminer s9 but bitcoin miners mine SHA-256 coins most efficiently.
That is they are made for SHA-256 Algo.

Tutellus██  ██  █
██  ██  █
██  ██  █
██  ██  █
██  ██  █
██  ██  █
██  ██  █
██  ██  █
██  ██  █
██  ██  █
██  ██  █
██  ██  █
██  ██  █
██  ██  █
██  ██  █
██  ██  █
██  ██  █
██  ██  █
██  ██  █
██  ██  █
██  ██  █
██  ██  █
██  ██  █
██  ██  █
██  ██  █
██  ██  █
|██  ██  █
██  ██  █
██  ██  █
██  ██  █
██  ██  █
██  ██  █
██  ██  █
██  ██  █
██  ██  █
██  ██  █
██  ██  █
██  ██  █
██  ██  █
dhemasm
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 182



View Profile
September 13, 2017, 04:56:36 AM
 #3

If I am not mistaken you can only mine SHA-256 coins with your antminer because the average altcoin uses a different algo (CMIIW).
XiaDan96
Newbie
*
Online Online

Activity: 5


View Profile
September 13, 2017, 05:10:52 AM
 #4

If I am not mistaken you can only mine SHA-256 coins with your antminer because the average altcoin uses a different algo (CMIIW).

yup that's my point.
I would like to know how can I switch my btc miner to a ... for example PCC miner?

Is it like, ssh into my miner and load some other mining software?
dhemasm
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 182



View Profile
September 13, 2017, 05:49:41 AM
 #5

yup that's my point.
I would like to know how can I switch my btc miner to a ... for example PCC miner?

Is it like, ssh into my miner and load some other mining software?

Ohh i see, maybe you can check here https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1291032. I found an old thread, i do not know this can help your case or not.
Good Luck!
vlom
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 854



View Profile WWW
September 13, 2017, 06:25:28 AM
 #6

I saw some comments at other forum said that theoretically it's possible to use like antminer s9 from bitmain to mine other SHA-256 based altcoin, and I'm wondering how to do it practically.

There is a place for SD card on S9 so I was thinking will it be just like what we do to GPU miners. We download mining software from mining pool, save it to the SSD, and run it.

So I checked those S9 set-up tutorial but it seems like I was wrong, there wasn't any step including download anything from mining pool.

Did anyone here try similar things before?

And I know that this kind of ASIC miners are optimized for certain kind of coins. But for example, is S9 optimized for bitcoin or for SHA-256 algorithm?

Thanks a lot.

i don't know if there is a difference between a S9 and S3. but i think the main parts are the same.

with my old S3 i was able to mine all SHA-256 coins. you just have to find a pool. here you can find a list of coins:
https://www.coinwarz.com/miningprofitability/sha-256


   
▄████▄       
██████       
▀████▀       
▀██████      ▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄   
▄▄█████  ▄██████████████████▄
▄██████▀██  ████████████████████
▄█████▀    ▀  ████████████████████
▄█████▀         ███ ████████████ ███
██████▀          ███ ████████████ ███
███████           ███ ████████████ ███

▄████▄                  ███████   
██████                 ▄██████     
▀████▀                ▄█████▀     
▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄      ▄    ▄█████▀       
▄██████████████████▄  ██▄ █████▀         
████████████████████  ██████▀▀           
████████████████████  ██████▄             
███ ████████████ ███                     
███ ████████████ ███                     
███ ████████████ ███                       
  [    |    ████████████████████████
████████████████████████
███            ▀████████
███  ███████  ▄  ▀██████
███           ██▄  ▀████
███  ███████  ████▄  ███
███                  ███
███  ██████████████  ███
███                  ███
███  ██████████████  ███
███                  ███
████████████████████████
████████████████████████
  ] 
FACEBOOK  )   (  TWITTER  )
  .SUBSCRIBE NOW!!!. 
INSTAGRAM  )  (  LINKEDIN  )
XiaDan96
Newbie
*
Online Online

Activity: 5


View Profile
September 13, 2017, 07:03:22 AM
 #7

yup that's my point.
I would like to know how can I switch my btc miner to a ... for example PCC miner?

Is it like, ssh into my miner and load some other mining software?

Ohh i see, maybe you can check here https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1291032. I found an old thread, i do not know this can help your case or not.
Good Luck!

Thanks a lot!! I'll check it out~
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!