Bitcoin Forum
December 04, 2016, 12:39:51 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Could use some troubleshooting help... Bicoin wallet is crashing?  (Read 1280 times)
chessdragon
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28


View Profile
June 24, 2011, 01:43:38 AM
 #1

Hey there guys, I'm a small-time Bitcoin user looking to purchase larger quantities. Any way, the reason I'm here is because my wallet is all of a sudden failing. Earlier today it was working fine, though a pending transaction to me was still at 0/unconfirmed. I leave the house for 5 hours, come back, and this is what I get when I re-open my wallet.


http://i319.photobucket.com/albums/mm480/theskewer/btc1.png
http://i319.photobucket.com/albums/mm480/theskewer/btc2.png
http://i319.photobucket.com/albums/mm480/theskewer/btc3.png


Is this bad? What can I do to solve this?

 MY RUNESCAPE GOLD FOR YOUR BITCOINS. ANY DENOMINATION. CLICK FOR DETAILS.  (http://forum.bitcoin.org/index.php?topic=21909.0)
1480855191
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480855191

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480855191
Reply with quote  #2

1480855191
Report to moderator
1480855191
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480855191

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480855191
Reply with quote  #2

1480855191
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1480855191
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480855191

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480855191
Reply with quote  #2

1480855191
Report to moderator
1480855191
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480855191

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480855191
Reply with quote  #2

1480855191
Report to moderator
1480855191
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480855191

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480855191
Reply with quote  #2

1480855191
Report to moderator
chessdragon
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28


View Profile
June 24, 2011, 02:02:46 AM
 #2

bump..

 MY RUNESCAPE GOLD FOR YOUR BITCOINS. ANY DENOMINATION. CLICK FOR DETAILS.  (http://forum.bitcoin.org/index.php?topic=21909.0)
mikeintimesaves9
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 25


View Profile WWW
June 24, 2011, 03:24:53 AM
 #3

I would say try using an older version of bitcoin until it stops.  Here is a sourceforge link for the older binaries: http://sourceforge.net/projects/bitcoin/files/Bitcoin/

For tips: 1FQyGK4xS1JZUL4mFnKkiU9cHvVL5TfC4v
chessdragon
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28


View Profile
June 24, 2011, 04:37:35 AM
 #4

Anyone else got an answer?


Also, what happens when if you delete your wallet file? Do you lose all your BTC? Which files must be deleted to lose your Bitcoins, if so?

Bump. Please, help!

 MY RUNESCAPE GOLD FOR YOUR BITCOINS. ANY DENOMINATION. CLICK FOR DETAILS.  (http://forum.bitcoin.org/index.php?topic=21909.0)
mikeintimesaves9
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 25


View Profile WWW
June 24, 2011, 04:45:11 AM
 #5

You'll lose your coin if you delete your wallet.dat file.  It contains the key pairs that let you spend/transfer your money.
https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/Wallet

For tips: 1FQyGK4xS1JZUL4mFnKkiU9cHvVL5TfC4v
chessdragon
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28


View Profile
June 24, 2011, 04:58:35 AM
 #6

Alright, can anyone contribute ANY information on the error screens I've posted?

Also, I'm concerned a bit. You all mention wallet.dat . I have been using "bitcoin.exe," Am I using the wrong program? Is this what all of your folders for Bitcoin contain?

http://i319.photobucket.com/albums/mm480/theskewer/dd.png

 MY RUNESCAPE GOLD FOR YOUR BITCOINS. ANY DENOMINATION. CLICK FOR DETAILS.  (http://forum.bitcoin.org/index.php?topic=21909.0)
mikeintimesaves9
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 25


View Profile WWW
June 24, 2011, 05:00:50 AM
 #7

If you are using the default configuration, your wallet.dat file in Windows 7 will be here:

C:\Users\{Username}\AppData\Roaming\Bitcoin

...along with the other important data files for the client.

For tips: 1FQyGK4xS1JZUL4mFnKkiU9cHvVL5TfC4v
chessdragon
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28


View Profile
June 24, 2011, 05:04:06 AM
 #8

Okay, yes, thank you, that makes sense.

How does one go about deleting the block chain? If I did this, re-opening the file would cause it to re-download the blockchain, yes? Could this perhaps help me with my problem?


Also, unrelated (but no less important question), does anyone know how the hell you fix the black screen issue with minecraft?

FFS Windows 7.

 MY RUNESCAPE GOLD FOR YOUR BITCOINS. ANY DENOMINATION. CLICK FOR DETAILS.  (http://forum.bitcoin.org/index.php?topic=21909.0)
MacMiner
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 72



View Profile
June 24, 2011, 05:06:00 AM
 #9

Backup your wallet and reinstall the client.
chessdragon
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28


View Profile
June 24, 2011, 05:10:47 AM
 #10

Sounds good to me. Can you be more specific on "backup your wallet" ? What files specifically are required to retain my wallet information? Can I simply retain the vital files, delete the rest, re-install the program, and replace the new files with old ones?

This is lovely advice but I'm gonna be more specifics because I'm technologically inept :/

 MY RUNESCAPE GOLD FOR YOUR BITCOINS. ANY DENOMINATION. CLICK FOR DETAILS.  (http://forum.bitcoin.org/index.php?topic=21909.0)
mikeintimesaves9
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 25


View Profile WWW
June 24, 2011, 05:21:24 AM
 #11

1. Copy your wallet.dat file to your desktop or a usb drive.
2. Uninstall your current bitcoin client
3. Reinstall the client (maybe a different version like one of the ones I linked to earlier)
4. Copy over the new wallet.dat file with the one on your desktop or usb drive.

For tips: 1FQyGK4xS1JZUL4mFnKkiU9cHvVL5TfC4v
chessdragon
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28


View Profile
June 24, 2011, 05:27:31 AM
 #12

Alright, tried that. Getting the exact same issue.

God this is horrible..

 MY RUNESCAPE GOLD FOR YOUR BITCOINS. ANY DENOMINATION. CLICK FOR DETAILS.  (http://forum.bitcoin.org/index.php?topic=21909.0)
mikeintimesaves9
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 25


View Profile WWW
June 24, 2011, 05:36:15 AM
 #13

My best guess is that one of your configurations files is chewed, which is why ReadCompactSize is throwing up (it's a bounds checker in the stream reading functions and its being called during the initialization phase).  I would say back up your wallet.dat file again, delete all the remaining files in the AppData/Roaming/Bitcoin folder and reinstall the client.



For tips: 1FQyGK4xS1JZUL4mFnKkiU9cHvVL5TfC4v
Maged
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1260


View Profile
June 24, 2011, 05:39:34 AM
 #14

In your C:\Users\{Username}\AppData\Roaming\Bitcoin folder backup and delete all the files except wallet.dat, blk0001.dat, and blkindex.dat then try running the client. If you still get errors, then delete blkindex.dat, then blk0001.dat. If you STILL get errors, then your wallet is corrupt, and we'll have to perform some more advanced troubleshooting techniques to repair it.

chessdragon
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28


View Profile
June 24, 2011, 05:56:57 AM
 #15

Okay. Poster above me is a genius... maybe.

I copied the .dat file to my desktop, uninstalled Bitcoin, deleted all my roaming/appdata for Bitcoin, re-installed Bitcoin, ran Bitcoin (so it would create a %appdata% folder), the wallet works and naturally it is a new address and no BTC in it.

I then delete the new wallet file and paste the old one back in. Currently it still has the old information; my question is, did I just lose all my Bitcoin (a whopping 0.3) or does it take awhile to re-update? Does it need to re-download the blockchain? If so, how long will that take?


Right now it says 1 connection, 13000 blocks.


This issue is almost resolved, just need these few noob questions answered.

Thanks for advice thusfar.

 MY RUNESCAPE GOLD FOR YOUR BITCOINS. ANY DENOMINATION. CLICK FOR DETAILS.  (http://forum.bitcoin.org/index.php?topic=21909.0)
Maged
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1260


View Profile
June 24, 2011, 06:00:05 AM
 #16

It just needs to redownload the blockchain. It can take several hours.

Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!