Bitcoin Forum
November 14, 2018, 08:15:18 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.17.0 [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: How to add nodes which does not provide ip in my bitcoin-cli ?  (Read 450 times)
btctousd81
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 392
Merit: 252


View Profile WWW
September 14, 2017, 06:47:46 AM
 #1

i know i can add nodes by using command

Code:
bitcoin-cli addnode <ip:port> add
but there are some services which provide domain names i.e.

ref: http://bitcoinrelaynetwork.org/

e.g. node
public.us-west.relay.mattcorallo.com

how can i add such node ?

i have tried adding it like this

Code:
bitcoin-cli addnode public.us-west.relay.mattcorallo.com add

but, how can i make sure, i am connected to it ?

i tried doing

Code:
bitcoin-cli getpeerinfo | grep public.us-west.relay.mattcorallo.com

and

Code:
bitcoin-cli getpeerinfo | grep mattcorallo

but i dont see it being added.

can anyone help me with this ?

thanks for your time.

1542183318
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1542183318

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1542183318
Reply with quote  #2

1542183318
Report to moderator
1542183318
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1542183318

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1542183318
Reply with quote  #2

1542183318
Report to moderator
1542183318
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1542183318

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1542183318
Reply with quote  #2

1542183318
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1542183318
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1542183318

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1542183318
Reply with quote  #2

1542183318
Report to moderator
1542183318
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1542183318

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1542183318
Reply with quote  #2

1542183318
Report to moderator
Kogs
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 86
Merit: 12


View Profile
September 14, 2017, 11:43:16 AM
 #2

Try to ping the address and use the IP address for the addnode.

Code:
ping public.us-west.relay.mattcorallo.com

Result
PING v4.rn-sea1.fibre.bitcoinrelaynetwork.org (107.191.119.43) 56(84) bytes of data.


Port 8333 is open for this IP, so it looks like that a full node is listening there.
aleksej996
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 462
Merit: 311


Do not trust the government


View Profile WWW
September 14, 2017, 12:20:41 PM
 #3

Try to ping the address and use the IP address for the addnode.

Code:
ping public.us-west.relay.mattcorallo.com

Result
PING v4.rn-sea1.fibre.bitcoinrelaynetwork.org (107.191.119.43) 56(84) bytes of data.


Port 8333 is open for this IP, so it looks like that a full node is listening there.

Ping is a good and simple way to get an IP. Sometimes, rarely, ping doesn't work and then you can use all kinds of whois websites to tell you IP of that address. If you have Linux you can also simply run "dig public.us-west.relay.mattcorallo.com" and it will give you the DNS record.
btctousd81
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 392
Merit: 252


View Profile WWW
September 14, 2017, 01:30:40 PM
 #4

Try to ping the address and use the IP address for the addnode.

Code:
ping public.us-west.relay.mattcorallo.com

Result
PING v4.rn-sea1.fibre.bitcoinrelaynetwork.org (107.191.119.43) 56(84) bytes of data.


Port 8333 is open for this IP, so it looks like that a full node is listening there.

i tried ping and got the same ip., but when i checked for open port it says the port is closed.

i tried bitnodes.21.co and http://www.yougetsignal.com/tools/open-ports/ to check if port is open.

thanks.
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
edit1 :

i did
Code:
bitcoin-cli addnode 107.191.119.43 add
and later when i tried
Code:
bitcoin-cli getpeerinfo | grep 107.191.119.43
i dont see it being added.


i even did

Code:
cat ~/.bitcoin/debug.log | grep 107.191.119.43
but no entries of it in debug either., so imho the port
Code:
8333
isnt open.


so back to square one.

Kogs
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 86
Merit: 12


View Profile
September 15, 2017, 07:16:36 AM
 #5

just checked with nmap.

Port 8333 is available, but nmap say it's filtered.

Code:
PORT     STATE    SERVICE
22/tcp   open     ssh
8333/tcp filtered unknown

So I'm not sure if it's possible to connect directly to this node.
btctousd81
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 392
Merit: 252


View Profile WWW
September 15, 2017, 10:45:05 AM
 #6

just checked with nmap.

Port 8333 is available, but nmap say it's filtered.

Code:
PORT     STATE    SERVICE
22/tcp   open     ssh
8333/tcp filtered unknown

So I'm not sure if it's possible to connect directly to this node.

i dont recall where i read,

but i read something about dns seeds. maybe in bitcoin souorce code., ill have to check there.
at the initial start of bitcoind when there are no known nodes available., bitcoind gets its nodes list from predefined nodes ips and domain names , from source code.
i have to look in to it.

Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!