Bitcoin Forum
December 11, 2017, 02:40:44 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Running multiple mining instances  (Read 530 times)
Johny101010
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126


View Profile
September 16, 2017, 10:26:32 PM
 #1

So before I do it;
What would happen if you ran EWBF Zcash and claymore XMR on the same cards at the same time?
Maybe, claymore dual and some kind of ZCASH or XMR software at the same time?

Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1512960044
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1512960044

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1512960044
Reply with quote  #2

1512960044
Report to moderator
1512960044
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1512960044

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1512960044
Reply with quote  #2

1512960044
Report to moderator
1512960044
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1512960044

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1512960044
Reply with quote  #2

1512960044
Report to moderator
Xexen4
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 434

HERO: The Future of Banking in Southeast Asia


View Profile
September 17, 2017, 12:18:40 AM
 #2

if 2 mining app use same gpu it will crash and gives bluescreen error. then rebooting xd

▄████████████████████▄
██████████████████████
██████  ██████████████
██████  ██████████████
██████  ██████████████
██████  ██      ██████
██████  █  ████  █████
██████   ██████  █████
██████  ███████  █████
██████  ███████  █████
██████████████████████
██████████████████████
▀████████████████████▀
HERO..
The Future of Banking in Southeast Asia
.
..
  ■ Website   ■ Whitepaper   ■ Bounties
                   ■ Join our Slack
.     PRE-SALE
   starting soon
Za1n
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 770


View Profile
September 17, 2017, 01:07:06 AM
 #3

if 2 mining app use same gpu it will crash and gives bluescreen error. then rebooting xd

Not likely.

What you will most likely experience when running two mining programs is a fraction of the hashrate you would achieve mining each algorithm separately. If this total adds up to more than you would get from mining each separately or not is up to you to figure out, but the basic concept is the same as what dual miners such as Claymore's perform internally when dual mining.

Before Claymore combined this functionality into a single miner a lot of people would do just that running separate instances of Sgminer with each instance running a different algorithm. This works best with algo's that utilize the GPU in different ways. For example Decred and Ethereum mining works well, trying to mine two Ethash (Dagger Hashimoto) algorithms such as Ethereum and Expance will not work well and would result in problem less overall hashrate than running a single instance. You will have the best luck combining a memory intensive algorithms (such as Ethereum) with a computational intensive algorithm such as DCR or SIA.

I think Zcash and ZMR would tax the GPU in similar ways and might not make a good match up. However, as I said earlier it shoudl cause any harm in trying and the best thing to do is experiment for yourself and see what your results are like.
HippiePyro
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 140

A non technical guy in a technical world


View Profile
September 17, 2017, 02:13:51 AM
 #4

Could I run different miners on different cards in the same rig,? Like 8 cards, 2 of each mining different coins, 1 solo and one pool mining? All on the same motherboard and ram?

DRogers
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 44

http://i.imgur.com/ELNJso4.png


View Profile
September 17, 2017, 02:38:52 AM
 #5


I suspect there is no contest. What you will have the most experience when running two mining programs is that a fraction of the hashrate you will gain is mining each algorithm separately.
Can I run different miners on different cards in the same device? Like 8 cards, each mine has 2 different mines

✪฿itvest.io Best Investment Bitdrop Game!✪[
HippiePyro
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 140

A non technical guy in a technical world


View Profile
September 17, 2017, 02:52:26 AM
 #6

Even if each miner for each coin had its own card?

santan
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 81


View Profile
September 17, 2017, 05:23:16 AM
 #7

Could I run different miners on different cards in the same rig,? Like 8 cards, 2 of each mining different coins, 1 solo and one pool mining? All on the same motherboard and ram?

Yes it is perfectly fine.... you can select the GPU during launch.... like ... -d option in ccminer....... or -di option in Claymore...
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!