Bitcoin Forum
December 07, 2016, 02:55:13 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: 64-bit faster than 32-bit mining?  (Read 2549 times)
snipes420
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1


View Profile
June 24, 2011, 07:13:09 AM
 #1

A user here mentioned that using a 64-bit operating system and miner can produce twice as many hashes per second then a 32bit system during mining. I do not believe this is true but I was hoping for other opinions about this claim. If I am mistaken then I would like to be told. But if this user is mistaken I would like to post that fact in that thread.
link to the post is here http://forum.bitcoin.org/index.php?topic=21344.msg271183#msg271183
1481122513
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481122513

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481122513
Reply with quote  #2

1481122513
Report to moderator
1481122513
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481122513

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481122513
Reply with quote  #2

1481122513
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481122513
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481122513

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481122513
Reply with quote  #2

1481122513
Report to moderator
1481122513
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481122513

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481122513
Reply with quote  #2

1481122513
Report to moderator
dr.bitcoin
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28


View Profile
June 24, 2011, 07:14:53 AM
 #2

Untrue.
silk
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3


View Profile
June 24, 2011, 09:30:35 AM
 #3

I haven't experienced a change between Win7 32 and 64...
realnowhereman
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 504



View Profile
June 24, 2011, 09:45:51 AM
 #4

I can believe that it would be possible.

As a simple example: a bignum library divides numbers into n-bit chunks, and operates on those chunks one at a time.  If the chunks were 64-bits instead of 32, then the bignum library would (near enough) double in speed.

There is more to it than that of course, optimisation is about more than just bits.

Also, just because the existing code doesn't show speed up on 64-bit, doesn't mean it is impossible that 64-bit optimisations are possible with different algorithms.

Edit: of course it would make no difference at all when it is the GPU doing all the calculating.

1AAZ4xBHbiCr96nsZJ8jtPkSzsg1CqhwDa
Seldan90
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 10


View Profile
June 24, 2011, 09:52:19 AM
 #5

GPUs don't have 32 or 64 bit, they have 128 and some 256 bit, it's independent from your OS
on CPU mining however, 64 bit CAN be faster than 32 bit depending what exactly is being done, usually 64 bit can hash better because it uses less operations to handle 64 bit numbers (instead of adding 2 32 bit numbers) but who uses CPU for mining anymore?
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!