Bitcoin Forum
August 21, 2017, 04:10:20 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.14.2  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Newbie struggling with 6990 rig  (Read 697 times)
upiru
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 6


View Profile
June 24, 2011, 01:00:10 PM
 #1

Hi there I'm Upiru, I'm a newbie so I feel comfy here Tongue

but still as a newbie I think I need some help ...  Undecided

so basicly I try to set up the all mighty 3x6990 with ubuntu
but can't go beyond the ATI drivers install, witch I guess whent quiet fine

Then, as I don't have any HD screen (got a DVI to VGA plug instead), I found my self with a scramble view of my desktop ...
...and I don't want to buy a screen as I want to remote desktop the monster ...

So I thought I could just rewrite my xorg.cong to send a more suitable signal to my old screen
here what I wrote :
Code:
Section "Screen"
Identifier "Default Screen"
DefaultDepth 16
SubSection "Display"
Depth 16
modes "1024x768_75.00"
EndSubSection
EndSection

Section "Module"
Load "glx"
EndSection

Section "Device"
Identifier "Default Device"
Driver "fglrx"
EndSection

and it just crashs X .... hehehe ...I guess it would have been too easy ...  Roll Eyes

soooo  any one could help me write a better xorg.conf please ?
 or show me what ever other way ...  any idea ..

thx
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1503331820
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1503331820

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1503331820
Reply with quote  #2

1503331820
Report to moderator
1503331820
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1503331820

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1503331820
Reply with quote  #2

1503331820
Report to moderator
upiru
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 6


View Profile
June 24, 2011, 01:26:51 PM
 #2

hum ..I just tried this :
Code:
Section "Screen"
Identifier "Default Screen"
DefaultDepth 24
SubSection "Display"
Depth 24
modes "800x600_61.00"
EndSubSection
EndSection

"800x600_61.00" is what my screen support ...hehehe  sorry

X don't crashs but I still get scramble view ... maybe the Depth ...
I gonna try the with depth at 16

I don't really know what I'm doing here ...  Huh
upiru
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 6


View Profile
June 24, 2011, 01:34:17 PM
 #3

well seams that the depth at 16 crashes X ...

but then, I might be wrong, I guess the depth at 24 scrambles the view ...

upiru
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 6


View Profile
June 24, 2011, 01:44:36 PM
 #4

off course I tried VNC , before the issue I could get through
Now I just get prompted for the password and nothing loads ... not even an error message ...

(VNC viewer on windows xp )

any sugestions ? any idea ? getting nuts here ...  Shocked
upiru
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 6


View Profile
June 24, 2011, 04:50:03 PM
 #5

ok I called a friend who knows !

"just remove xorg.conf and reboot" he said.

well thx to him I got through this issue Smiley

I hope this 'll be usefull to someone.

cheeers
upiru
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 6


View Profile
June 27, 2011, 02:59:33 AM
 #6

still strugling  ...

I droped linux and installed windows 7
installation went fine ...i guess ...
poclmb-mob show 6 cayman devices , I guess these are my GPUs ..

but then it won't show any activity ....
the speed status show connected , shares stays at 0 ...
I ve tryed different pools and solo ... but nothing changes

I've opened some port on my wifi routeur ... nothing ...

Am I  missing something here ?

can't somebody helpme here ...please.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!