Bitcoin Forum
December 07, 2016, 10:30:33 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Phoenix 1.5 crashing after windows 7 sp1  (Read 1236 times)
rainyn
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 29


View Profile
June 24, 2011, 05:52:50 PM
 #1

I installed Windows 7 SP1 and all the sudden the Phoenix miner crashes whenever I try to quit mining.  It will happily mine forever if I let it, but the minute I try to stop mining (using GUIMiner v2011-06-09) my whole PC freezes up.  I'm not positive if it was the SP1 install or if it was my beginning to use arguments (I got "VECTORS BFI_INT FASTLOOP AGGRESSION=6 " from the mining hardware comparison chart) but it crashes every time now - even without arguments, even if I try the default nvidia mining program selected by GUIMiner.

I have uninstalled the service pack (mainly because none of my Steam games would play anymore) but the crashes still happen (but Steam games play now).

I have a nvidia GTX470 not overclocked (never has been OC'd) and its temps max out at 80 deg C at full load.  It is a reference model my company got from nvidia.

I just updated to the latest Phoenix build (v1.5) but that didn't help either.

Any ideas what's going on?
1481149833
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481149833

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481149833
Reply with quote  #2

1481149833
Report to moderator
1481149833
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481149833

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481149833
Reply with quote  #2

1481149833
Report to moderator
1481149833
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481149833

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481149833
Reply with quote  #2

1481149833
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
Manko
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 66


View Profile
June 24, 2011, 06:12:35 PM
 #2

A friend of mine had that. He has the Home edition of Windows 7

He switched to the command line version of Phoenix miner and all is working fine Smiley

I only use the command line, and I have Home and Ultimate editions.
rainyn
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 29


View Profile
June 24, 2011, 07:41:31 PM
 #3

Thank you.  I will look into that - not my first time playing around with batch files ;-)
asuspowered
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 17


View Profile
June 24, 2011, 08:03:36 PM
 #4

Suggestion for those having problems mining with GUIMiner..

GIUMiner has a tab called Console, It shows you the run commands it uses..
So, What I do when I hit Start and  FOR SOME REASON ITS NOT WORKING  and i don't know why.. What I like to do is copy the run command.. go into cmd and run it that way.. then you have a DOS window that will show u everything thats going on.. it's helped me solve the stupid problems! like a simple flag or typo..

If you go to View>Show Console on GUIMiner

then when u hit start..
Check the Console windows and copy everything after Run Command:
should be like    C:\where\your\miner\is\phoenix.exe -u blahblhahblahb

copy this.. open cmd.exe, and right click, select Paste.. hit enter and it should run phoenix in thee cmd window..

you should now see whats actually going on with phoenix..

side note: you could just paste the run command in Start>Run but if there is a problem starting the miner the DOS window will pop-up and close immediately.. so open cmd.exe first so that when the program closes it return you to C: prompt with dos window still open so u can read errors..

hope this help troubleshooting GUIMiner..

also, i recommend phoenix riser over GUIMiner ANYDAY!

http://forum.bitcoin.org/index.php?topic=10264.0     -- > now known as AOCLBF!! 
^^ has everything u need.. way better than GUIminer.. all the options, plus monitor temps with SICK displays.. check it out!!
http://forum.bitcoin.org/index.php?topic=10264.0

By the way, careful of FAKE GUIMiner out there people (steals btc and namecoin wallet.dat).. viruses are everywhere.. DOWNLOAD FROM TRUSTED SOURCES!!

hope this helps..
1ALkPRSTxiDcRyL5ALjzH9uxjqssBgR13D

deepceleron
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1470



View Profile WWW
June 24, 2011, 09:00:05 PM
 #5

I never bothered solving the same problem on guiminer using "new miner->phoenix" on nVidia cards: computer locks when quitting. One thing to note, BFI_INT is for optimizing on newer ATI cards, so that option shouldn't be needed or help much. I found on ATI GPUs that the standard OpenCL miner in guiminer performs as well as specifying phoenix, and command line phoenix beats them both, even with the same flags.

My fastest nVidia command line that doesn't completely lag the computer:
phoenix.exe -u http://user:pass@yourbitcoinpool.com:8332/ -k poclbm VECTORS WORKSIZE=64 AGGRESSION=6

rainyn
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 29


View Profile
July 12, 2011, 10:51:59 PM
 #6

I tried what you posted but get roughly 9-11 Mh/s more by using the following flags: PLATFORM=0 DEVICE=0 VECTORS BFI_INT FASTLOOP AGGRESSION=6  I don't know why, it just works.  I got these flags by looking at the console of the guiminer and copying what it had there to a batch file on my desktop.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!