Bitcoin Forum
August 18, 2022, 05:18:17 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 23.0 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: AvalonMiner controller using OpenWrt  (Read 379 times)
mdude77
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1540
Merit: 1001



View Profile
September 28, 2017, 05:21:09 PM
 #1

Hello, I just got my first AvalonMiner controller off of eBay.  All the instructions I've found on the internet indicate it defaults to 192.168.0.100, and you should see a pretty Avalon Project UI through your browser when connecting to it.

Not so with mine.

Mine was configured with DHCP turned on, so I found it via my router's lease table.

When I connect, I get OpenWrt:

OpenWrt Designated Driver 50019 / LuCI trunk-38010-g851a890647 Release (git-17.114.43691-ffc1d59)

It looks like it has cgminer in it, and is preconfigured to point to kano.is.

Is this a legit firmware, or should I reflash it from canaan's git repository?

Thanks!

M

I mine at Kano's Pool because it pays the best and is completely transparent!  Come join me!
1660799897
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1660799897

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1660799897
Reply with quote  #2

1660799897
Report to moderator
1660799897
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1660799897

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1660799897
Reply with quote  #2

1660799897
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
NotFuzzyWarm
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2996
Merit: 2046


Evil beware: We have waffles!


View Profile
September 28, 2017, 05:26:01 PM
Last edit: September 28, 2017, 05:37:13 PM by NotFuzzyWarm
 #2

While the version is correct that fact that it was set to DCHP says that yes it has been changed from the factory static IP setting. OpenWRT is the gui that comes up because it is the 'Advanced' one you can switch to from the default Avalon one. Yes, by default the miners are pre-configured to point at Kano and should be using Canaan's standard worker name.

That said - as you rightly suspect/fear who knows if anything else has been changed or added.

Definitely would reflash the SC card with Canaan's official image!
Assuming you have a SD/microSD reader/writer follow Canaan's RasPi Imaging instructions.

- For bitcoin to succeed the community must police itself -    My info useful? Donations welcome! 1FuzzyWc2J8TMqeUQZ8yjE43Rwr7K3cxs9
How a miner mfgr SHOULD operate:  HagssFIN trip to Canaan
-Support Sidehacks miner development. Donations to:   1BURGERAXHH6Yi6LRybRJK7ybEm5m5HwTr
mellonballer
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 33
Merit: 7


View Profile
September 29, 2017, 03:18:17 AM
 #3

I would flash it with firmware directly from the manufacturer just to be sure. You can do it all from the command line
cd /tmp
wget https://firmware-location
mtd -r write filename.bin firmware

You can never be too careful
Haterson915
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 6
Merit: 0


View Profile WWW
December 23, 2017, 02:44:40 AM
 #4

OpenWRT is the gui that comes up because it is the 'Advanced' one you can switch to from the default Avalon one.


Brilliant!!  My card came with the software, but all I could see is this OpenWRT interface when I entered the IP address.   Here I am thinking I need to re-flash the card.  But then I read this and switched to the other view and boom!  Avalon interface pops up.

Thanks a mil.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!