Bitcoin Forum
December 03, 2016, 09:51:51 PM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: BTC "Not Connected"  (Read 5094 times)
MCNARS
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2


View Profile
December 12, 2010, 02:26:08 PM
 #1

Hey everyone. I click Generate Bitcoins and it shows "Not Connected" in the status bar. I just installed it about 30 minutes ago, is this something normal or something to fix?

Yes I have forwarded port 8333 as recommended on the site to connect to more nodes.
1480801911
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480801911

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480801911
Reply with quote  #2

1480801911
Report to moderator
1480801911
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480801911

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480801911
Reply with quote  #2

1480801911
Report to moderator
1480801911
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480801911

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480801911
Reply with quote  #2

1480801911
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1480801911
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480801911

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480801911
Reply with quote  #2

1480801911
Report to moderator
Mahkul
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 420


Be silent, or be silenced.


View Profile WWW
December 12, 2010, 06:45:04 PM
 #2

Did you get to download any blocks?

Bitalo.com coming soon!

1MAHKULzqZb4evFFg9157LvnJhJQQbeYo7
MCNARS
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2


View Profile
December 12, 2010, 07:47:12 PM
 #3

I don't believe so. how do I download blocks?
BitLex
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 588


View Profile WWW
December 12, 2010, 07:56:08 PM
 #4

your bitcoin-client downloads the blocks as soon as you are connected.
on your screenshot, you are not connected to any other nodes (statusbar: (not connected) 0 connections) and dont have any blocks (0 blocks) downloaded.

your client will not start generating until it has downloaded all blocks (currently 97239).

i'm not sure why you are not connected, seems something is still blocking bitcoin-connections (firewall/router).
you might wanna try to connect through TOR to walkaround some fences.

Mahkul
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 420


Be silent, or be silenced.


View Profile WWW
December 12, 2010, 07:59:11 PM
 #5

Exactly. Does your firewall block any outgoing traffic on certain ports?

Bitalo.com coming soon!

1MAHKULzqZb4evFFg9157LvnJhJQQbeYo7
theymos
Administrator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2492


View Profile
December 12, 2010, 08:00:19 PM
 #6

Are you running Microsoft Security Essentials? You need to add an exception for Bitcoin in that case.

1NXYoJ5xU91Jp83XfVMHwwTUyZFK64BoAD
bober182
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 196

127.0.0.1


View Profile
December 12, 2010, 11:40:47 PM
 #7

Or any firewall for that matter.

13NuAQaChtoTgvX8J68Zjy4AUR6hhugpXM Donations for anything and everything.
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
If society abolishes adventure the only adventure left is to abolish society.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!