Bitcoin Forum
July 31, 2021, 04:03:11 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.21.1 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: 0.96.4 RC1  (Read 14139 times)
goatpig
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2940
Merit: 1206

Armory Developer


View Profile
October 02, 2017, 06:56:22 PM
 #1

Binaries:

https://github.com/goatpig/BitcoinArmory/releases/tag/v0.96.3.99

Changelog:

Quote
== Added ==
   - SegWit lockbox creation.
   - BCH lockbox spending.
   - Coin selection will now limit itself to change outputs when spending to external addresses you've spent to in the past.
   - You will receive a warning about privacy loss if coin selection fails to satisfy the previous condition.
   - Added the following CLI args:
      - Client side:
         --force-enable-segwit: when paired with --offline, allows the creation of SegWit types recipient addresses.
         --force-fcgi: forces the client to use FCGI socketing when connecting to a remote DB IP.
      - Server side:
         --listen-all: FCGI server will listen on :80 instead of 127.0.0.1:80
   
== Fixed ==
   - Fixed ledger based fee bumping.
   - Fixed RBF control dialog spawning.
   - Fixed node sync progress bar.
   - Fixed node status notification flicker during node sync.
   - Fixed fragment ID generation mismatching the fragment on backup when restoring non deterministic fragments. This fix only
     applies to fragments generated with versions 0.96.4 and later.
   - When in offline mode, the default signer option will now pick the proper signer for SegWit transactions.
   - Fixed --ram-usage control. --ram-usage=1 will no longer hang the DB during bootstrap scans.
   - As a result, --ram-usage defaults to 50 no instead of 4.

== Minor ==
   - You can now resize the Transaction Info dialog.

Notes:

SegWit lockboxes use compressed keys as opposed to the legacy ones, therefor they are sensibly smaller while also being a whole lot cheaper. Users looking to try them out should test around on testnet first.

Linux users that were having trouble with older CPUs, try the noasm .deb



1627704191
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1627704191

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1627704191
Reply with quote  #2

1627704191
Report to moderator
1627704191
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1627704191

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1627704191
Reply with quote  #2

1627704191
Report to moderator
"There should not be any signed int. If you've found a signed int somewhere, please tell me (within the next 25 years please) and I'll change it to unsigned int." -- Satoshi
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
Ente
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2126
Merit: 1001



View Profile
October 02, 2017, 10:39:45 PM
 #2

Damn, you are on fire! :-)

Interesting, now I might connect armory-db and armory-qt directly via FCGI? I was under the impression this is not the suggested way, and to always have some ngnix or comparable in between?

Cheers,

Ente
goatpig
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2940
Merit: 1206

Armory Developer


View Profile
October 03, 2017, 02:09:02 AM
 #3

Damn, you are on fire! :-)

Interesting, now I might connect armory-db and armory-qt directly via FCGI? I was under the impression this is not the suggested way, and to always have some ngnix or comparable in between?

Cheers,

Ente

This is a convenience change to let people connect within their LAN without the need of running a HTTP deamon. Makes the setup simpler basically. DO NOT use this to expose your DB to the WAN, that's a bad idea through and through. I still believe you should use the proper setup within your own LAN, i.e. DB locked on localhost -> nginx -> LAN -> clients, but at this point it's nitpicking, so there you go, easier setup options.

droark
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 525
Merit: 281


View Profile WWW
October 03, 2017, 05:16:09 AM
 #4

Just FYI, this is the first OSX build using the latest tools (Command Line Tools 9.0 on macOS 10.13). Hopefully this will solve certain issues. If not, post logs and such here. Just remember, as always, you'll need to make sure that GateKeeper lets the binary execute! I believe that, with 10.13, you no longer need to unlock the settings. You can just push a button that allows the binary to run after macOS catches it the first time.
alomar
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 178
Merit: 10


View Profile
October 03, 2017, 05:20:59 AM
 #5

is there a way to run an offline version of this?  i'm still having issues getting 0.96.2 to work offline.
PhoenixFire
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 271
Merit: 36


View Profile
October 03, 2017, 02:07:21 PM
 #6

is there a way to run an offline version of this? i'm still having issues getting 0.96.2 to work offline.
Linux users that were having trouble with older CPUs, try the noasm .deb
As per the post, give that one a whirl. If you've already installed the psutil dependency from a previous offline package this should work.
alomar
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 178
Merit: 10


View Profile
October 03, 2017, 02:42:05 PM
 #7

is there a way to run an offline version of this? i'm still having issues getting 0.96.2 to work offline.
Linux users that were having trouble with older CPUs, try the noasm .deb
As per the post, give that one a whirl. If you've already installed the psutil dependency from a previous offline package this should work.

in years past, i've always DL'd specific "offline" versions for each release.  is that not the case anymore?  the last specific one i see is for 0.96.2 here: https://btcarmory.com/0.96.2-release/
goatpig
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2940
Merit: 1206

Armory Developer


View Profile
October 03, 2017, 03:09:11 PM
 #8

Offline just means the binary is bundled with the dependencies required to setup up Armory on a fresh install of the target OS. The build does not change.

intron
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 427
Merit: 251


- electronics design|embedded software|verilog -


View Profile
October 03, 2017, 11:44:31 PM
 #9

Just installed 0.96.3.99 (noasm version) on Kubuntu and running core 0.15.
Imported my old Armory wallet files and the balances show up as 0.0.

Any pointers how I can fix this?
Ente
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2126
Merit: 1001



View Profile
October 03, 2017, 11:55:30 PM
 #10

Just installed 0.96.3.99 (noasm version) on Kubuntu and running core 0.15.
Imported my old Armory wallet files and the balances show up as 0.0.

Any pointers how I can fix this?

Wait until both bitcoin-core and armory are fully synced. Check the lower right corner of armory for status (offline, online, synced until what block).

Ente
droark
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 525
Merit: 281


View Profile WWW
October 04, 2017, 03:36:44 AM
 #11

Just installed 0.96.3.99 (noasm version) on Kubuntu and running core 0.15.
Imported my old Armory wallet files and the balances show up as 0.0.

Any pointers how I can fix this?

Wait until both bitcoin-core and armory are fully synced. Check the lower right corner of armory for status (offline, online, synced until what block).

Ente

Unless things have changed recently, I believe the user may also need to generate some extra addresses if they've used a lot of them. (I forget the default number generated.)
intron
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 427
Merit: 251


- electronics design|embedded software|verilog -


View Profile
October 04, 2017, 03:51:03 PM
 #12

Just installed 0.96.3.99 (noasm version) on Kubuntu and running core 0.15.
Imported my old Armory wallet files and the balances show up as 0.0.

Any pointers how I can fix this?

Wait until both bitcoin-core and armory are fully synced. Check the lower right corner of armory for status (offline, online, synced until what block).

Ente

Armory signaled 'Armory is online!' while bitcoin-core was still syncing.
That made me confused, looks like all is fine now.
Searinox
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 147
Merit: 100


Do you like fire? I'm full of it.


View Profile
October 04, 2017, 06:18:16 PM
 #13

Is there any advantage of using FCGI over not using it?
Ente
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2126
Merit: 1001



View Profile
October 04, 2017, 10:05:50 PM
 #14


Unless things have changed recently, I believe the user may also need to generate some extra addresses if they've used a lot of them. (I forget the default number generated.)

Both bitcoin-core and Armory use HD-wallets, i.e. an infinite stream of deterministic addresses are created from one seed in the wallet.
No pre- or recreation of addresses any more, no periodic backups needed because new addresses would not be in the old backup.

Ente
Ente
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2126
Merit: 1001



View Profile
October 04, 2017, 10:08:32 PM
 #15

Is there any advantage of using FCGI over not using it?

Comparing FCGI to what?

FCGI or nothing:
You only need FCGI for connecting a remote armorydb with armoryqt.

FCGI or http-server in between:
Not exposing the FCGI directly, but having a http server in between (on the same machine as armorydb) is a security plus.

Ente
alomar
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 178
Merit: 10


View Profile
October 04, 2017, 11:43:03 PM
 #16

Offline just means the binary is bundled with the dependencies required to setup up Armory on a fresh install of the target OS. The build does not change.

ok, got it setup on offline pc.  but where did the "compute new addresses" button go in the Wallet Properties window?
Searinox
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 147
Merit: 100


Do you like fire? I'm full of it.


View Profile
October 05, 2017, 06:12:13 AM
 #17

FCGI vs HTTP security yes. Is HTTPS supported any?
alomar
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 178
Merit: 10


View Profile
October 05, 2017, 03:34:59 PM
Last edit: October 05, 2017, 05:59:25 PM by alomar
 #18

having consistent freezing with Coin Control after initiating a single successful BCH tx with Coin Control.  no response upon click with entire GUI freezing.  this also happened in 0.96.1.  rebooting ArmoryQt nor the entire VM helps.

the only user improvement would be to have a sortable/find address button for Coin Control.  with thousands of UTXO's to choose from, it's laborious trying to find specific one's for multi input tx's.

maybe also an option button to disable "mirroring" of wallets in offline bundle for when you only want to do a legacy tx.  it takes a few minutes.

*using Debian in Vbox VM with truncated blockchain disconnected from bitcoind attempting to claim BCH.
alomar
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 178
Merit: 10


View Profile
October 05, 2017, 09:56:41 PM
 #19

Coin Control always freezes at the *second* tx after initial install, not the first.  does this help?:

Code:
(WARNING) SDM.py:396 - Spawning DB with command: ArmoryDB --db-type="DB_FULL" --cookie --satoshi-datadir="/home/debian/.bitcoin/blocks" --datadir="/home/debian/.armory/" --dbdir="/home/debian/.armory/databases"

(python2:3506): Gtk-CRITICAL **: IA__gtk_progress_configure: assertion 'value >= min && value <= max' failed

(python2:3506): Gtk-CRITICAL **: IA__gtk_progress_configure: assertion 'value >= min && value <= max' failed

(python2:3506): Gtk-CRITICAL **: IA__gtk_progress_configure: assertion 'value >= min && value <= max' failed

(python2:3506): Gtk-CRITICAL **: IA__gtk_progress_configure: assertion 'value >= min && value <= max' failed
BDM is ready!
(WARNING) ArmoryQt.py:4111 - Called updateSyncProgress while not sync'ing
(WARNING) ArmoryQt.py:4111 - Called updateSyncProgress while not sync'ing
(WARNING) ArmoryQt.py:4111 - Called updateSyncProgress while not sync'ing
(WARNING) ArmoryQt.py:4111 - Called updateSyncProgress while not sync'ing
(WARNING) ArmoryQt.py:4111 - Called updateSyncProgress while not sync'ing
(WARNING) ArmoryQt.py:4111 - Called updateSyncProgress while not sync'ing
(WARNING) ArmoryQt.py:4111 - Called updateSyncProgress while not sync'ing
(WARNING) ArmoryQt.py:4111 - Called updateSyncProgress while not sync'ing
(WARNING) ArmoryQt.py:4111 - Called updateSyncProgress while not sync'ing
(WARNING) ArmoryQt.py:4111 - Called updateSyncProgress while not sync'ing
(WARNING) ArmoryQt.py:4111 - Called updateSyncProgress while not sync'ing
(WARNING) ArmoryQt.py:4111 - Called updateSyncProgress while not sync'ing
(WARNING) ArmoryQt.py:4111 - Called updateSyncProgress while not sync'ing
(WARNING) ArmoryQt.py:4111 - Called updateSyncProgress while not sync'ing

goatpig
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2940
Merit: 1206

Armory Developer


View Profile
October 06, 2017, 03:40:04 AM
 #20

No, these are GUI false positives. There was someone with your exact isssue before. He restored his wallet from the root key and it fixed it (i.e. this is an issue with the state of the wallet file). I could fix it if you showed me a WO copy, but I don't expect to get one (users ought to protect their privacy).

Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!