Bitcoin Forum
April 26, 2024, 09:21:36 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 27.0 [Torrent]

Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Paper wallet questions  (Read 234 times)
WillieTheDude (OP)

Activity: 8
Merit: 0

View Profile
October 03, 2017, 02:52:42 PM

Hey guys

I've got couple of dumb questions so please try to be patient.

I have no experience with wallets whatsoever up until now I've only been using online exchange to hold my BTC but since I'm beginning to invest regularly and I cannot get my hands on HW wallet before the fork (living in shithole where there is only one retailer of Ledger and they are sold out) I have decided to create paper wallet.

Now I've done my research and I'll be using https://www.bitaddress.org to generate my wallet. Can you more experienced users confirm my decision? I've also read that it is possible to save the page go offline and generate the address offline. Is it better? How does the address get into the "system" while being offline?

There are two more things that are unclear to me regarding paper wallets.

I've read that if I want to sweep my BTC off the paper wallet I have to take the entire balance otherwise I'll lose the "change" because of address change. But can I use the same paper wallet to deposit multiple transactions? For example: After I create my paper wallet I'll want to do a test transaction of some sort - depositing minimal amount to see if it goes through. After I do this can I send the rest of my funds onto the same address? Can I use the same paper wallet address to store my BTC every time I buy on exchange?

To my last question. When the fork happens I should own 2 currencies on my paper wallet. How do I withdraw them? I know how to sweep my BTC off the paper wallet but I have no idea what to do about the other currency which is created by the fork.

I very much appreciate any help if I formulated something poorly please point it out and I'll try to fix it.