Bitcoin Forum
May 02, 2024, 10:06:42 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 27.0 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: Block Erupter and Raspberry Pi  (Read 12200 times)
hotwired007
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 585
Merit: 500


View Profile
June 04, 2013, 04:07:56 PM
 #21

i have a pi and 2 USB miners on thier way - whats the best way to configure this? my pi has been used once or twice since i got it last year Tongue

This account was hacked & possibly sold during the period of August 1st and October 24th 2017.
Anything done or said in this period wasnt me.
Many thanks to Cyrus for his help restoring access to my account.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction.
1714687602
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1714687602

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1714687602
Reply with quote  #2

1714687602
Report to moderator
nubbins
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1554
Merit: 1009



View Profile
June 04, 2013, 04:15:23 PM
 #22

i have a pi and 2 USB miners on thier way - whats the best way to configure this?

some info here: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=220905.msg2326740#msg2326740

No longer buying/selling Casascius coins. Beware scammers.
My OTC Web of Trust ratings / What's a PGP chain of custody?
conv3rsion
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 310
Merit: 250


View Profile
June 04, 2013, 04:20:33 PM
 #23

Has anyone done a test to see if hardware errors go up (and average mh/s down) when using a Pi vs a desktop?
mr_john
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 41
Merit: 0



View Profile
June 05, 2013, 07:01:25 AM
Last edit: June 08, 2013, 03:04:42 PM by mr_john
 #24

Just for the record:

Raspberry working fine with 3 eruptors using cgminer 3.1.1 and this hub:
http://www.digitus.info/en/products/accessories/usb-hubs/usb-20-7-port-hub-da-70222/

This hub is a 7-port hub, but only 5 eruptors will fit in (I actually tested the hub on my laptop with 5 eruptors for about 2 hours). Now it's running stable with 3 Eruptors on my raspberry (as only 3 of the 5 eruptors were my own).

To compile cgminer 3.1.1 on a current raspbian system I just did the following:
Code:
sudo apt-get update
sudo apt-get install libusb-1.0-0-dev libusb-1.0-0 libcurl4-openssl-dev libncurses5-dev libudev-dev
wget http://ck.kolivas.org/apps/cgminer/3.1/cgminer-3.1.1.tar.bz2
tar xvf cgminer-3.1.1.tar.bz2
cd cgminer-3.1.1
./configure --enable-icarus
make
# and do a short check if the binary is running:
./cgminer --verbose --text-only

Check that user pi is part of the group "dialout" so it can access the device files /dev/ttyUSBx:
Code:
pi@raspi1 ~ $ groups
pi adm dialout cdrom sudo audio www-data video plugdev games users netdev input

For starting cgminer 3.1.1 with 3 eruptors I use this commandline on the raspberry:
Code:
./cgminer  --icarus-options 115200:1:1 --icarus-timing 3.0=100 -S /dev/ttyUSB0 -S /dev/ttyUSB1 -S /dev/ttyUSB2 --config /home/pi/cgminer.conf

And the config file cgminer.conf looks like this:

Code:
{
"pools" :
        [
                {
                "url" : "http://stratum.bitcoin.cz:3333",
                "user" : "<my user>",
                "pass" : "<my pass>"
                }
        ],
        "expiry" : "120",
        "failover-only" : true,
        "hotplug" : "5",
        "log" : "5",
        "no-pool-disable" : true,
        "queue" : "2",
        "scan-time" : "60",
        "temp-hysteresis" : "3",
        "worktime" : true,
        "shares" : "0",
        "kernel-path" : "/usr/local/bin"
}

hashing away just fine now! Smiley

[edit]
corrected wget command to correct link for cgminer 3.1.1
[/edit]
farproc
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 406
Merit: 250


ALGORY.io Crowdsale starts on 8/12/2017


View Profile
June 07, 2013, 10:50:29 AM
 #25

Just for the record:

Raspberry working fine with 3 eruptors using cgminer 3.1.1 and this hub:
http://www.digitus.info/en/products/accessories/usb-hubs/usb-20-7-port-hub-da-70222/

This hub is a 7-port hub, but only 5 eruptors will fit in (I actually tested the hub on my laptop with 5 eruptors for about 2 hours). Now it's running stable with 3 Eruptors on my raspberry (as only 3 of the 5 eruptors were my own).

To compile cgminer 3.1.1 on a current raspbian system I just did the following:
Code:
sudo apt-get update
sudo apt-get install libusb-1.0-0-dev libusb-1.0-0 libcurl4-openssl-dev libncurses5-dev libudev-dev
wget http://ck.kolivas.org/apps/cgminer/cgminer-3.1.1.tar.bz2
tar xvf cgminer-3.1.1.tar.bz2
cd cgminer-3.1.1
./configure --enable-icarus
make
# and do a short check if the binary is running:
./cgminer --verbose --text-only

Check that user pi is part of the group "dialout" so it can access the device files /dev/ttyUSBx:
Code:
pi@raspi1 ~ $ groups
pi adm dialout cdrom sudo audio www-data video plugdev games users netdev input

For starting cgminer 3.1.1 with 3 eruptors I use this commandline on the raspberry:
Code:
./cgminer  --icarus-options 115200:1:1 --icarus-timing 3.0=100 -S /dev/ttyUSB0 -S /dev/ttyUSB1 -S /dev/ttyUSB2 --config /home/pi/cgminer.conf

And the config file cgminer.conf looks like this:

Code:
{
"pools" :
        [
                {
                "url" : "http://stratum.bitcoin.cz:3333",
                "user" : "<my user>",
                "pass" : "<my pass>"
                }
        ],
        "expiry" : "120",
        "failover-only" : true,
        "hotplug" : "5",
        "log" : "5",
        "no-pool-disable" : true,
        "queue" : "2",
        "scan-time" : "60",
        "temp-hysteresis" : "3",
        "worktime" : true,
        "shares" : "0",
        "kernel-path" : "/usr/local/bin"
}

hashing away just fine now! Smiley

Thanks a lot!!!

.
            ▀███████████████▄▄
              █████████████████
               █████████████████
                █████████████████
                 █████████████████
                  █████████████████
        ▄▄▄▄       █████████████████
    ▄██████████▄    █████████████████
   ██████████████    █████████████████
  ████████████████    █████████████████
 ██████████████████    █████████████████
 ██████████████████     █████████████████
 ██████████████████      █████████████████
  ████████████████        █████████████████
   ██████████████          █████████████████
    ▀██████████▀            ▀████████████████▄
       ▀▀▀▀▀▀ 
ALGORY  Multifunctional Tool for Cryptocurrency Trading 
Join Whitelist and Get 20% Bonus┃CROWDSALE ON DEC. 8
           ░████████████▒
       ░████████████████████░
     ░████████████████████████▒
   ░████████████████████████████░
  ░██████████████████   █████████▒
 ░███████████████      ▒██████████░
 █████████████         ████████████
░██████████            ████████████░
░██████                ████████████▒
░█████████████▒▒      ▒████████████▒
 ████████████████     █████████████░
 ▒████████████████    ████████████▒
  ▒████████████████▒  ████████████
   ░█████████████████ ██████████▒
     ██████████████████████████░
       ▒█████████████████████
          ░██████████████▒
mr_john
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 41
Merit: 0



View Profile
June 07, 2013, 10:55:09 AM
 #26

You are welcome! Smiley
CommanderVenus
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 258
Merit: 250


Zoinks! Its the Miner Miner Forty-Niner!


View Profile
June 11, 2013, 08:08:10 AM
 #27

Has anyone got cgminer 3.2.1 working with four or more block erupters on the raspberry pi yet?

BTC: 1VenusEubcLC9W7ykckHbdEzo5MVhPmCb
NXT: 15182624396855992605
BTQ: 14b2QFPwFtBC3tcRW9F61aaRXP2ns3fh1m
platti
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 251
Merit: 250



View Profile WWW
June 11, 2013, 08:55:58 AM
 #28

Has anyone got cgminer 3.2.1 working with four or more block erupters on the raspberry pi yet?

my raspberry don't work well with cgminer 3.2.1. I have three Block erupter. there are to many errors

farproc
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 406
Merit: 250


ALGORY.io Crowdsale starts on 8/12/2017


View Profile
June 11, 2013, 12:23:12 PM
 #29

My RPI works fine with 3 Block Erupter USBs through a 2A powered USB hub.

Just for the record:

Raspberry working fine with 3 eruptors using cgminer 3.1.1 and this hub:
http://www.digitus.info/en/products/accessories/usb-hubs/usb-20-7-port-hub-da-70222/

This hub is a 7-port hub, but only 5 eruptors will fit in (I actually tested the hub on my laptop with 5 eruptors for about 2 hours). Now it's running stable with 3 Eruptors on my raspberry (as only 3 of the 5 eruptors were my own).

To compile cgminer 3.1.1 on a current raspbian system I just did the following:
Code:
sudo apt-get update
sudo apt-get install libusb-1.0-0-dev libusb-1.0-0 libcurl4-openssl-dev libncurses5-dev libudev-dev
wget http://ck.kolivas.org/apps/cgminer/3.1/cgminer-3.1.1.tar.bz2
tar xvf cgminer-3.1.1.tar.bz2
cd cgminer-3.1.1
./configure --enable-icarus
make
# and do a short check if the binary is running:
./cgminer --verbose --text-only

Check that user pi is part of the group "dialout" so it can access the device files /dev/ttyUSBx:
Code:
pi@raspi1 ~ $ groups
pi adm dialout cdrom sudo audio www-data video plugdev games users netdev input

For starting cgminer 3.1.1 with 3 eruptors I use this commandline on the raspberry:
Code:
./cgminer  --icarus-options 115200:1:1 --icarus-timing 3.0=100 -S /dev/ttyUSB0 -S /dev/ttyUSB1 -S /dev/ttyUSB2 --config /home/pi/cgminer.conf

And the config file cgminer.conf looks like this:

Code:
{
"pools" :
        [
                {
                "url" : "http://stratum.bitcoin.cz:3333",
                "user" : "<my user>",
                "pass" : "<my pass>"
                }
        ],
        "expiry" : "120",
        "failover-only" : true,
        "hotplug" : "5",
        "log" : "5",
        "no-pool-disable" : true,
        "queue" : "2",
        "scan-time" : "60",
        "temp-hysteresis" : "3",
        "worktime" : true,
        "shares" : "0",
        "kernel-path" : "/usr/local/bin"
}

hashing away just fine now! Smiley

[edit]
corrected wget command to correct link for cgminer 3.1.1
[/edit]

.
            ▀███████████████▄▄
              █████████████████
               █████████████████
                █████████████████
                 █████████████████
                  █████████████████
        ▄▄▄▄       █████████████████
    ▄██████████▄    █████████████████
   ██████████████    █████████████████
  ████████████████    █████████████████
 ██████████████████    █████████████████
 ██████████████████     █████████████████
 ██████████████████      █████████████████
  ████████████████        █████████████████
   ██████████████          █████████████████
    ▀██████████▀            ▀████████████████▄
       ▀▀▀▀▀▀ 
ALGORY  Multifunctional Tool for Cryptocurrency Trading 
Join Whitelist and Get 20% Bonus┃CROWDSALE ON DEC. 8
           ░████████████▒
       ░████████████████████░
     ░████████████████████████▒
   ░████████████████████████████░
  ░██████████████████   █████████▒
 ░███████████████      ▒██████████░
 █████████████         ████████████
░██████████            ████████████░
░██████                ████████████▒
░█████████████▒▒      ▒████████████▒
 ████████████████     █████████████░
 ▒████████████████    ████████████▒
  ▒████████████████▒  ████████████
   ░█████████████████ ██████████▒
     ██████████████████████████░
       ▒█████████████████████
          ░██████████████▒
TheOrri
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 89
Merit: 10


View Profile
June 12, 2013, 10:14:57 AM
 #30

Has anyone got cgminer 3.2.1 working with four or more block erupters on the raspberry pi yet?

my raspberry don't work well with cgminer 3.2.1. I have three Block erupter. there are to many errors

My raspberry detects the USB sticks and start mining on 3.2.1, but with a lot of errors and declaring SICKS. I am on powered hub though.
Aajo
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 94
Merit: 10


View Profile
June 12, 2013, 05:31:26 PM
 #31

Has anyone got cgminer 3.2.1 working with four or more block erupters on the raspberry pi yet?

my raspberry don't work well with cgminer 3.2.1. I have three Block erupter. there are to many errors

My raspberry detects the USB sticks and start mining on 3.2.1, but with a lot of errors and declaring SICKS. I am on powered hub though.

having the same problem with my 3 sticks here
cgminer 3.2.1
pi and digitus 7port hub (confirmed working with cgminer 3.1.1 in this thread)

Code:
cgminer version 3.2.1 - Started: [2013-06-12 17:26:06]
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
 (5s):468.4M (avg):279.4Mh/s | A:21  R:0  HW:0  U:4.5/m  WU:4.5/m
 ST: 2  SS: 0  NB: 3  LW: 61  GF: 0  RF: 0
 Connected to eu-stratum.btcguild.com diff 1 with stratum as user xx
 Block: 000f95171e59a23a...  Diff:15.6M  Started: [17:28:51]  Best share: 26
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
 [P]ool management [S]ettings [D]isplay options [Q]uit
 AMU 0:                | 241.9M/78.77Mh/s | A:5 R:0 HW:0 U: 1.06/m
 AMU 1:                | 25.36M/91.86Mh/s | A:7 R:0 HW:0 U: 1.49/m
 AMU 2:                | 25.51M/108.8Mh/s | A:9 R:0 HW:0 U: 1.91/m
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 [2013-06-12 17:27:14] AMU0: Attempting to restart
 [2013-06-12 17:27:14] AMU1: Idle for more than 60 seconds, declaring SICK!
 [2013-06-12 17:27:14] AMU1: Attempting to restart
 [2013-06-12 17:27:32] Stratum from pool 0 detected new block
 [2013-06-12 17:27:54] Accepted dbc08f5e Diff 1/1 AMU 1
 [2013-06-12 17:27:58] Accepted 97dca494 Diff 1/1 AMU 2
 [2013-06-12 17:28:04] Accepted 76939056 Diff 2/1 AMU 1
 [2013-06-12 17:28:13] Accepted 179e6eb3 Diff 10/1 AMU 1
 [2013-06-12 17:28:15] Accepted 60cdcd86 Diff 2/1 AMU 1
 [2013-06-12 17:28:25] Accepted 75fabff8 Diff 2/1 AMU 1
 [2013-06-12 17:28:51] Stratum from pool 0 detected new block
 [2013-06-12 17:28:56] AMU0: Idle for more than 60 seconds, declaring SICK!
 [2013-06-12 17:28:56] AMU0: Attempting to restart
 [2013-06-12 17:29:00] AMU2: Idle for more than 60 seconds, declaring SICK!
 [2013-06-12 17:29:00] AMU2: Attempting to restart
 [2013-06-12 17:29:25] Accepted 0e4d9589 Diff 17/1 AMU 2
 [2013-06-12 17:29:33] Accepted f6882ee4 Diff 1/1 AMU 0
 [2013-06-12 17:30:26] AMU1: Idle for more than 60 seconds, declaring SICK!
 [2013-06-12 17:30:26] AMU1: Attempting to restart
 [2013-06-12 17:30:26] AMU2: Idle for more than 60 seconds, declaring SICK!
 [2013-06-12 17:30:26] AMU2: Attempting to restart
 [2013-06-12 17:30:41] Accepted 09a0fd3a Diff 26/1 AMU 0
 [2013-06-12 17:30:46] Accepted 367769a6 Diff 4/1 AMU 0

the strange thing with this issue is, if I remove all sticks beside one from the hub everything works fine!
any ideas what I could try beside downgrade cgminer?
dentldir
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 333
Merit: 250



View Profile
June 12, 2013, 06:16:47 PM
 #32

Has anyone got cgminer 3.2.1 working with four or more block erupters on the raspberry pi yet?

Yes using a manually compiled cgminer 3.2.1 on MinePeon.  Everything autodetects at startup now with no additional switches beyond url, user, and pass.

I'm using 1 Sabrent 7 port hub for 4 block erupters.  Then another Sabrent 7 port hub to power the RPi, a USB fan, and the wireless adapter.

Averaging just under 1.0% HW errors.  My own experience is that HW errors are a function of the stability of the power getting to the RPi and the Erupters.  Hence the separate hubs for powering the RPi and the sticks.  When I tried everything together in different combinations, the HW rate went up drastically.  Sometimes on just one stick.








1DentLdiRMv3dpmpmqWsQev8BUaty9vN3v
Aajo
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 94
Merit: 10


View Profile
June 12, 2013, 06:43:57 PM
 #33

Has anyone got cgminer 3.2.1 working with four or more block erupters on the raspberry pi yet?
Yes using a manually compiled cgminer 3.2.1 on MinePeon.  Everything autodetects at startup now with no additional switches beyond url, user, and pass.

when manually compiling did you do anything different than mr_john a few posts above?
dentldir
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 333
Merit: 250



View Profile
June 12, 2013, 07:16:11 PM
 #34

Has anyone got cgminer 3.2.1 working with four or more block erupters on the raspberry pi yet?
Yes using a manually compiled cgminer 3.2.1 on MinePeon.  Everything autodetects at startup now with no additional switches beyond url, user, and pass.

when manually compiling did you do anything different than mr_john a few posts above?

I didn't use the apt-gets (since minepeon is arch linux and not debian based.  Plus it comes with everything you need to build cgminer)

I downloaded 3.2.1 instead of 3.1.1 of course.

Then I added --prefix=/opt/minepeon in configure so that I could swap out the existing /opt/minepeon/bin/cgminer. 

That's it.  His instructions are essentially correct with a version change.


1DentLdiRMv3dpmpmqWsQev8BUaty9vN3v
TheOrri
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 89
Merit: 10


View Profile
June 12, 2013, 08:15:17 PM
 #35

Has anyone got cgminer 3.2.1 working with four or more block erupters on the raspberry pi yet?

my raspberry don't work well with cgminer 3.2.1. I have three Block erupter. there are to many errors

My raspberry detects the USB sticks and start mining on 3.2.1, but with a lot of errors and declaring SICKS. I am on powered hub though.

having the same problem with my 3 sticks here
cgminer 3.2.1
pi and digitus 7port hub (confirmed working with cgminer 3.1.1 in this thread)

Code:
cgminer version 3.2.1 - Started: [2013-06-12 17:26:06]
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
 (5s):468.4M (avg):279.4Mh/s | A:21  R:0  HW:0  U:4.5/m  WU:4.5/m
 ST: 2  SS: 0  NB: 3  LW: 61  GF: 0  RF: 0
 Connected to eu-stratum.btcguild.com diff 1 with stratum as user xx
 Block: 000f95171e59a23a...  Diff:15.6M  Started: [17:28:51]  Best share: 26
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
 [P]ool management [S]ettings [D]isplay options [Q]uit
 AMU 0:                | 241.9M/78.77Mh/s | A:5 R:0 HW:0 U: 1.06/m
 AMU 1:                | 25.36M/91.86Mh/s | A:7 R:0 HW:0 U: 1.49/m
 AMU 2:                | 25.51M/108.8Mh/s | A:9 R:0 HW:0 U: 1.91/m
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 [2013-06-12 17:27:14] AMU0: Attempting to restart
 [2013-06-12 17:27:14] AMU1: Idle for more than 60 seconds, declaring SICK!
 [2013-06-12 17:27:14] AMU1: Attempting to restart
 [2013-06-12 17:27:32] Stratum from pool 0 detected new block
 [2013-06-12 17:27:54] Accepted dbc08f5e Diff 1/1 AMU 1
 [2013-06-12 17:27:58] Accepted 97dca494 Diff 1/1 AMU 2
 [2013-06-12 17:28:04] Accepted 76939056 Diff 2/1 AMU 1
 [2013-06-12 17:28:13] Accepted 179e6eb3 Diff 10/1 AMU 1
 [2013-06-12 17:28:15] Accepted 60cdcd86 Diff 2/1 AMU 1
 [2013-06-12 17:28:25] Accepted 75fabff8 Diff 2/1 AMU 1
 [2013-06-12 17:28:51] Stratum from pool 0 detected new block
 [2013-06-12 17:28:56] AMU0: Idle for more than 60 seconds, declaring SICK!
 [2013-06-12 17:28:56] AMU0: Attempting to restart
 [2013-06-12 17:29:00] AMU2: Idle for more than 60 seconds, declaring SICK!
 [2013-06-12 17:29:00] AMU2: Attempting to restart
 [2013-06-12 17:29:25] Accepted 0e4d9589 Diff 17/1 AMU 2
 [2013-06-12 17:29:33] Accepted f6882ee4 Diff 1/1 AMU 0
 [2013-06-12 17:30:26] AMU1: Idle for more than 60 seconds, declaring SICK!
 [2013-06-12 17:30:26] AMU1: Attempting to restart
 [2013-06-12 17:30:26] AMU2: Idle for more than 60 seconds, declaring SICK!
 [2013-06-12 17:30:26] AMU2: Attempting to restart
 [2013-06-12 17:30:41] Accepted 09a0fd3a Diff 26/1 AMU 0
 [2013-06-12 17:30:46] Accepted 367769a6 Diff 4/1 AMU 0

the strange thing with this issue is, if I remove all sticks beside one from the hub everything works fine!
any ideas what I could try beside downgrade cgminer?

I confirm that with one stick everything works fine. Seems the same problem.
dentldir
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 333
Merit: 250



View Profile
June 13, 2013, 06:34:33 AM
 #36

Has anyone gotten the Anker 10 port hub working with an RPi?  I see it in a lot of photos but haven't heard or read anything about it.  It wasn't listed on the "Official" RPi USB hub list either.


1DentLdiRMv3dpmpmqWsQev8BUaty9vN3v
LaserHorse
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 140
Merit: 100



View Profile
June 13, 2013, 07:07:31 AM
 #37

Has anyone gotten the Anker 10 port hub working with an RPi?  I see it in a lot of photos but haven't heard or read anything about it.  It wasn't listed on the "Official" RPi USB hub list either.

Apparently it's a no go.  Wish it did work though, perhaps it's a USB 3 issue …

PiMiner - control & monitor your miners with Raspberry Pi   •   BTC: 1AV5JekeEVET5u2jTsLDMRsTtagrBnNTBR
dentldir
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 333
Merit: 250



View Profile
June 13, 2013, 07:55:05 AM
 #38

Bummer.

1DentLdiRMv3dpmpmqWsQev8BUaty9vN3v
LogicalUnit
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 299
Merit: 250


View Profile
June 14, 2013, 05:34:48 AM
 #39

Has anyone got cgminer 3.2.1 working with four or more block erupters on the raspberry pi yet?

Yes, most definitely, using a D-Link DUB-H7 USB 2.0 powered hub: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=224015.0
hotwired007
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 585
Merit: 500


View Profile
June 14, 2013, 10:52:29 AM
 #40

is anyone running thier Pi and USBASICs off the same USB hub? or is it recommended to run the Pi off a seperate PSU?

This account was hacked & possibly sold during the period of August 1st and October 24th 2017.
Anything done or said in this period wasnt me.
Many thanks to Cyrus for his help restoring access to my account.
Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!