Bitcoin Forum
April 10, 2020, 03:41:34 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.19.1 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Why script?!? before I could visit with noscript on. And I was happy.  (Read 205 times)
B1tUnl0ck3r
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 700
Merit: 267


View Profile
October 04, 2017, 03:02:56 PM
 #1

Hello,

Now I need javascript to visit bitcointalk. it's lame. I don't like it. Why was the change made? thanks.
1586490094
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1586490094

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1586490094
Reply with quote  #2

1586490094
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1586490094
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1586490094

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1586490094
Reply with quote  #2

1586490094
Report to moderator
OmegaStarScream
Staff
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1988
Merit: 1853


Exchange Bitcoin quicky--https://blockchain.com.do


View Profile
October 04, 2017, 03:05:00 PM
 #2

Hello,

Now I need javascript to visit bitcointalk. it's lame. I don't like it. Why was the change made? thanks.

The only part where you need it enabled is through the registration or login Captcha I believe, just leave your account logged in to avoid that.

B1tUnl0ck3r
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 700
Merit: 267


View Profile
October 04, 2017, 03:14:10 PM
 #3

Hello,

Now I need javascript to visit bitcointalk. it's lame. I don't like it. Why was the change made? thanks.

The only part where you need it enabled is through the registration or login Captcha I believe, just leave your account logged in to avoid that.

nice, many thanks for the solution.

do you know why captcha was needed?
actmyname
Copper Member
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1722
Merit: 1900


Exchange Bitcoin quicky--https://blockchain.com.do


View Profile WWW
October 04, 2017, 03:35:37 PM
 #4

nice, many thanks for the solution.

do you know why captcha was needed?
It was for security purposes. Theymos included the captcha to prevent brute-force attempts using multiple IP's which would in a sense negate the wait period that one has when they use a single IP for login attempts. Read this thread for some more details.

Recently someone has taken to using 5000+ IPs to bypass rate-limits and try many passwords. Therefore, it is now required to solve a captcha when logging in. JavaScript is required for this. I know that several forum users like to use NoScript, but I am not aware of any high-quality (ie. not OCR-able) captcha services/libraries which don't require JavaScript. You can maybe enable JS just for the login page, and then disable it again afterward.

There are a few people who use automated bots which need to login. Contact me with a description of your bot, and if it seems reasonable, I will give you a key which will allow you to bypass the captcha.

Let me know if you see any bugs.

And there are a lot of captcha threads that have popped up.

B1tUnl0ck3r
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 700
Merit: 267


View Profile
October 14, 2017, 10:19:11 PM
 #5

nice, many thanks for the solution.

do you know why captcha was needed?
It was for security purposes. Theymos included the captcha to prevent brute-force attempts using multiple IP's which would in a sense negate the wait period that one has when they use a single IP for login attempts. Read this thread for some more details.

Recently someone has taken to using 5000+ IPs to bypass rate-limits and try many passwords. Therefore, it is now required to solve a captcha when logging in. JavaScript is required for this. I know that several forum users like to use NoScript, but I am not aware of any high-quality (ie. not OCR-able) captcha services/libraries which don't require JavaScript. You can maybe enable JS just for the login page, and then disable it again afterward.

There are a few people who use automated bots which need to login. Contact me with a description of your bot, and if it seems reasonable, I will give you a key which will allow you to bypass the captcha.

Let me know if you see any bugs.

And there are a lot of captcha threads that have popped up.

Thank you so much for your reply and the quote from theymos ! I couldn't dream or wish a better reply.

Those kind of "hackers" are such a shame for themselves and a plague for internet...

What do you mean with your last sentence? What sort of captcha threads?
LFC_Bitcoin
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2044
Merit: 3020


One of the world's leading Bitcoin-powered casinos


View Profile
October 15, 2017, 03:28:35 PM
 #6

Anything that enhances site security is a good thing imo OP. Too many accounts have been compromised in recent times, just take a look at page 1 in Meta, it’s rife atm.

Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!