Bitcoin Forum
December 14, 2017, 10:30:31 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: Antminer L3+: HW errors...  (Read 3643 times)
Stockypotty
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 76


View Profile
October 05, 2017, 01:27:31 PM
 #1

I've seen different people say different things about HW errors. Some say it's totally fine to have them in the hundreds, some say to have as low as possible.

Would anyone be able to explain these stats a bit further and give some insight into if it's ok to have HW errors and if so, how many is ok?

Also if one board is getting a lot more errors than the rest, is that an issue?

Thanks in advance for any help.
1513290631
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513290631

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513290631
Reply with quote  #2

1513290631
Report to moderator
1513290631
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513290631

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513290631
Reply with quote  #2

1513290631
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
kakeyun
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 5


View Profile
October 05, 2017, 02:09:49 PM
 #2

I have the same questions...can anyone help answer the above questions? Many thanks
Stockypotty
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 76


View Profile
October 05, 2017, 03:23:59 PM
 #3

If no-one posts here dude i'll update you if I can find some info elsewhere. Cheers
fanatic26
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 560


View Profile
October 05, 2017, 03:48:22 PM
 #4

Hardware error just happen and are a totally normal part of mining. It is not uncommon to see one board with a bunch more than another, it might have a weak component somewhere. Unless you are seeing 10-100x the errors on one board versus the others I really wouldnt worry about it too much. In the end, there is literally nothing you can do to fix it unless maybe you have a firmware that allows you to underclock the boards.

Stop buying industrial miners, running them at home, and then complaining about the noise.
kakeyun
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 5


View Profile
October 05, 2017, 04:36:05 PM
 #5

If no-one posts here dude i'll update you if I can find some info elsewhere. Cheers

Thanks man, if you do have any specifics about HW errors, please return here and post. I would greatly appreciate it as I am new to this whole mining thing.

Cheers.
kakeyun
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 5


View Profile
October 05, 2017, 04:42:34 PM
 #6

Hardware error just happen and are a totally normal part of mining. It is not uncommon to see one board with a bunch more than another, it might have a weak component somewhere. Unless you are seeing 10-100x the errors on one board versus the others I really wouldnt worry about it too much. In the end, there is literally nothing you can do to fix it unless maybe you have a firmware that allows you to underclock the boards.

Thanks for the reply, fanatic26. I appreciate this. I'm new to mining and find it very interesting. I'm just learning the ropes now and I guess slightly paranoid about HW errors or anything I may do that would prematurely cause problems to my miner. Please share any other helpful tips for better maintenance and upkeep if and when you have time.

Cheers.
xxcsu
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 588


View Profile WWW
October 05, 2017, 04:50:15 PM
 #7

You could check the output voltage of the power supply. If it is under the specific voltage (12V) it will look like you going to get more HW errors.
The number of HW errors is not important. It's the percentage.
0.1% is a very acceptable HW Error percentage for a Bitmain AntMiner's

Im not asking for donation for my advice , never will , but i'm supporting this Mom. I read her story somewhere , and I felt like I have to share with everyone ... You can support Her if You sign her petition
Stockypotty
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 76


View Profile
October 05, 2017, 04:52:40 PM
 #8

You could check the output voltage of the power supply. If it is under the specific voltage (12V) it will look like you going to get more HW errors.
The number of HW errors is not important. It's the percentage.
0.1% is a very acceptable HW Error percentage for a Bitmain AntMiner's

Ok cool thanks, and am I right in saying the nonce % number in the dashboard, is that the percentage you just mentioned?
Stockypotty
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 76


View Profile
October 05, 2017, 06:45:14 PM
 #9

You could check the output voltage of the power supply. If it is under the specific voltage (12V) it will look like you going to get more HW errors.
The number of HW errors is not important. It's the percentage.
0.1% is a very acceptable HW Error percentage for a Bitmain AntMiner's

Also in addition to above buddy. One board has 160 HW errors and the rest have like 1-10 in 5 hours running - that sound suspect or all ok? Smiley Thanks!
StanchoBS
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 70


View Profile
October 06, 2017, 05:03:22 AM
 #10

I have board with 1 error per minute and still dont have problem 3 months working.
xxcsu
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 588


View Profile WWW
October 06, 2017, 06:07:55 AM
 #11

You could check the output voltage of the power supply. If it is under the specific voltage (12V) it will look like you going to get more HW errors.
The number of HW errors is not important. It's the percentage.
0.1% is a very acceptable HW Error percentage for a Bitmain AntMiner's

Also in addition to above buddy. One board has 160 HW errors and the rest have like 1-10 in 5 hours running - that sound suspect or all ok? Smiley Thanks!

you don't have to worry about that 160HW errors on one board , that is absolute acceptable .

Im not asking for donation for my advice , never will , but i'm supporting this Mom. I read her story somewhere , and I felt like I have to share with everyone ... You can support Her if You sign her petition
AntCoin_dev
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 70


View Profile
October 06, 2017, 06:28:19 AM
 #12

We have 60 L3+ but no have any problem, you should have a network for only your miner, and good temp. maybe between 55-80 degree, that ok.
Johninthai
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 72


View Profile
October 06, 2017, 07:36:34 AM
 #13

I doubt the network has got anything to do with it. Mine are all on a network with only miners, temp are good, yet same HW errors, so far no issues with hash rate.
kakeyun
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 5


View Profile
October 06, 2017, 06:35:26 PM
 #14

This may be a stupid question but I'll ask anyway: Does joining a specific pool (reliable vs unstable ones) increase the number of HW errors?

Thanks.
Sjeikz
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 51


View Profile
October 09, 2017, 10:23:13 PM
 #15

Is there any material too be found on the web how these HW errors exactly work?
gr1ndb0t
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1


View Profile
October 22, 2017, 08:58:23 AM
 #16

Guys, someone got some news about HW errors on L3+ ? For those who have L3+ for a long time - is it still working correctly till today? I got 200-250 HW errors per all plates in 24 hours, and quite worry about that... Using nicehash about 10 days, frequency standard 384, temp chip/plate ~45-50 degrees Celcium, APW3++ from Bitmain. Would be great to hear your opinion! BTC
ramanauskas
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 9


View Profile
October 27, 2017, 07:06:38 AM
 #17

i'm running L3+ for 8 days. Also getting HW errors on 2 plates. around 100  per 24hours.

Everything works fine.

Also maybe for people would be interest to know that Bitmain order to produce they stuff in this factory in shenzhen: http://www.szdih.com/company_profile.html

I went today there to talk about better prices to get miners. But they seems the same as other resellers on Huanqianbei (biggest electronic market in world) Smiley

Everyone's make maximum profit of it Smiley

MartinXCash
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2


View Profile
December 12, 2017, 06:08:31 AM
 #18

If we are getting too many errors how do we fix or replace the issue without getting an entirely new machine?
Shitcointalk
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 19


View Profile
December 12, 2017, 11:54:00 AM
 #19

If we are getting too many errors how do we fix or replace the issue without getting an entirely new machine?

Try to upload a picture with you miner status, will be much easier to help you. 10HW per hour is not much of an issue, 1000 is.

Just a few thoughts:
- Is it only on one board or the 4 of them ? Only one, and you can send just this one for repair and not the whole miner.
- HW might come from high chip temp. How is your cooling system ? Try to stay under 70C.
- Check / exchange every PCI plugs, exchange power supply, make sure you have enough electric power.
- If it affect every boards, you can try to reduce the frequency a little.
- Open a  ticket with bitmain, and they will tell you what to do in case you can't fixed it yourself.
n25kes
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2


View Profile
December 12, 2017, 07:26:17 PM
 #20

Hi, i am new here with s9. Is these stats ok? running for over 24hours now, had couple of times lost internet connection.
Thanks

https://imgur.com/a/qxOsR
Pages: [1] 2 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!