Bitcoin Forum
November 19, 2017, 09:37:11 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Switching from Windows to Linux with single GPU (6970) worth it?  (Read 1107 times)
Ali
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 73


View Profile
June 25, 2011, 06:48:00 PM
 #1

I'd like to know if I'd get more Mhashes/s on Linux and if yes which distributon + miner?
1511084231
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511084231

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511084231
Reply with quote  #2

1511084231
Report to moderator
1511084231
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511084231

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511084231
Reply with quote  #2

1511084231
Report to moderator
1511084231
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511084231

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511084231
Reply with quote  #2

1511084231
Report to moderator
Join ICO Now Coinlancer is Disrupting the Freelance marketplace!
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1511084231
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511084231

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511084231
Reply with quote  #2

1511084231
Report to moderator
1511084231
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511084231

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511084231
Reply with quote  #2

1511084231
Report to moderator
Chick
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 70


View Profile
June 25, 2011, 07:02:51 PM
 #2

I'd like to know if I'd get more Mhashes/s on Linux and if yes which distributon + miner?

Meh, idk, Linux is just way easier for me. No dummy plugs or anything.

CNMOH
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 70



View Profile
June 25, 2011, 07:30:43 PM
 #3

Most likely you will notice little to no difference. Even if you gain a few mh/s, you're likely to have lost more profit during the downtime while installing a Linux OS and a miner than you're going to earn from the extra mh/s.

Ali
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 73


View Profile
June 25, 2011, 08:16:03 PM
 #4

Most likely you will notice little to no difference. Even if you gain a few mh/s, you're likely to have lost more profit during the downtime while installing a Linux OS and a miner than you're going to earn from the extra mh/s.

That's what I thought. I'd have to switch in the mornings before I leave home to Linux.
Hawkix
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 517



View Profile WWW
June 26, 2011, 12:40:46 PM
 #5

In Linux, you cannot easily overclock the GPU core above BIOS limits. Using MSI Afterburner in Windows, its a click of mouse.

Donations: 1Hawkix7GHym6SM98ii5vSHHShA3FUgpV6
http://btcportal.net/ - All about Bitcoin - coming soon!
detroit
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 70


View Profile
June 26, 2011, 02:40:05 PM
 #6

Fortunately, with the Catalyst 11.6, you can overclock beyond the BIOS limits under Linux now.


Tradehill.com referral code: TH-R1494
Please consider using it if I've said something useful!
Slasklitta
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 53



View Profile
June 26, 2011, 11:34:45 PM
 #7

Fortunately, with the Catalyst 11.6, you can overclock beyond the BIOS limits under Linux now.


What? Is this true?
hamdi
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 714



View Profile
June 26, 2011, 11:37:41 PM
 #8

never touch a running system...

you wont get more mhash

Chick
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 70


View Profile
June 26, 2011, 11:55:29 PM
 #9

Fortunately, with the Catalyst 11.6, you can overclock beyond the BIOS limits under Linux now.


What? Is this true?

idk I just do this

Code:
aticonfig --adapter=all --od-setclocks 1337,900

it gets really hot. so you might need some risers.

Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!