Bitcoin Forum
December 11, 2016, 01:58:54 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Switching from Windows to Linux with single GPU (6970) worth it?  (Read 1024 times)
Ali
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 84


View Profile
June 25, 2011, 06:48:00 PM
 #1

I'd like to know if I'd get more Mhashes/s on Linux and if yes which distributon + miner?
1481464734
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481464734

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481464734
Reply with quote  #2

1481464734
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481464734
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481464734

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481464734
Reply with quote  #2

1481464734
Report to moderator
Chick
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 70


View Profile
June 25, 2011, 07:02:51 PM
 #2

I'd like to know if I'd get more Mhashes/s on Linux and if yes which distributon + miner?

Meh, idk, Linux is just way easier for me. No dummy plugs or anything.

CNMOH
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 56



View Profile
June 25, 2011, 07:30:43 PM
 #3

Most likely you will notice little to no difference. Even if you gain a few mh/s, you're likely to have lost more profit during the downtime while installing a Linux OS and a miner than you're going to earn from the extra mh/s.

Ali
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 84


View Profile
June 25, 2011, 08:16:03 PM
 #4

Most likely you will notice little to no difference. Even if you gain a few mh/s, you're likely to have lost more profit during the downtime while installing a Linux OS and a miner than you're going to earn from the extra mh/s.

That's what I thought. I'd have to switch in the mornings before I leave home to Linux.
Hawkix
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 517



View Profile WWW
June 26, 2011, 12:40:46 PM
 #5

In Linux, you cannot easily overclock the GPU core above BIOS limits. Using MSI Afterburner in Windows, its a click of mouse.

Donations: 1Hawkix7GHym6SM98ii5vSHHShA3FUgpV6
http://btcportal.net/ - All about Bitcoin - coming soon!
detroit
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 70


View Profile
June 26, 2011, 02:40:05 PM
 #6

Fortunately, with the Catalyst 11.6, you can overclock beyond the BIOS limits under Linux now.


Tradehill.com referral code: TH-R1494
Please consider using it if I've said something useful!
Slasklitta
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 53



View Profile WWW
June 26, 2011, 11:34:45 PM
 #7

Fortunately, with the Catalyst 11.6, you can overclock beyond the BIOS limits under Linux now.


What? Is this true?

Mining at https://www.bitcoins.lc/ @ ~1,2GHash/s
hamdi
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 644



View Profile
June 26, 2011, 11:37:41 PM
 #8

never touch a running system...

you wont get more mhash

Chick
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 70


View Profile
June 26, 2011, 11:55:29 PM
 #9

Fortunately, with the Catalyst 11.6, you can overclock beyond the BIOS limits under Linux now.


What? Is this true?

idk I just do this

Code:
aticonfig --adapter=all --od-setclocks 1337,900

it gets really hot. so you might need some risers.

Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!