Bitcoin Forum
December 09, 2016, 07:25:14 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: can this ASRock mobo (M3A770DE) handle 3x6870s?  (Read 1691 times)
fxgmblr
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42


View Profile
June 25, 2011, 08:22:13 PM
 #1

can this mobo handle 3x Radeon 6870s? ASRock AM3 processors AMD 770-140W (M3A770DE)
http://www.asrock.com/mb/overview.asp?Model=M3A770DE

I know there are 2 PCI-e slots with enough distance between them so 2 is definitely OK.
For the 3rd PCI-x 1x slot I need a PCI Express X1 to X16 Adapter.
However looking at the picture of the mobo i'm wondering is there enough room to fit the 3rd card?

if not then i guess that means I need a PCI -> PCI-Express adapter and plug the 3rd card into that?
1481311514
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481311514

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481311514
Reply with quote  #2

1481311514
Report to moderator
1481311514
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481311514

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481311514
Reply with quote  #2

1481311514
Report to moderator
1481311514
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481311514

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481311514
Reply with quote  #2

1481311514
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
xane
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 45



View Profile WWW
June 25, 2011, 09:54:16 PM
 #2

No, there's not enough room. Usually there never is when using a x1 slot. You'll need to place the card somewhere randomly in the case...

If you don't already own this board, I would strongly suggest getting this one instead. Much less fuss.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813157207&nm_mc=TEMC-RMA-Approvel&cm_mmc=TEMC-RMA-Approvel-_-Content-_-text-_-

https://cardsforbitcoins.com - Instantly exchange Bitcoins for Amazon gift cards
klayus
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 21


View Profile
June 27, 2011, 10:48:34 AM
 #3

i had this MB and changed it in a week! i was running 2x 5870 and there were 4 mm left between the cards, the top one going to 100C without OC-ing. i strongly recomand against it!!!
get one with more space. i changed it with a MSI 870A-g54 20 dollars more expensive but my top card now stays at 70C the bottom one dosent go above 65.

best of luck


If I helped you consider donating:
1PPhosDeRbacBZY4nKNnMUZp9mLnHAa9Uv
fxgmblr
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42


View Profile
June 27, 2011, 11:13:44 PM
 #4

i had this MB and changed it in a week! i was running 2x 5870 and there were 4 mm left between the cards, the top one going to 100C without OC-ing. i strongly recomand against it!!!
get one with more space. i changed it with a MSI 870A-g54 20 dollars more expensive but my top card now stays at 70C the bottom one dosent go above 65.

best of luck


If I helped you consider donating:
1PPhosDeRbacBZY4nKNnMUZp9mLnHAa9Uv

that mobo is $35 more at amazon. but anyway thanks for the info. i alrdy ordered the ASRock though.
gogusrl
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 53


View Profile
June 28, 2011, 10:34:12 AM
 #5

I'm using the Asrock with 3 cards without any problems.
here's a pic : http://i.imgur.com/JDvYu.jpg

ShareCoin Free and Fair Distribution. Sju9e2TURFCHsNsocHLPJGSYTxSN1wcZbD
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!