Bitcoin Forum
April 27, 2017, 11:27:08 AM *
News: If the forum does not load normally for you, please send me a traceroute.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: can this ASRock mobo (M3A770DE) handle 3x6870s?  (Read 1746 times)
fxgmblr
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42


View Profile
June 25, 2011, 08:22:13 PM
 #1

can this mobo handle 3x Radeon 6870s? ASRock AM3 processors AMD 770-140W (M3A770DE)
http://www.asrock.com/mb/overview.asp?Model=M3A770DE

I know there are 2 PCI-e slots with enough distance between them so 2 is definitely OK.
For the 3rd PCI-x 1x slot I need a PCI Express X1 to X16 Adapter.
However looking at the picture of the mobo i'm wondering is there enough room to fit the 3rd card?

if not then i guess that means I need a PCI -> PCI-Express adapter and plug the 3rd card into that?
1493292428
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1493292428

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1493292428
Reply with quote  #2

1493292428
Report to moderator
Be very wary of relying on JavaScript for security on sites such as blockchain.info and brainwallet.org. The site can change the JavaScript at any time unless you take unusual precautions, and browsers are not generally known for their airtight security.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1493292428
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1493292428

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1493292428
Reply with quote  #2

1493292428
Report to moderator
1493292428
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1493292428

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1493292428
Reply with quote  #2

1493292428
Report to moderator
xane
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 51



View Profile WWW
June 25, 2011, 09:54:16 PM
 #2

No, there's not enough room. Usually there never is when using a x1 slot. You'll need to place the card somewhere randomly in the case...

If you don't already own this board, I would strongly suggest getting this one instead. Much less fuss.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813157207&nm_mc=TEMC-RMA-Approvel&cm_mmc=TEMC-RMA-Approvel-_-Content-_-text-_-

https://altdroid.com - Bitcoin-powered Android app store
klayus
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 21


View Profile
June 27, 2011, 10:48:34 AM
 #3

i had this MB and changed it in a week! i was running 2x 5870 and there were 4 mm left between the cards, the top one going to 100C without OC-ing. i strongly recomand against it!!!
get one with more space. i changed it with a MSI 870A-g54 20 dollars more expensive but my top card now stays at 70C the bottom one dosent go above 65.

best of luck


If I helped you consider donating:
1PPhosDeRbacBZY4nKNnMUZp9mLnHAa9Uv
fxgmblr
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42


View Profile
June 27, 2011, 11:13:44 PM
 #4

i had this MB and changed it in a week! i was running 2x 5870 and there were 4 mm left between the cards, the top one going to 100C without OC-ing. i strongly recomand against it!!!
get one with more space. i changed it with a MSI 870A-g54 20 dollars more expensive but my top card now stays at 70C the bottom one dosent go above 65.

best of luck


If I helped you consider donating:
1PPhosDeRbacBZY4nKNnMUZp9mLnHAa9Uv

that mobo is $35 more at amazon. but anyway thanks for the info. i alrdy ordered the ASRock though.
gogusrl
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 53


View Profile
June 28, 2011, 10:34:12 AM
 #5

I'm using the Asrock with 3 cards without any problems.
here's a pic : http://i.imgur.com/JDvYu.jpg

ShareCoin Free and Fair Distribution. Sju9e2TURFCHsNsocHLPJGSYTxSN1wcZbD
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!