Bitcoin Forum
September 23, 2017, 11:36:42 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.0.1  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: [SOLVED] aticonfig: This program must be run as root when no X server is active  (Read 13519 times)
bcforum
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 140


View Profile
June 25, 2011, 08:42:18 PM
 #1


If you want to run your farm headless, and manage it through SSH, you will soon discover the dreaded: "aticonfig: This program must be run as root when no X server is active" or "ERROR - X needs to be running to perform ATI Overdrive(TM) commands" error messages.

To monitor temperatures (or any other aticonfig command) you need the following:

Code:
user@farm:~$ export DISPLAY=:0
user@farm:~$ xhost +
access control disabled, clients can connect from any host
user@farm:~$ aticonfig --adapter=all --odgt

Adapter 0 - AMD Radeon HD 6900 Series
            Sensor 0: Temperature - 90.00 C

Adapter 1 - AMD Radeon HD 6900 Series
            Sensor 0: Temperature - 103.00 C
user@farm:~$

Note, you can use any of the aticonfig commands to tweak clock settings or whatever.


If you found this post useful, feel free to share the wealth: 1E35gTBmJzPNJ3v72DX4wu4YtvHTWqNRbM
1506209802
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1506209802

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1506209802
Reply with quote  #2

1506209802
Report to moderator
1506209802
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1506209802

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1506209802
Reply with quote  #2

1506209802
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
Vam
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 13



View Profile
June 25, 2011, 08:57:11 PM
 #2

Seriously? 103.00 C
bcforum
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 140


View Profile
June 26, 2011, 01:21:42 AM
 #3


Yeah, it's at the bottom of the case with limited airflow to the fans. Seems to be stable though. Can't run two of them on an 800W supply, so It's idle until I upgrade.

I'm trying to find some real information on the temperature limits of these devices. 103C doesn't bother me too much. Over 110C and I'd shut it down.

If you found this post useful, feel free to share the wealth: 1E35gTBmJzPNJ3v72DX4wu4YtvHTWqNRbM
martijntje
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 21


View Profile
June 26, 2011, 07:23:30 PM
 #4

Wow, this topic was exactly what I was looking for. Have been googling things like 'aticonfig ssh', etc for half an hour.
pdawg
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 252


View Profile
July 03, 2011, 10:38:54 AM
 #5

You are my hero, thanks!

Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!