Bitcoin Forum
May 07, 2024, 02:24:28 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 27.0 [Torrent]

Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Sensible Bitcoin Safety Measures  (Read 2316 times)
LogicalUnit (OP)

Activity: 299
Merit: 250

View Profile
June 05, 2013, 10:31:03 AM

Hi, all! I'm still a newbie and would like some advice on protecting my investment in Bitcoin -- specifically against loss and theft. I'm using Bitcoin-qt.exe 0.8.2 on my windows 7 machine that's connected to my home network. Firstly, I have backed up my wallet to an encrypted file in my Dropbox folder. Is this sufficient to protect against loss? Secondly, should I encrypt my wallet, and will this protect against theft?

Is there anything else I should sensibly do?

Thanks

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
Reply with quote  #2

Report to moderator

Ignore
Reply with quote  #2

Report to moderator

Ignore
Reply with quote  #2

Report to moderator
Activity + Trust + Earned Merit == The Most Recognized Users on Bitcointalk
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction.

Ignore
Reply with quote  #2

Report to moderator

Ignore
Reply with quote  #2

Report to moderator
aceking

Activity: 229
Merit: 100

View Profile
June 05, 2013, 10:46:47 AM

Don't store your bitcoins to the pc you using everyday , search the forum for  "cold storage" , "offline wallet" , "paper wallet"  and "armory"  .
I suggest you to move the majority off your bitcoins to an offline wallet and to encrypt your wallet.dat using truecrypt and store it in online and offline places.
Eri

Activity: 264

View Profile
June 05, 2013, 11:28:46 AM

What above said, Though currently your bitcoins arnt vary safe at all.

#1 First and foremost: Encrypt your wallet with a password you will never forget that has both lower and upper case letters a well as numbers, Symbols wouldnt hurt either.