Bitcoin Forum
November 18, 2017, 09:55:45 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Can you mix 69xx and 58xx cards in same rig?  (Read 1092 times)
cvicisso
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 81



View Profile
June 26, 2011, 02:01:37 AM
 #1

I know this has probably been asked a hundred times already, but there are so many posts now - it's hard to search/find anything (information overload)!

Disregarding overheating/spacing issues... I have 3 x 6950s and want to add a 5850... is it possible from a software perspective?  I thought I remember reading somewhere that you can't mix like that...

I'm running Win 7 (32) and guiminer on an MSI mobo.  I've got PCIe risers on the way...

Thanks.

Coinlancer is Disrupting the Freelance marketplace!
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1511042145
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511042145

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511042145
Reply with quote  #2

1511042145
Report to moderator
1511042145
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511042145

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511042145
Reply with quote  #2

1511042145
Report to moderator
xane
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 51



View Profile
June 26, 2011, 02:43:39 AM
 #2

It will be detected in Windows, but you can't Crossfire across GPU architectures. I couldn't even Crossfire a 6950 with a 6870. Without Crossfire, in order to mine with it you will either need to hook up a 2nd monitor to the card, or use a "dummy plug" as described elsewhere on these forums. If you do that, though, it should work from a mining perspective.
einsteinx2
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 27


View Profile
June 26, 2011, 04:44:13 AM
 #3

I'm running Ubuntu Linux and not Windows, but I've got a 6950 and a 5870 in one of my mining rigs and it's working fine. As I understand it, the Linux drivers don't have that "dummy plug" issue, so that may affect you, but other than that it's definitely possible yes.
cvicisso
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 81



View Profile
June 26, 2011, 04:08:32 PM
 #4

Thanks guys - I'm going to go for it.  The dummy plug issue is easy - I'm not running Crossfire now... I just stuck some cheap resistors in the VGA adapters that come with each (and every) GPU and it works like a charm. 

Thanks again.
Jack of Diamonds
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 252



View Profile
June 26, 2011, 04:31:04 PM
 #5

Yes you can.
My biggest rig is running a 6990, 5850 and a 5870 all at the same time (total of 4 gpus).

You don't need to crossfire anything & everything will be detected as long as you have enough monitor cables or dummy plugs.

1f3gHNoBodYw1LLs3ndY0UanYB1tC0lnsBec4USeYoU9AREaCH34PBeGgAR67fx
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!