Bitcoin Forum
December 02, 2016, 10:39:08 PM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: [SMALL REWARD] Help to setup single and two 6990s mining rig - software choice  (Read 2211 times)
gaglia
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 12


Textline superstar!


View Profile
June 26, 2011, 10:45:34 AM
 #1

Hi, could some experienced miner help a little n00b? Smiley

I'm about to test a new mining rig with a recently found 6990. It is also possible that I'll manage to get a second one in the near future (and my mining rig is sized accordingly), but in the meantime I'm going to start with this one. I'm going to run the whole on a headless linux server.

My n00bish questions:

1) which mining software should I use? I've been using poclbm until now, but it seems that phoenix's performances have been greatly improved for the latest ATI cards, am I correct? I can read up to 835 Mhash/s at https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/Mining_hardware_comparison

2) Since I've never used dual-GPU cards, with a single 6990 do I have to launch two different threads, using DEVICE=0 and DEVICE=1 option? But I'm still going to run a single instance of the bitcoin client right?

3) Is it OK to run SDK v2.4 instead of 2.1 with this configuration?

4) Which version of Ubuntu is best suited for the task? Am I going to meet some troubles by using Debian as a distro instead of Ubuntu?

5) What is my best choice for a script/software acting as a proxy for my mining rigs and able to switch pool when my default one is down?

I don't have a lot of bitcoins right now, but I'm willing to pay 0.3 - 0.5 bitcoins to the first users (with good reputation and mining experience) providing good answers, depending on the amount of information given Smiley (maximum 1.5 BTC) Thanks in advance!

bitcoin address: 18FBX6EfJBmqfN2EG8xoEARu5L3TscF4xd
1480718348
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480718348

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480718348
Reply with quote  #2

1480718348
Report to moderator
1480718348
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480718348

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480718348
Reply with quote  #2

1480718348
Report to moderator
1480718348
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480718348

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480718348
Reply with quote  #2

1480718348
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1480718348
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480718348

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480718348
Reply with quote  #2

1480718348
Report to moderator
kripz
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 182



View Profile
June 26, 2011, 10:51:52 AM
 #2

1. Use diablominer: http://forum.bitcoin.org/index.php?topic=1721.0
2. Not with above. Yes with others. You dont need the bitcoin client if you mine for a pool, the client is only to send and receive money.
3. 2.4 is recommended as it's faster.
4. I'm running debian, it's fine, ubuntu is based on debian. Ubuntu is easier http://forum.bitcoin.org/index.php?topic=10608.msg152044;topicseen#msg152044
5. Flexible mining proxy: http://forum.bitcoin.org/index.php?topic=5506.0

 Merged mining, free SMS notifications, PayPal payout and much more.
http://btcstats.net/sig/JZCODg2
Reikoku
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 140


firstbits: 1kwc1p


View Profile
June 27, 2011, 03:27:32 AM
 #3

1) which mining software should I use? I've been using poclbm until now, but it seems that phoenix's performances have been greatly improved for the latest ATI cards, am I correct? I can read up to 835 Mhash/s at https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/Mining_hardware_comparison[/quit]

Try phoenix with phatk, you will need to overclock the card to get 835 though.

2) Since I've never used dual-GPU cards, with a single 6990 do I have to launch two different threads, using DEVICE=0 and DEVICE=1 option? But I'm still going to run a single instance of the bitcoin client right?[/quit]

Yes, you have to run two instances of Phoenix as a 6990 is two GPU cores.

3) Is it OK to run SDK v2.4 instead of 2.1 with this configuration?

I've never seen a performance loss from using 2.4.

4) Which version of Ubuntu is best suited for the task? Am I going to meet some troubles by using Debian as a distro instead of Ubuntu?

The latest Debian or Ubuntu will be fine.

5) What is my best choice for a script/software acting as a proxy for my mining rigs and able to switch pool when my default one is down?

Try Autominer, it's in my sig. Monitors downtimes, allows you to see mining status via screen sessions, monitors temperatures etc.

Rei | 1Kwc1pqv54jCg8jvnm3Gu1dqFQYhS34Bow
Trades So Far: 7
gaglia
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 12


Textline superstar!


View Profile
June 27, 2011, 09:24:54 AM
 #4

Thanks, it seems that questions 2) 3) 4) are answered, I'm still waiting some feedback for 1) and 5) but in the meantime I'm sending you 0.4 BTC each!

I would also add the following:

6) what overclock procedure do you feel to suggest for this GPU? I'm reading here that default values for the 6990 are:

GPU: 830 MHz
GDDR5: 1250 MHz

but here it looks like users tend to heavily downclock RAM and heavily overclock core... I wouldn't feel comfortable to overclock core at 1010 MHz as from one of the 6990x2 rows, but would it be ok to overclock core, let's say, around 900-950 MHz if the temperature doesn't rise too high? Or would it be more advisable to not overclock at all?

bitcoin address: 18FBX6EfJBmqfN2EG8xoEARu5L3TscF4xd
themrhk
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 18


View Profile
June 27, 2011, 09:41:38 AM
 #5

1) which mining software should I use? I've been using poclbm until now, but it seems that phoenix's performances have been greatly improved for the latest ATI cards, am I correct? I can read up to 835 Mhash/s at https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/Mining_hardware_comparison

Hello gaglia,

i would highly suggest you to use the new phoenix miner (vers. 1.50) with the phatk kernel as this is the fastest gpu miner for most powerful ati cards atm.

You can maximise the mHash/s ur getting by 3% more by applying these changes to the kernel file (http://forum.bitcoin.org/index.php?topic=23067.msg291159#msg291159) works great for me and others, gave me a boost of 10 mhash/s.

here the link to the phoenix miner http://forum.bitcoin.org/index.php?topic=6458.0 you can download it here.

hope i could help u at least a little Smiley

if your feeling generous please send a donation to 1KA365T71EyXXjMTS91byR6pLDMzFryCis

thanks for any donations Smiley

1P8kMzKa7ZdZxNg6edHR8k2FnsYsK5KuFh
Reikoku
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 140


firstbits: 1kwc1p


View Profile
June 27, 2011, 10:42:50 AM
 #6

6) what overclock procedure do you feel to suggest for this GPU? I'm reading here that default values for the 6990 are:

GPU: 830 MHz
GDDR5: 1250 MHz

but here it looks like users tend to heavily downclock RAM and heavily overclock core... I wouldn't feel comfortable to overclock core at 1010 MHz as from one of the 6990x2 rows, but would it be ok to overclock core, let's say, around 900-950 MHz if the temperature doesn't rise too high? Or would it be more advisable to not overclock at all?

First off, thanks for the donation. ^^ Always appreciated.

Second, for overclocking, slow and steady wins the race. Don't be afraid of it, but don't rush it. First try overclocking to 866 core, 300 memory (aticonfig --adapter=all --odsc 866,300). If that's stable, try 900,300. If that's stable, try 933,300. When you find something which has uncomfortable temps (> 80) or freezes, try a few MHz lower on core until you get something stable.

When you've got something you like, do aticonfig --adapter=all --odcc.

Rei | 1Kwc1pqv54jCg8jvnm3Gu1dqFQYhS34Bow
Trades So Far: 7
Departure
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 116



View Profile
June 27, 2011, 04:59:15 PM
 #7

you can't underclock the memory more than 100mhz of the core clocks, 910/840 produces good hash rate without flicking the OC switch to second position...

you will also need AMDOverdriveCtrl installed Smiley I was on linux with 3 x 6990's moved back to windows now 11.6 drivers support more than GPU's much easier to control the clocks... also running headless on windows by using vnc..

PcChip
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 294



View Profile
June 27, 2011, 10:04:19 PM
 #8

1) which mining software should I use? I've been using poclbm until now, but it seems that phoenix's performances have been greatly improved for the latest ATI cards, am I correct? I can read up to 835 Mhash/s at https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/Mining_hardware_comparison

2) Since I've never used dual-GPU cards, with a single 6990 do I have to launch two different threads, using DEVICE=0 and DEVICE=1 option? But I'm still going to run a single instance of the bitcoin client right?

3) Is it OK to run SDK v2.4 instead of 2.1 with this configuration?

4) Which version of Ubuntu is best suited for the task? Am I going to meet some troubles by using Debian as a distro instead of Ubuntu?

5) What is my best choice for a script/software acting as a proxy for my mining rigs and able to switch pool when my default one is down?

I don't have a lot of bitcoins right now, but I'm willing to pay 0.3 - 0.5 bitcoins to the first users (with good reputation and mining experience) providing good answers, depending on the amount of information given Smiley (maximum 1.5 BTC) Thanks in advance!

1.) Phoenix 1.5 with PhatK + bitless's kernel hack (PM me if you need help with this)
2.) Launch two threads, each with a different DEVICE id in the batch file (PM me if you need help with this)
3.) SDK 2.4 is fastest with PhatK / Phoenix
4.) Never used Linux for mining, I love Win7 (400 MH/s on my 5850)
5.) Running multiple mining instances on each GPU will cover it (PM me if you need help with this)

If I helped you like you were needing, a tiny donation would be awesome Cheesy

All rates with Phoenix 1.50 / PhatK
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
5850 - 400 MH/s  |  5850 - 355 MH/s | 5830 - 310 MH/s  |  GTX570 - 115 MH/s | 5770 - 210 MH/s | 5770 - 200 MH/s
Reikoku
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 140


firstbits: 1kwc1p


View Profile
June 27, 2011, 11:59:38 PM
 #9

you can't underclock the memory more than 100mhz of the core clocks, 910/840 produces good hash rate without flicking the OC switch to second position...

you will also need AMDOverdriveCtrl installed Smiley I was on linux with 3 x 6990's moved back to windows now 11.6 drivers support more than GPU's much easier to control the clocks... also running headless on windows by using vnc..

If you flick the switch you should be able to set memclocks as low as you want, I have some 5850s running at 180 mem.

Rei | 1Kwc1pqv54jCg8jvnm3Gu1dqFQYhS34Bow
Trades So Far: 7
gaglia
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 12


Textline superstar!


View Profile
June 28, 2011, 05:10:28 PM
 #10

Thanks guys, it seems that my questions have been answered for now ^^ I'll let you know how it goes. I'm sending some other micropayment for your kindness but the sum I was reserving for this has rapidly depleted, sorry if it's less than what you expected!

bitcoin address: 18FBX6EfJBmqfN2EG8xoEARu5L3TscF4xd
shotgun
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 98



View Profile
July 02, 2011, 05:01:19 AM
 #11

Save yourself a lot of hassle and time and install LinuxCoin (debian based), setup SmartCoin for running your pool automation and miner automation. Then use a web-based monitor like the one I'm writing (http://code.google.com/p/minerwatch/) or miningmonitor.com so you can know when your miners are offline and see trends.

You might want to run a script like this to monitor your core temps too:

Code:
#!/bin/bash
#kills phoneix.py process if aticonfig shows temperature > $maxtemp
maxtemp="80"
running=true
while $running; do
    if [ "`aticonfig --odgt --adapter=0 | grep -o '[0-9][0-9].[0-9][0-9]' | sed 's/\.[0-9][0-9]//g'`" -gt "$maxtemp" ] ; then
        echo "TOO HOT"
        pkill -9 phoenix.py
        running=false
    fi
done

<luke-jr> Catholics do not believe in freedom of religion.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!