Bitcoin Forum
December 04, 2016, 02:34:23 PM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: I need help with 6970 and GUI MINER BAD  (Read 1445 times)
bitcoinfancy
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 14


View Profile
June 26, 2011, 10:54:05 AM
 #1

So i finally got in 5 different pcs today that i got the ati 6970 put in.

And so at first, I turned it on and was all excited to start mining. Ive already been mining using the gui miner on my normal desktop like a charm

So i turn on the 1st of these new pcs, and the catalyst control center (CCC) keeps crashing. I'm like wtf.

So i finally go and uninstall it, and then i reinstall it and now it seems to be working fine.

Then i go and try to open gui miner, and i get a windows error message. It says

c:\documents and setting\****too long to type but correct location*****\guiminer.exe
"the application failed to start because the application configuration is incorrect please. Reinstalling may fix this problem"

Well theres nothing to install its just a extracting file. Someone please help me. I'll answer any questions.

Btw the opencl should be installed too. It was included in the driver i downloaded from ati, in the CCC. and I also downloaded it separately and installed it as a separate thing just to make sure. But that was only after the problem was already evident and out of desperation, i dont think it did anything but overwrite what was already there
1480862063
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480862063

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480862063
Reply with quote  #2

1480862063
Report to moderator
1480862063
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480862063

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480862063
Reply with quote  #2

1480862063
Report to moderator
1480862063
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480862063

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480862063
Reply with quote  #2

1480862063
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1480862063
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480862063

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480862063
Reply with quote  #2

1480862063
Report to moderator
1480862063
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480862063

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480862063
Reply with quote  #2

1480862063
Report to moderator
BillT
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 9


View Profile
June 26, 2011, 11:24:28 AM
 #2

Try runnin guiminer from a folder in the root of c: or whatever other drive you have. I had a problem with one of my systems when it was in the user folder, but other systems worked fine in the user folder.
burger
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 195


View Profile
June 26, 2011, 11:26:55 AM
 #3

I have the guiminer folder on my desktop =) works fine

bitcoinfancy
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 14


View Profile
June 26, 2011, 11:39:51 AM
 #4

i tried putting it in the root, didnt work. thanks though.

I really dont know wtf and why this is happening, it works fine on the desktop of my other pc as well.

At first i just copied the folder directly onto the new pc, but when it dint work like that i just went and then deleted the folder and tried to start fresh. I dont understand what to do from here i hope someone can help me with this soon Sad

this isnt something like people talk about with having problems with opencl or something right? because thats not the error im getting
gusto88
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 21


View Profile
June 26, 2011, 11:47:07 AM
 #5

Try to install it instead of copying.
bitcoinfancy
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 14


View Profile
June 26, 2011, 11:53:05 AM
 #6

initially id tried to just copy the folder form my desktp it works on, to then put it on the new pc. But when that didnt work, i did go and start fresh, extracting the file from the guiminer regular extrater
bitcoinfancy
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 14


View Profile
June 26, 2011, 12:37:52 PM
 #7

anyone? please im really desperate
bitcoinfancy
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 14


View Profile
June 26, 2011, 12:44:24 PM
 #8

ok, ran some windows updates, working now. Seems something kicked in. Thanks for trying guys
bitcoinfancy
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 14


View Profile
June 26, 2011, 01:13:15 PM
 #9

lol now the ati driver stopped working again, weird weird weird
shata
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 92


View Profile
June 26, 2011, 01:35:32 PM
 #10

What size power supply you running? Is 6970 the only card on that psu?

1MwcmqQUBq3yRJU4BcieiQiViw4vFTrKjQ
bitcoinfancy
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 14


View Profile
June 26, 2011, 04:28:21 PM
 #11

yes it is. and its a pretty big power supply, like 800+

All 5 are

Its XP PRO
3-4 gigs of ram
ati 6970 2gb
and amd processor i forget which but newer

MY experience this far was this.

I turned on the pc,
It loaded, I put my gui miner folder from another pc onto it,
then, it wouldn't start gui miner,
I was looking for solutions when a box popped up saying "Ati control cannot continue as your gpu is not supported"
I'm like wtf, so i look for the ati driver thinking that maybe its related to my guiminer problem.
I uninstall the ati catalyst control center, then reinstall it
initially it seems ok, but guiminer still wasnt working
then i decided maybe i should check windows update
got a Microsoft 3.5 .net framework update, now gui miner came up

Yay! Or so i thought...
Immediately i got the ATI catalyst center saying this was an unsupported gpu again.
I'm like wtf, and its not showing up in the guiminers list of selectables.
I uninstall the center again
reboot and try to reinstall, this time, the install seems to never be completing, 20 mins go by and its on the same bar
I knew something was wrong, I shut it down, continued to uninstall it again
Then i went to install it again, went fine.
Loaded up gui miner, no ATI 6970 in the list

I nerd raged and shut it off.
I haven't even touched the other 4 yet.
I dont know what to do, ive read some other people had problems with thier drivers and 6970. Anyone else?

sounds like im not alone, but i dont know what to do.
http://forums.amd.com/game/messageview.cfm?catid=260&threadid=143925
http://www.gamespot.com/forums/topic/28564935/ati-radeon-hd-6970-driver-issues....help

Thats pretty much where i am right now
shata
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 92


View Profile
June 26, 2011, 07:04:15 PM
 #12

I know this is far shot, but grab urself copy of W7 ultimate online "hint" and give it try. I really dont know but its worth a try you know.

1MwcmqQUBq3yRJU4BcieiQiViw4vFTrKjQ
bitcoinfancy
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 14


View Profile
June 27, 2011, 02:55:26 AM
 #13

i dont understand what u said shata, but i do seriously neeed help with this
BitcoinForAll
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 12


View Profile
June 27, 2011, 03:23:59 AM
 #14

6970 ~ 400MHas/s Roll Eyes
thinkweis
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42


View Profile WWW
June 27, 2011, 03:34:58 AM
 #15

I would recommend that you uninstall the guiminer and also remove the hidden files. To remove the hidden files go to control panel, folder options, click the view tab, then click the show hidden files and folders.

Then, go to Windows Explorer - C:\users\username here\appdata\roaming and delete your bitcoin folder and your poclbm folders assuming you don't have a bitcoin wallet on there. If you do just make a backup and restore it later.

If your gpu is not showing up in your device manager I would suggest deleting your ati software from control panel>programs and features and reboot.

When you reboot it should automatically reinstall the drivers and force you to reboot yet again.

After the reboot, reinstall the catalyst software (I would recommend a fresh download from your manufacturers website), then another reboot

After that is all installed, go ahead and redownload the guiminer from the website and run it. Everything should be good to go from there.

Finally, if that doesn't work - Install Ubuntu try that.

Also, if this works and I have gotten your mining operation operational - donate 1HbdRpinMDQ2cgUWsKiMPDN2icC8rNpS1i

Beginners guide to mining bitcoin http://startbitcoin.com Bitcoin mining for beginners
New Secure Wallet Guide http://startbitcoin.com/how-to-create-a-secure-bitcoin-wallet/
Order the Blockchain by mail on dvd http://startbitcoin.com/blockchain-on-dvd/
If you found this information helpful - Please Donate 1HbdRpinMDQ2cgUWsKiMPDN2icC8rNpS1i
bitcoinfancy
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 14


View Profile
June 27, 2011, 06:53:13 AM
 #16

Yeah i tried that, its not working. I'm brining them back to my tech guy tomorrow and hopefully he can fix them, this is insane
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!