Bitcoin Forum
May 20, 2018, 04:40:42 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.16.0  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: More than one instance on Windows  (Read 800 times)
krepta3000
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 92
Merit: 10


View Profile
June 26, 2011, 02:08:03 PM
 #1

I am apparently unable to run more than one instance of bitcoin on windows, at least being run by the same user.  Is there any way to run two instances,
with two wallets, on windows?  Maybe create a new user and run it from there?
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1526834442
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1526834442

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1526834442
Reply with quote  #2

1526834442
Report to moderator
1526834442
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1526834442

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1526834442
Reply with quote  #2

1526834442
Report to moderator
1526834442
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1526834442

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1526834442
Reply with quote  #2

1526834442
Report to moderator
Alex Beckenham
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 154
Merit: 100


View Profile
June 26, 2011, 02:12:47 PM
 #2

This would be so handy, but I'm not sure how it would work with them both using the same port to communicate with the outside world.

krepta3000
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 92
Merit: 10


View Profile
June 26, 2011, 02:20:43 PM
 #3

I have succeeded in running two bitcoin instances... sort of.  I've got the normal GUI running my old wallet, but I could only manage to get the headless daemon to run my new wallet, with this command:

Code:
c:\program files\bitcoin\daemon\bitcoind.exe -datadir="m:\bitcoin\new wallet" -connect=127.0.0.1 -nolisten

That way it connects to the already running instance, with the port open as normal, but won't try to listen on it's own port, since the port is already open that wouldn't work at all.  There, two instances of bitcoin... sort of, on the same windows machine.

Hmmm, I wonder, what if I tried those commands on the gui, could two gui windows come up?  Let's see.  Nope, it won't run, it tries to, but eventually kills itself for some reason.  I'm sure I can look at the debug.log to see why.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!