Bitcoin Forum
December 03, 2016, 06:58:33 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: Installing Catalyst 11.6 in Ubuntu 11.04  (Read 12233 times)
dishwara
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1372


Truth may get delay, but NEVER fails


View Profile
June 26, 2011, 05:46:23 PM
 #1

After help from many & learning some thing, I finally able to upgrade from catalyst 11.5 to catalyst 11.6 in Ubuntu 11.04.
Thanks to those who helped me.

You need to first have to uninstall the ati drivers comes with Ubuntu 11.04.
Go to Synaptic Package Manager & search field type fglrx.
It will give some results & you will see 4 files with names starting with flgrx.
Out of the 4 , 3 is already installed & 1 is not installed.
fglrx, fglrx-amdcccle & fglrx-dev is already installed
fglrx-modaliases is not installed. (You can't install fglrx-modaliases with the other 3)


Ok, now go to AMD site & in support & drivers,
http://support.amd.com/us/gpudownload/Pages/index.aspx

select desktop graphics-> Radeon HD series -> Radeon HD 6xxx Series PCIe -> Linux x86_64 & click display results.
It will open a page with AMD Catalyst 11.6 Proprietary Linux x86 Display Driver, file size is ~72MB, version 11.6, direct link is below.

http://www2.ati.com/drivers/linux/ati-driver-installer-11-6-x86.x86_64.run

Download the file & keep it in desktop.

To install this file, first have to make it executable & then run in terminal with root access.
Code:
chmod +x ati-driver-installer-11-6-x86.x86_64.run
sudo sh ati-driver-installer-11-6-x86.x86_64.run

It will run & will tell you that already drivers are installed & ask you to uninstall it or go for force install.
DON'T GO FOR FORCE INSTALL.

Now go to Synaptic Package Manger & select the 3 fglrx, fglrx-amdcccle, fglrx-dev which will have a GREEN box in front of it, check the 3 files & select Mark for complete removal. Sometimes it will ask you to remove other also if you select one file of the above.

fglrx-modaliases will have a GREY box, which means its not installed.

Click Apply & it will uninstall all the above 3.

Then again run
Code:
sudo sh ati-driver-installer-11-6-x86.x86_64.run


Now you will be able to install 11.6.

After installation is complete run
Code:
sudo aticonfig --initial -f --adapter=all
sudo reboot

After system reboot, you can able to login without any problem.

To over clock you must enable ati for OC/UC.

Code:
sudo aticonfig --od-setclocks=900,300 --adapter=0

Just run the above code in terminal to under clock memory to 300 Mhz & over clock core to 900 Mhz.
It will tell you that you have to enable OC/UC.
I am not sure here about the correct code as it is displayed in the terminal window itself, just use sudo with it for root access & to enable OC/UC

Code:
sudo aticonfig -od-enable

Now you can OC or UC as you want.

Also if you want to see temperature of all GPU's, use this code.
Code:
watch -n 5 aticonfig --odgt --adapter=all
Instead of 5 use 1 for 1 sec & it will update all the core temperatures every second.
You run it in separate terminal, so you can check it easily.

I hope this will help those who also searching & trying to install 11.6 in Ubuntu 11.04.

Screenshot showing temperature window & 8 cards mining in Ubuntu 11.04 using 11.6 catalyst driver.

1480748313
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480748313

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480748313
Reply with quote  #2

1480748313
Report to moderator
1480748313
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480748313

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480748313
Reply with quote  #2

1480748313
Report to moderator
1480748313
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480748313

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480748313
Reply with quote  #2

1480748313
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1480748313
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480748313

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480748313
Reply with quote  #2

1480748313
Report to moderator
1480748313
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480748313

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480748313
Reply with quote  #2

1480748313
Report to moderator
1480748313
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480748313

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480748313
Reply with quote  #2

1480748313
Report to moderator
stellan0r
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 490


Medical Translations for Bitcoins


View Profile
June 26, 2011, 08:00:26 PM
 #2

thx for putting it all together!

what cards are you using?

is diablo miner faster than phoenix/phatk for you?

have you oc/uc all your cards to 900/300?

aaand, what mainboard and PSU are you using? :-)

Allgemeine Gesundheitsberatung gegen Bitcoin-Zahlung. Bei Fragen einfach eine PM schicken!
If you want to send a thank you: BTC "1PZJvKvarRviQRQWejpvXW2j4e1xbT8MZb" / Doge "DHtN2YEFg1obv2VFps8RwQSL6xL1RRYyXN"
dishwara
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1372


Truth may get delay, but NEVER fails


View Profile
June 26, 2011, 08:06:57 PM
 #3

5870 & 6970
I don't know faster or slower, but just tried. as i was never used diablo before & only his miner can able to mine with all cards with just one worker & one instance.
here i didn't try that.
I OC/UC to 950/300
MSI Big Bang Marshal Mother board. I got cheated/fooled in PSU.
I was told & guaranteed by Cooler Master by email that 2 nos of CMSPG 1200W can able to give enough power. But in reality it gives power to all cards for just to see in Windows or Linux. Mining makes power to crash & also adding 120MM fan makes power crash.
I have around 6 120MM fans to cool the graphic cards.

Better go for 1500W PSU if you want to run 4 cards per PSU.
So far i can able to find only one brand SilverStone ST-1500W PSU
IlbiStarz
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 224


View Profile
June 27, 2011, 02:40:38 AM
 #4

Is it true that 11.6 let's you overclock past the bios limits in Linux?

It's better to be pissed off, than to be pissed on.
BTC : 1UgM1rqL9mFtH4PHF8TgvAaceymaKmhmP         LTC : LgCGw2WrRphr94RYS1qXHj2PUuYrTap4vk
FC : 6jc9PEmqxpMSxydfepHtshE4f2jMom1dAJ
stellan0r
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 490


Medical Translations for Bitcoins


View Profile
June 27, 2011, 06:15:39 AM
 #5

Is it true that 11.6 let's you overclock past the bios limits in Linux?

yes.

only problem is that you can't adjust the voltage, so if you set the core clocks too high, things become unstable.
if anyone has a solution for that problem.. Wink

Allgemeine Gesundheitsberatung gegen Bitcoin-Zahlung. Bei Fragen einfach eine PM schicken!
If you want to send a thank you: BTC "1PZJvKvarRviQRQWejpvXW2j4e1xbT8MZb" / Doge "DHtN2YEFg1obv2VFps8RwQSL6xL1RRYyXN"
dishwara
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1372


Truth may get delay, but NEVER fails


View Profile
June 27, 2011, 06:58:23 AM
 #6

No AMD fu*ked everyone again.

You can under clock memory of only 5800 series card, but not 6800 series or 6900 series. Even though it will say it under clocked, it RUNS ONLY in default clock set by Fu*king AMD.
Check out this post, you can clearly see the difference between current PEAK & current clock.
http://forum.bitcoin.org/index.php?topic=19776.msg290674#msg290674
IlbiStarz
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 224


View Profile
June 27, 2011, 10:48:02 PM
 #7

Then is overclock past limits only 5800 series too? Or any card?

It's better to be pissed off, than to be pissed on.
BTC : 1UgM1rqL9mFtH4PHF8TgvAaceymaKmhmP         LTC : LgCGw2WrRphr94RYS1qXHj2PUuYrTap4vk
FC : 6jc9PEmqxpMSxydfepHtshE4f2jMom1dAJ
dishwara
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1372


Truth may get delay, but NEVER fails


View Profile
June 27, 2011, 11:10:11 PM
 #8

Then is overclock past limits only 5800 series too? Or any card?
You can over clock any card. you can't under clock memory in 6000 series.
IlbiStarz
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 224


View Profile
June 29, 2011, 06:44:07 AM
 #9

When I try to run

sudo sh ati-driver-installer-11-6-x86.x86_64.run

It says

sh: Can't open ati-driver-installer-11-6-x86.x86_64.run


It's better to be pissed off, than to be pissed on.
BTC : 1UgM1rqL9mFtH4PHF8TgvAaceymaKmhmP         LTC : LgCGw2WrRphr94RYS1qXHj2PUuYrTap4vk
FC : 6jc9PEmqxpMSxydfepHtshE4f2jMom1dAJ
IlbiStarz
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 224


View Profile
June 29, 2011, 08:15:57 AM
 #10

Guys can you help :O

When I go to the Synaptic viewer, only the first two fglrx's have green boxes in front of them. dev and moda are not installed. I try uninstalling the first two, and running the 11.6. After it finishes, i can't sudo aticonfig --initial -f --adapter=all, i just gives me errors. Rebooting locks up my computer at the Ubuntu loading screen Sad

That happened the first time when I tried this. I was using Inaba's guide before, so I had SDK 2.4 already. I tried a fresh install, but the same things happened. I can't get 11.6 to work.

It's better to be pissed off, than to be pissed on.
BTC : 1UgM1rqL9mFtH4PHF8TgvAaceymaKmhmP         LTC : LgCGw2WrRphr94RYS1qXHj2PUuYrTap4vk
FC : 6jc9PEmqxpMSxydfepHtshE4f2jMom1dAJ
dishwara
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1372


Truth may get delay, but NEVER fails


View Profile
June 29, 2011, 08:57:17 PM
 #11

When I try to run
sudo sh ati-driver-installer-11-6-x86.x86_64.run
It says
sh: Can't open ati-driver-installer-11-6-x86.x86_64.run

You MUST cd to the folder where ati.* driver file is stored & also u need root rights to run the file. In the properties of the file, check the permissions you have to read & write.

Guys can you help :O

When I go to the Synaptic viewer, only the first two fglrx's have green boxes in front of them. dev and moda are not installed. I try uninstalling the first two, and running the 11.6. After it finishes, i can't sudo aticonfig --initial -f --adapter=all, i just gives me errors. Rebooting locks up my computer at the Ubuntu loading screen Sad

That happened the first time when I tried this. I was using Inaba's guide before, so I had SDK 2.4 already. I tried a fresh install, but the same things happened. I can't get 11.6 to work.
You sure you uninstalled correctly?
Go to Ubuntu recovery mode -> root terminal & try to sudo aticonfig........ from their.
If it says file not exist or some other error saying their is NO aticonfig then its not installed properly.

Go to recovery mode & select graphics with low resolution & in that select 2nd reconfigure. then ok, &ok, cancel, coz it will reconfigure & came back to previous screen & go for restart.

after that go in normal mode & see what you have. whether 11.5 or 11.6.
You can see it in applications-> installed "see xx more results" by moving the mouse to left top & it will bring out task bar & their in applications. clicking see xx more will show all installed with 2 ati catalyst & ati catalyst administrative rights.
In any one click information(next to welcome) & see what drivers installed.

Also you can role back by selecting repair packages in recovery mode & also trying to install 11.5 in synaptic manager in recovery mode. But you need root access.

I too newbie in Linux, I got it installed by trial & error only. Hopes this help.
Mobius
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 957



View Profile
June 29, 2011, 10:02:05 PM
 #12

When I try to run

sudo sh ati-driver-installer-11-6-x86.x86_64.run

It says

sh: Can't open ati-driver-installer-11-6-x86.x86_64.run



In the directory that you downloaded the ati-driver...
at the terminal prompt
chmod +x ati-driver[TAB Button] [ENTER key]
then at the command prompt do
sh ati-driver-installer-11-6-x86.x86_64.run

dishwara
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1372


Truth may get delay, but NEVER fails


View Profile
June 30, 2011, 09:26:22 AM
 #13

oops i forget to make executable.
chmod +x ati*
Edited 1st post.
mouser98
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 56


View Profile
July 09, 2011, 07:04:18 PM
 #14

thanks Dishwara, great post
mouser98
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 56


View Profile
July 09, 2011, 08:20:32 PM
 #15

if one wanted to do this install/upgrade purely via SSH at a remote station, what would the commands be to download the package and uninstall the current install?
mouser98
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 56


View Profile
July 09, 2011, 11:18:07 PM
 #16

basically, how do you uninstall the existing drivers through SSH?
drawoc
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 168

Firstbits: 175wn


View Profile
July 09, 2011, 11:45:55 PM
 #17

if one wanted to do this install/upgrade purely via SSH at a remote station, what would the commands be to download the package and uninstall the current install?

To download files, use wget:
Code:
wget http://www2.ati.com/drivers/linux/ati-driver-installer-11-6-x86.x86_64.run

To remove packages, use apt-get:
Code:
sudo apt-get purge fglrx fglrx-amdcccle fglrx-dev

Donate: 175WNXmJ1WVhFgVGKUqEhYtAQGRYAvqPA
mouser98
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 56


View Profile
July 10, 2011, 01:05:14 AM
 #18

if one wanted to do this install/upgrade purely via SSH at a remote station, what would the commands be to download the package and uninstall the current install?

To download files, use wget:
Code:
wget http://www2.ati.com/drivers/linux/ati-driver-installer-11-6-x86.x86_64.run

To remove packages, use apt-get:
Code:
sudo apt-get purge fglrx fglrx-amdcccle fglrx-dev

thanks, ran both of those but apparently i did not do the uninstall correctly, because the installation is not working and Ubuntu still detects an existing fglrx driver.

this is the  /usr/share/ati/fglrx-install.log

Code:
                usr/sbin/ -type f | xargs chmod a+x
# set exec bit on scripts
find lib etc debian -name "*.sh" -type f | xargs chmod +x
# set the permissions on the pxpress scripts
chmod 744 debian/pxpress/switch*
dh build
make: dh: Command not found
make: *** [build] Error 127
dpkg-buildpackage: error: debian/rules build gave error exit status 2
[Error] Generate Package - error generating package : Ubuntu/natty


any ideas?
drawoc
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 168

Firstbits: 175wn


View Profile
July 10, 2011, 01:43:38 AM
 #19

thanks, ran both of those but apparently i did not do the uninstall correctly, because the installation is not working and Ubuntu still detects an existing fglrx driver.

this is the  /usr/share/ati/fglrx-install.log

Code:
                usr/sbin/ -type f | xargs chmod a+x
# set exec bit on scripts
find lib etc debian -name "*.sh" -type f | xargs chmod +x
# set the permissions on the pxpress scripts
chmod 744 debian/pxpress/switch*
dh build
make: dh: Command not found
make: *** [build] Error 127
dpkg-buildpackage: error: debian/rules build gave error exit status 2
[Error] Generate Package - error generating package : Ubuntu/natty


any ideas?

It looks like it wants you to install debhelper:
Code:
sudo apt-get install debhelper

Donate: 175WNXmJ1WVhFgVGKUqEhYtAQGRYAvqPA
mouser98
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 56


View Profile
July 10, 2011, 01:57:04 AM
 #20

thanks, ran both of those but apparently i did not do the uninstall correctly, because the installation is not working and Ubuntu still detects an existing fglrx driver.

this is the  /usr/share/ati/fglrx-install.log

Code:
                usr/sbin/ -type f | xargs chmod a+x
# set exec bit on scripts
find lib etc debian -name "*.sh" -type f | xargs chmod +x
# set the permissions on the pxpress scripts
chmod 744 debian/pxpress/switch*
dh build
make: dh: Command not found
make: *** [build] Error 127
dpkg-buildpackage: error: debian/rules build gave error exit status 2
[Error] Generate Package - error generating package : Ubuntu/natty


any ideas?

It looks like it wants you to install debhelper:
Code:
sudo apt-get install debhelper

thanks.

ran that, and then tried to reinstall and got this in my /usr/share/ati/fglrx-install.log:

Code:
dh_installdocs -pfglrx debian/AUTHORS
dh_installinit -pfglrx --name="atieventsd" --no-start --update-rcd-params="defaults 31"
Duplicate specification "O=s" for option "O"
#remove executable bits from stack
dh_install -pfglrx-amdcccle
execstack -c debian/fglrx-amdcccle/usr/lib/fglrx/bin/amdcccle
make: execstack: Command not found
make: *** [binary-arch] Error 127
dpkg-buildpackage: error: debian/rules binary gave error exit status 2
[Error] Generate Package - error generating package : Ubuntu/natty
Pages: [1] 2 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!