Bitcoin Forum
April 26, 2024, 04:54:48 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 27.0 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: .Net Bitcoin Miner (BitMaker, for now)  (Read 3228 times)
wasabi (OP)
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 39
Merit: 0


View Profile
June 26, 2011, 06:12:55 PM
 #1

New Bitcoin miner available.

http://github.com/wasabii/BitMaker

It's GPLv3, for now, until I come up with reasons to make it less restricted.

The majority of it is written in C#, including a purely managed miner component. There is an SSE miner component that is written in C++/CLI. This component won't run on Mono. The rest does. I'd like to fix that by using some P/Invoke instead of C++/CLI, but that's outside of the scope of my current interests.

I will be working on GPU support using Cloo, shortly. My goal with writing this was to have a flexible code base that I could use to deploy miners across my company's desktop, and maintain enough control over it to ensure that it doesn't disturb normal operations. Also: lulz.

One of hte primary motivations with the GPU support will be it running as a Windows service, not on the user's desktop, so as not to interfeer with him. This will be interesting to do while still ensuring access to the GPU.

The architecture uses MEF to dynamically load miner plugins, CpuMiner being the only one that works. CpuMiner actually dynamically loads solvers, such as ManagedCpuSolver and SseCpuSolver, tests each for their hash rate, and then picks one. I'm thinking of reorganizing this code a bit though.

Anyways, enjoy. I'll post it to the mining software thread when my forum account matures.
1714107288
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1714107288

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1714107288
Reply with quote  #2

1714107288
Report to moderator
1714107288
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1714107288

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1714107288
Reply with quote  #2

1714107288
Report to moderator
"If you don't want people to know you're a scumbag then don't be a scumbag." -- margaritahuyan
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction.
1714107288
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1714107288

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1714107288
Reply with quote  #2

1714107288
Report to moderator
1714107288
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1714107288

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1714107288
Reply with quote  #2

1714107288
Report to moderator
bcforum
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 140
Merit: 100


View Profile
June 27, 2011, 02:33:08 AM
 #2


CPU mining is a dead end. When mining on a GPU you get 100MH/s up to 1000MH/s per card.

If you found this post useful, feel free to share the wealth: 1E35gTBmJzPNJ3v72DX4wu4YtvHTWqNRbM
wasabi (OP)
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 39
Merit: 0


View Profile
June 27, 2011, 07:10:26 PM
 #3

Thanks for confirming what I already know. You're so helpful. =)
wasabi (OP)
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 39
Merit: 0


View Profile
June 27, 2011, 07:25:58 PM
 #4

Anyways, I'm working on GPU mining. It will be added next. As I said up front, the main issue is to have it not running on the user's desktop. This software is designed to run as a Windows service, in the background. Deployment across a heterogeneous set of desktops is the goal.
themike5000
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 99
Merit: 10


View Profile
June 27, 2011, 07:40:14 PM
 #5

Anyways, I'm working on GPU mining. It will be added next. As I said up front, the main issue is to have it not running on the user's desktop. This software is designed to run as a Windows service, in the background. Deployment across a heterogeneous set of desktops is the goal.

I like what you are thinking.  Most people here focus on dedicated machines.  If you have access to a computer lab, but don't want to cripple the machines while people are using them, this is a good idea. 

Vertcoin: VdHjU3L2dcHCR3uQmqpM6mf4LCvp2678wh
DarthLordShirk
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1
Merit: 0


View Profile
May 04, 2013, 06:52:15 PM
 #6

Wasabi,
First off, let me say, masterful work.  I am impressed!
However I do have a question; I have tried running a build of the console application application (after changing the config to point to my own slush account, of course).  It works, keeping a steady 100-140MH/s on a GPU miner.  However, I am not seeing any activity being registered at slush; this makes me think my machine is either wasting work or is still working for you despite the change in the configuration.
Now, I tried changing to a dummy config and it did no work, which eliminates the second, I believe, so I don't think you're actually cheating me.
But I am curious as to why none of these millions of hashes is being accepted?
I really want this to work for a variety of reasons.  But I'm wondering if hashing through .NET might just be a dead end.
T
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!