Bitcoin Forum
October 20, 2017, 04:02:00 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.0.1  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: [SOLVED] Connect to bitcoind from outside  (Read 3308 times)
Soak
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 213



View Profile
June 26, 2011, 06:51:47 PM
 #1

Hello,

I have a dedicated server with a bitcoin daemon running somewhere on Internet. I try to reach it on another dedicated server (with JSON and PHP), the page loading for a while and nothing happen.

My bitcoin.conf file :
Quote
rpcuser=user
rpcpassword=pass
rpcallowip=client server IP
server=1
rpcport=8332

I launch daemon with ./bitcoind -daemon. ./bitcoind getinfo works.

curl http://user:pass@127.0.0.1:8332/ works.

Quote
admin@daemon:~$ curl http://user:pass@127.0.0.1:8332/
{"result":null,"error":{"code":-32700,"message":"Parse error"},"id":null}

curl http://user:pass@server daemon IP:8332/ don't work.

Quote
admin@daemon:~$ curl http://user:pass@server daemon IP:8332/
curl: (7) couldn't connect to host

Anybody can help me please?
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1508472120
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1508472120

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1508472120
Reply with quote  #2

1508472120
Report to moderator
JoelKatz
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1582


Democracy is vulnerable to a 51% attack.


View Profile WWW
June 26, 2011, 07:03:09 PM
 #2

Show us the 'netstat' line that shows the LISTENING socket on port 8332. Is it bound to 127.0.0.1?

I am an employee of Ripple. Follow me on Twitter @JoelKatz
1Joe1Katzci1rFcsr9HH7SLuHVnDy2aihZ BM-NBM3FRExVJSJJamV9ccgyWvQfratUHgN
Soak
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 213



View Profile
June 26, 2011, 07:06:52 PM
 #3

Show us the 'netstat' line that shows the LISTENING socket on port 8332. Is it bound to 127.0.0.1?

Quote
netstat
tcp        0      0 *:8332                  *:*                     LISTEN

Quote
netstat -an
tcp        0      0 0.0.0.0:8332            0.0.0.0:*               LISTEN

That's wrong? How I can modify that?
JoelKatz
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1582


Democracy is vulnerable to a 51% attack.


View Profile WWW
June 26, 2011, 07:17:02 PM
 #4

No, that's correct. Make sure the IP address you are connecting *from* is allowed in the conf file.

I am an employee of Ripple. Follow me on Twitter @JoelKatz
1Joe1Katzci1rFcsr9HH7SLuHVnDy2aihZ BM-NBM3FRExVJSJJamV9ccgyWvQfratUHgN
Soak
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 213



View Profile
June 26, 2011, 07:24:11 PM
 #5

No, that's correct. Make sure the IP address you are connecting *from* is allowed in the conf file.

Yes. The IP address in the conf file is correct. I added the server daemon "outside" IP in the conf file.

Quote
rpcallowip=client IP address
rpcallowip=server daemon IP address

Quote
admin@daemon:~$ curl http://user:pass@server daemon IP:8332/
curl: (7) couldn't connect to host

I don't know what to do now.. Sad
ShaggyB (BitCoinWorldMarket)
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 33


View Profile WWW
June 26, 2011, 07:31:57 PM
 #6

Do you have a firewall blocking incoming 8332 connections?

Finally a major marketplace to shop with Bitcoin! Over 10,000 products.    www.BitCoinWorldMarket.com
Soak
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 213



View Profile
June 26, 2011, 07:33:57 PM
 #7

Do you have a firewall blocking incoming 8332 connections?

How I can verify that please?
ShaggyB (BitCoinWorldMarket)
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 33


View Profile WWW
June 26, 2011, 07:35:40 PM
 #8

If you are on a windows box, go to control panels and firewall settings. You will likely have to create a rule for that port. If you are on a linux box or other, i cant help you. Google is your friend for that.

Finally a major marketplace to shop with Bitcoin! Over 10,000 products.    www.BitCoinWorldMarket.com
progre55
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 11


View Profile
June 26, 2011, 07:37:21 PM
 #9

what machine are you on? windows or linux?
Soak
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 213



View Profile
June 26, 2011, 07:39:36 PM
 #10

what machine are you on? windows or linux?

The daemon is currently running on Debian 6.0 64 bits.
progre55
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 11


View Profile
June 26, 2011, 07:48:24 PM
 #11

then to check if you have any port restrictions on your current machine
Code:
iptables -L
with more info on iptables, refer to https://help.ubuntu.com/community/IptablesHowTo

other than that, make sure you're not behind a corporate network, or amazon clouds or anything =)
Soak
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 213



View Profile
June 26, 2011, 07:51:25 PM
 #12

Code:
iptables -L

Quote
root@daemon:~# iptables -L
Chain INPUT (policy ACCEPT)
target     prot opt source               destination

Chain FORWARD (policy ACCEPT)
target     prot opt source               destination

Chain OUTPUT (policy ACCEPT)
target     prot opt source               destination
progre55
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 11


View Profile
June 26, 2011, 07:58:52 PM
 #13

well it means you dont have any rules..
btw, try telneting to your machine from outsite
Code:
telnet host port
and see if it accepts connections. If not, then there's definitely a firewall somewhere outside your own machine.
Soak
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 213



View Profile
June 26, 2011, 08:10:15 PM
 #14

Code:
telnet host port

Quote
soak@client:~$ telnet 88.191.128.82 8332
Trying 88.191.128.82...
Connected to 88.191.128.82.
Escape character is '^]'.
Connection closed by foreign host.
progre55
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 11


View Profile
June 26, 2011, 08:14:22 PM
 #15

Even I was able to connect to your server
Code:
progre55@progre55:~$ curl http://user:pass@88.191.128.82:8332/
{"result":null,"error":{"code":-32700,"message":"Parse error"},"id":null}

I dont see any problems.. so it's probably on your client side
Soak
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 213



View Profile
June 26, 2011, 08:20:39 PM
 #16

I dont see any problems.. so it's probably on your client side

Now that's works with rpcallowip=*.*.*.*, but don't with PHP and JSON.

Edit: Now it's ok since I explain my problem on the IRC channel of my hosting provider, by miracle the server is reachable on port 8332 (I don't give the IP of my server!). Awesome.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!