Bitcoin Forum
November 19, 2017, 08:23:45 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: PSU for 1060s/1070s?  (Read 182 times)
Tonto97
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4


View Profile
October 20, 2017, 08:27:40 PM
 #1

I am currently working on setting up a stand alone rig to mine.

Right now, I have 1 1060 6gb and I'm thinking of adding another 1060, or adding a 1070.

I may add more down the line if I happen to run across a good deal,  but for now I'm going to stick with just two.

I see lots of vids showing 1000wat + running 6 1060s/1070s, but I also see some running 750watt.

I'd like to buy a PSU for further down the line.

Would a 750watt be the best choice if i ever got to the point of running 6 mixmached 1060/1070?

Thanks for the help!

1511123025
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511123025

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511123025
Reply with quote  #2

1511123025
Report to moderator
1511123025
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511123025

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511123025
Reply with quote  #2

1511123025
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1511123025
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511123025

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511123025
Reply with quote  #2

1511123025
Report to moderator
1511123025
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511123025

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511123025
Reply with quote  #2

1511123025
Report to moderator
BTCMILLIONAIRE
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 686


Blocklancer - Freelance on the Blockchain


View Profile WWW
October 20, 2017, 08:57:47 PM
 #2

I recommend getting a 1000 Watt. Especially if you want to make sure it lasts. 750 Watt is extremely little for multi-GPU and without undervolting you likely won't be able to run any 6 GPUs on it.

Also make sure to buy a platinum rated PSU to further drop your electricity costs.

GMule
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42


View Profile
October 20, 2017, 10:06:35 PM
 #3

As mentioned the PSU efficiency is important if you are hitting it hard.  No point wasting cash if careful selection can help.  I'd also go big, or go home on the power output too.  No point making an unstable rig because its browing out.

⚡Semux - First Java-based BFT Blockchain
Tonto97
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4


View Profile
October 20, 2017, 10:09:46 PM
 #4

Yeah, I was worried a 1k was going to be the answer..

What would you suggest for running 3 and also 4?

I'm just trying to get an idea of the range between them.

I see what they pull, but If I go by that, a 750 will only run 2.

Thanks!
BTCMILLIONAIRE
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 686


Blocklancer - Freelance on the Blockchain


View Profile WWW
October 20, 2017, 10:16:23 PM
 #5

Yeah, I was worried a 1k was going to be the answer..

What would you suggest for running 3 and also 4?

I'm just trying to get an idea of the range between them.

I see what they pull, but If I go by that, a 750 will only run 2.

Thanks!
Just go with the 1000 Watt PSU. Then you won't have to get a new one when you get more GPUs. The difference is only about $100, which is nothing compared to the cost of GPUs. Also, PSUs last for a very long time, so you can just keep using it almost indefinitely.

Also when it comes to mining, a 600 Watt PSU will have trouble running a single card (can crash easily). So 750 Watt would be pretty close for 2 cards or more.

dothebeats
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1274


Hire me as your Morty!


View Profile WWW
October 20, 2017, 11:22:08 PM
 #6

If you'd be adding cards along the way, why not get a safe 1000-watt PSU? In this case, more headroom for your machine and a lot of room for upgrades in case you want to expand. But if strictly 2 cards for a long time, a 750-watt PSU is more than enough for your needs. I'd recommend Seasonic or EVGA PSUs since their are pretty known for their stability and quality.

ahmedjamal1998
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 532


MatrixCoin - Creating Bright Future Together


View Profile WWW
October 20, 2017, 11:32:01 PM
 #7

Yeah, I was worried a 1k was going to be the answer..

What would you suggest for running 3 and also 4?

I'm just trying to get an idea of the range between them.

I see what they pull, but If I go by that, a 750 will only run 2.

Thanks!

I run 3 gtx 1060s on a single 750w corsair PSU and I can definitely add another one.
So basically the maximum I recommend to run is four cards of 1060 (I don't how much 1070s pull).

I actually went for the idea of two separate 750 psus since I didn't have the money to buy all six cards when I started mining.


██████████.......█████......
████████████.....███████.....
███....█████.....███████.....
███....█████.....███████.....
████....██████...█████████....
██████......██████████...█████████....
█████......██████......████....██...█████████....
█████......██████......████....███.███████████...
█████......██████......████....███.███████████...
███...................█████████████████.███████████...
███..███..█████.......██████████.████████████.█████████..
███..█████.......██████████.████████████.█████████..
█████.......██████████.████████████.█████████..
██████......███...███████████...██████████.
██████......███...███████████...██████████.
██████......███...███████████...██████████.
██████......██.....█████████.....██████████
██████████.....█████████.....██████████
██████████.....█████████.....██████████
   
██
█  ██  █
█  ██  █
█  ██  █
█  ██  █
█  ██  █
█  ██  █
█  ██  █

█  ██  █

█  ██  █

█  ██  █

█  ██  █

██
   
██
█  ██  █
█  ██  █
█  ██  █
█  ██  █
█  ██  █
█  ██  █
█  ██  █

█  ██  █

█  ██  █

█  ██  █

█  ██  █

██
   
➤  TWITTER
➤  FACEBOOK
➤  INSTAGRAM
STT
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1540



View Profile WWW
October 21, 2017, 01:39:49 AM
 #8

^^ I like that idea of two psu and you can connect them to supply the machine.   Its definitely possible to do this but you need connectors to synchronise them, usually they are sold together but Im sure its also possible to just build along the way.

For single PSU I agree with people saying 1000w even though its likely not needed so much for even multiple nvidia cards.   Most mining is not done by maxing out card wattage like a game might but actually trying to get the most efficient sweet spot in hash to watts used.   So I most setups using quite low amounts, nvidia tends to use less then amd also.

Another factor is the quality of PSU, if you can get a gold or platnium psu it will help reduce bills as it requires less energy from the socket in order to provide that 1000 watts or less to the machine.



                                         ▄
                 ▄▄████████▄▄         ▄▄██
 ▄▄           ▄██▀▀        ▀▀██▄    ▄███▀
 ▀███▄▄     ▄█▀                ▀█▄▄█████▀
  ▀██████▄▄█▀                ▄▄███████▀
   ▐█████████▄           ▄▄███████████
     ▀█████████▄▄      ▄█████████████
       ▀██████████    ███████████████
        ▐▀█████████  █████████████▀ ▐▌
        ▐▌ ▀▀██████ ▐███████████▀   ▐▌
        ▐▌      ▀██ ▐█████████▀     ▐▌
         █        ▀  ██████         █
         ▐█          ▐█████▄       █▌
          ▀█▄         ▀██████▄   ▄█▀
            ▀█▄         ▀█████▌▄█▀
              ▀██▄▄       ▀▄▄██▀
                ▀▀████████▀▀
T
....ANGEL TOKEN....


                                         ▄
                 ▄▄████████▄▄         ▄▄██
 ▄▄           ▄██▀▀        ▀▀██▄    ▄█▀█▀ 
 ▀█▀█▄▄     ▄█▀                ▀█▄▄█  ▄█▀ 
  ▀█  ▀▀█▄▄█▀                ▄▄██░   █▀   
   ▐▄▄  ░░░▀█▄           ▄▄█▀▀░░░   ▄█    
     ▀█▄ ░░░▒▒█▄▄      ▄██▒▒▒▒▒░    █     
       ▀▄▄ ░░▒▒▒▓█    ██▒▒▒▒▒▒░   ▄▄█     
        ▐▀█▄░░▒▒▓██  █▓▒▒▒▒▒▒░  ▄█▀ ▐▌    
        ▐▌ ▀▀█▒▓███░▐█▓▒▒▒▒░░ ▄█▀   ▐▌    
        ▐▌      ▀██ ▐█▓▓▒▒▄▄▄█▀     ▐▌    
         █        ▀  █▓█▀▀█         █     
         ▐█          ▐▄▓░ █▄       █▌     
          ▀█▄         ▀█▒░ ▀█▄   ▄█▀      
            ▀█▄         ▀█▄▄▄█▌▄█▀        
              ▀██▄▄       ▀▄▄██▀          
                 ▀▀████████▀▀             

BTCMILLIONAIRE
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 686


Blocklancer - Freelance on the Blockchain


View Profile WWW
October 21, 2017, 01:40:34 AM
 #9

Yeah, I was worried a 1k was going to be the answer..

What would you suggest for running 3 and also 4?

I'm just trying to get an idea of the range between them.

I see what they pull, but If I go by that, a 750 will only run 2.

Thanks!

I run 3 gtx 1060s on a single 750w corsair PSU and I can definitely add another one.
So basically the maximum I recommend to run is four cards of 1060 (I don't how much 1070s pull).

I actually went for the idea of two separate 750 psus since I didn't have the money to buy all six cards when I started mining.
I think 1070s draw significantly more power than 1060s. Not really sure though since I've been using AMD cards.

Tonto97
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4


View Profile
October 21, 2017, 06:19:00 PM
 #10

I've poured my free time looking into PSUs, and I wanna bounce off my finding to y'all.

"Supposedly" their efficiency only starts to kick in when they're 50% under load. Some actually are advising running two PSUs instead of just 1 "if" you are starting out with 2/3 outta 6.

Another difference is between Gold and Platinum. I see quite a few say that their is little difference, or "not" much different between the 2. 2% worth the plat between the gold?

Any thoughts?
BTCMILLIONAIRE
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 686


Blocklancer - Freelance on the Blockchain


View Profile WWW
October 21, 2017, 07:40:26 PM
 #11

I've poured my free time looking into PSUs, and I wanna bounce off my finding to y'all.

"Supposedly" their efficiency only starts to kick in when they're 50% under load. Some actually are advising running two PSUs instead of just 1 "if" you are starting out with 2/3 outta 6.

Another difference is between Gold and Platinum. I see quite a few say that their is little difference, or "not" much different between the 2. 2% worth the plat between the gold?

Any thoughts?
Whether or not 2.2% is worth it depends on how much your electricity costs and on how much electricty (and thus how many rigs) you plan to use. You'll have to do some calculations to figure this out for your case.

Keep in mind that you will definitely lose money by upgrading later if you choose to slowly ramp up to a larger mining farm.

So find out how many mining rigs you would need to use to make the 2.2% decrease in electricity cost negate the increased costs of the PSUs and then decide if that amount of rigs is something that you would like to own in the future.

Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!