Bitcoin Forum
March 26, 2017, 08:54:04 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.14.0  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: unexpected halt of generation  (Read 1230 times)
grondilu
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1134


View Profile
December 16, 2010, 11:22:43 AM
 #1


I'm running bitcoind version 0.3.19

I've noticed that generation halts for unknown reason.

"getinfo" tells me

"generate" : false,


Yet I've never runned bitcoind setgenerate false (as far as I know).
1490561644
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1490561644

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1490561644
Reply with quote  #2

1490561644
Report to moderator
The block chain is the main innovation of Bitcoin. It is the first distributed timestamping system.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1490561644
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1490561644

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1490561644
Reply with quote  #2

1490561644
Report to moderator
nelisky
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1554


View Profile
December 16, 2010, 11:33:38 AM
 #2

Did you start with a fresh wallet at any time? That property is stored (along with everything else and the cat) there.
grondilu
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1134


View Profile
December 16, 2010, 11:37:58 AM
 #3

Did you start with a fresh wallet at any time? That property is stored (along with everything else and the cat) there.

No, I haven't modified my wallet.  However I've noticed that "generate" is put back to "false" each time I restart bitcoind.
Gavin Andresen
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1652


Chief Scientist


View Profile WWW
December 16, 2010, 02:44:33 PM
 #4

Do you have gen=something in your bitcoin.conf?

How often do you get the chance to work on a potentially world-changing project?
grondilu
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1134


View Profile
December 16, 2010, 11:19:48 PM
 #5

Do you have gen=something in your bitcoin.conf?


No, I don't.  There is only the rpcpassword line.
Gavin Andresen
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1652


Chief Scientist


View Profile WWW
December 16, 2010, 11:42:09 PM
 #6

Weird.  Are you on Linux or Mac?  If you are, grab my bitcointools and run
  ./dbdump.py --wallet

... then look for:

nLimitProcessors:
  and
fGenerateBitcoins:

How often do you get the chance to work on a potentially world-changing project?
grondilu
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1134


View Profile
December 16, 2010, 11:55:04 PM
 #7

Weird.  Are you on Linux or Mac?  If you are, grab my bitcointools and run

I don't knwow github well.  Is there a tarball somewhere ?
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!