Bitcoin Forum
September 23, 2018, 09:33:57 AM *
News: ♦♦ New info! Bitcoin Core users absolutely must upgrade to previously-announced 0.16.3 [Torrent]. All Bitcoin users should temporarily trust confirmations slightly less. More info.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Should cgminer need different settings for different coins of same algorythm?  (Read 1094 times)
woodrake
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 153
Merit: 100



View Profile WWW
June 11, 2013, 02:40:23 PM
 #1


Hey peeps,

I've got a weird problem. I've a rig which is quite happy mining LTC using scrypt but when I switch to FTC it dies after a few hours. I am using exactly the same settings, just different pools. My assumption has always been that what works with cgminer for one scrypt coin should work for all scrypt coins, and likewise with SHA256. In other words I should only have to tune each rig for SHA256 and scrypt, then I can point them at whatever flavour of coin I like. Is this not the case?

Kate.

1537695237
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1537695237

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1537695237
Reply with quote  #2

1537695237
Report to moderator
1537695237
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1537695237

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1537695237
Reply with quote  #2

1537695237
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
TheSpiral
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 182
Merit: 100



View Profile WWW
June 12, 2013, 12:23:04 AM
 #2

That's right, generally. Some different settings might be needed for brand new coins in Orphan City mode (like Expiry 1, Queue 0, Scantime 1), but past that point all settings should be the same. If you have -I 12 --thread-concurrency 8192 for one scrypt coin, you'll have -I 12 for --thread-concurrency for any other scrypt coin.
Only thing that changes and MIGHT cause isssues would be difficulty with the coin/pool. Nothing that should crash the card, though, just maybe have extra rejects.

[Cex.io] - Cheap virtual mining.
woodrake
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 153
Merit: 100



View Profile WWW
June 12, 2013, 06:14:20 AM
 #3

That's right, generally. Some different settings might be needed for brand new coins in Orphan City mode (like Expiry 1, Queue 0, Scantime 1), but past that point all settings should be the same. If you have -I 12 --thread-concurrency 8192 for one scrypt coin, you'll have -I 12 for --thread-concurrency for any other scrypt coin.
Only thing that changes and MIGHT cause isssues would be difficulty with the coin/pool. Nothing that should crash the card, though, just maybe have extra rejects.

I do run my machines quite close to their limits so perhaps it is just the additional load of small blocks / more rejects from FTC that was causing it. Also, FTC was/is being attacked so that could cause subtle differences in the workload I guess.

Anyway, thanks for confirming what I thought re. scrypt is scrypt. Smiley

Kate.

Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!