Bitcoin Forum
December 16, 2017, 05:01:53 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: [GPU Problems] PCI 1x doesnt recognize GPUs while 16x via risers does  (Read 158 times)
_urbs_
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3


View Profile
October 30, 2017, 01:43:44 AM
 #1

I’ve been mining crypto for a few months without a problem. A 1 GPU system isnt really worth the inefficiency so I decided to upgrade. I got a good price on two more RX470s and a GTX1070. Here is my current functional setup:

MB: ASRock H81 Pro BTC R2.0
CPU: Intel Pentium G3260
GPU: Sapphire Radeon RX470
RAM: 1 x 8gb stick of some kind
PSU: Corsair AX1200i
HD: Intel 180gb SSD
Risers: Powered -- 6 x eBay (SATA connection), 2 x local vendor (Molex connection)

I have tested each of the risers and GPUs successfully on the 16x PCIE slot and they all work. I have an HDMI cord plugged into the 16x slot (whether or not there is a riser this works). This leads me to believe that the problem has something to do with the MB and not the risers themselves. Here is what I’ve tried:

•   Removing the MB battery
•   Resetting CMOS (many, many times)
•   Disconnecting SSD
•   Using both and only one of the MB 4-pin molex power connectors
•   Both Linux and Windows 10 to rule out OS problem
•   In BIOS:
           o   Changing PCI to Gen1 from Auto
           o   Choosing PCIE as default instead of onboard
           o   Disabling IGPU
•   Dummy HDMI in GPUs attached to 1x risers
•   Everything is plugged into the proper spot on the PSU
•   Same processes on GTX1070
•   Installing several different versions of AMD drivers including the mining edition

Question:
•   Is it possible that different risers of USB 3.0 cords could fix my problem?
•   Do I need to jump the 1x slots?
•   Anything else I haven’t tried?

The fan on the GPUs that arent recognized don’t spin, but the unit heats up.

Tl;dr my risers all work fine in the 16x PCIE but don’t work in the 1x despite the trying the bulleted suggestions and therefore cannot get more than 1 GPU recognized on my rig

Please excuse the rat’s nest of cords.

Thanks for the help


https://ibb.co/jTv90m
https://ibb.co/kxEPY6
https://ibb.co/hneDRR
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1513443713
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513443713

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513443713
Reply with quote  #2

1513443713
Report to moderator
1513443713
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513443713

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513443713
Reply with quote  #2

1513443713
Report to moderator
1513443713
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513443713

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513443713
Reply with quote  #2

1513443713
Report to moderator
Agozyen
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 266


Until the end


View Profile
October 30, 2017, 02:34:49 AM
 #2

EDIT:  At the top because I re-read the post.  I missed the part about the cards working on 16X.  It's late, sorry.

Sounds like the slot is defective.  Update the BIOS.  More than likely you will need a new Motherboard.  You can try swapping memory sticks around (see below) but I don't think that will have any effect.  If you have a 1X card like a sound card or something you can see if that works.  Have  you tried all the 1X slots assuming you have more than 1?

End Edit.

*****************


Bullets 1,2,3 are unnecessary.

As a general rule of thumb, if the device was working in Windows/Linux and suddenly stops, it is not a BIOS issue.  Disconnecting the SSD has no relevance if your OS loads.

Steps you may have missed -

Have you checked the power supply or tried a different one?  If you don't already have a power supply tester, get one.  They are inexpensive and will save you time.

Do the devices show up in Device Manager for Windows?  

Have you tried the cards in a different computer?

If all the above fail, power down, remove all graphics cards, enable Integrated Graphics and boot up.  Once booted (to verify that your onboard video works) power down again and insert each card, one at a time, into a known good slot.  If all cards work then try reinstalling all the cards again.

The problem with multiple card is you have the PCIe risers in addition to the card.  This makes tracking down bugs like this a hassle.


It's a longshot, but check your RAM.  If you have two sticks try just one.

Reply with results if you can.





                          ▄▄███████████████████▄▄
                      ██████▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀██████
                  ██████                          ██████
               █████                                  █████
             █████                                      █████
           ████                                            ████
         ████                                                ████
       ████                                                    ████
      ████                                                      ████
     ████                                                        ████
    ████                                                          ████
   ████            ███████████████     ███████████████             ████
  ████             ▀ █████████████▌   ▄▀ █████████████▌             ████
 ▐███             ▄▄ ▐█████████████  ███ ▐█████████████              ███▌
 ████            ▐██▌ █████████████▌ ███▌ █████████████▌             ████
 ███             ████ ▐█████████████ ▐███ ▐█████████████              ███
▐███            ▐████▌ █████████████▌ ███▌ █████████████▌             ███▌
▐███            ██████ ▐█████████████ ▐███ ▐█████████████             ███▌
▐███           ▐██████▌ █████████████▌ ███▌ █████████████▌            ███▌
▐███           ████████ ▐█████████████ ▐███ ▐█████████████            ███▌
▐███          ▐████████▌ █████████████▌ ███▌ █████████████▌           ███▌
▐███          ██████████ ▐█████████████ ▐███ ▐█████████████           ███▌
▐███         ▐██████████▌ █████████████▌ ███▌ █████████████▌          ███▌
▐███         ████████████ ▐█████████████ ▐███ ▐█████████████          ███▌
 ███        ▐████████████  █████████████▌ ███  █████████████▌         ███
 ████       █████████████  ▐█████████████ ▐██▌ ▐█████████████        ████
 ▐███      ▐█████████████   █████████████▌ ██   █████████████▌       ███▌
  ████     █████████████▌   ▐█████████████      ▐█████████████      ████
   ████    █████████████     █████████████▌      █████████████▌    ████
    ████                                                          ████
     ████                                                        ████
      ████                                                      ████
       ████                                                   █████
         ████                                                ████
           ████                                            ████
             █████                                      █████
               █████                                  █████
                  ██████                          ██████
                      ██████▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄██████
                          ▀▀███████████████████▀▀
 
Monaize
|
 
|
 
 



 
_urbs_
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3


View Profile
October 30, 2017, 06:27:43 AM
 #3

EDIT:  At the top because I re-read the post.  I missed the part about the cards working on 16X.  It's late, sorry.

Sounds like the slot is defective.  Update the BIOS.  More than likely you will need a new Motherboard.  You can try swapping memory sticks around (see below) but I don't think that will have any effect.  If you have a 1X card like a sound card or something you can see if that works.  Have  you tried all the 1X slots assuming you have more than 1?

End Edit.

*****************


My BIOS is updated (assuming the internet flashing utility actually functions). I have tried 3/4 of the 1x slots and nothing. I have tried every slot of the PSU and it isn't the problem. Whichever GPU is plugged into the 16x slot shows up in device manager, none of the others do.

I don't have access to another desktop, but the cards all work in the 16x slot. The integrated graphics works okay. My problem is that the only known good slot is the 16x.  I'll try the memory stick trick.

I think I will call ASRock tomorrow to try to get a new MB. Thanks for the help.
_urbs_
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3


View Profile
October 31, 2017, 02:14:00 AM
 #4

New USB 3.0 cords do not solve problem. New risers arriving tomorrow, and a new MB the day after. Will update if any of this solves the problem. If not, I likely have a bad MB.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!