Bitcoin Forum
December 18, 2017, 06:49:47 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Anyone tried this setup?  (Read 385 times)
rizabbasi
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 142


View Profile
October 30, 2017, 05:54:59 AM
 #1

Hi,

How about the idea of using different brands like ASUS, GIGABYTE, ASUS, GALAX etc. (one card each) of 10xx nomenclature on a rig. Anyone tried that? Any experiences? Pros? Cons?.

Regards,

Rizwan

I am really thankful to BitcoinTalk community for helping me. I am not a hardware person. You great people always shown a way for any query, concern, or issue that I posted here.
THANK YOU ALL!
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
umine
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 168


Startima.io ― Lottery & Betting Platform


View Profile
October 30, 2017, 06:17:32 AM
 #2



Different brands, different models. No problems, works well for months.
MoBo ASUS Prime Z270A (GPUs in 7 PCIe + 1 M.2 slots)

rizabbasi
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 142


View Profile
October 30, 2017, 06:22:19 AM
 #3



Different brands, different models. No problems, works well for months.
MoBo ASUS Prime Z270A (GPUs in 7 PCIe + 1 M.2 slots)


Thanks. Any compromises on hash rate? Are you still using this setup?

I am really thankful to BitcoinTalk community for helping me. I am not a hardware person. You great people always shown a way for any query, concern, or issue that I posted here.
THANK YOU ALL!
umine
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 168


Startima.io ― Lottery & Betting Platform


View Profile
October 30, 2017, 06:35:19 AM
 #4

Now the rig is on Equihash:


Note: Gigabyte 1080 TURBO is not the best choise - it's cheap but hotter about 10 degree. For 1080 chip 3-slot cooling system is right choise (like Palit JS,SJS,GR,GRP; Giga Aorus; etc)

rizabbasi
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 142


View Profile
October 30, 2017, 06:47:47 AM
 #5

Now the rig is on Equihash:


Note: Gigabyte 1080 TURBO is not the best choise - it's cheap but hotter about 10 degree. For 1080 chip 3-slot cooling system is right choise (like Palit JS,SJS,GR,GRP; Giga Aorus; etc)

Thanks. I noticed that you are using 97x and 10xx. Does 9 and 10 series work seamlessly or you had to use some tool or do some configuration?

I am really thankful to BitcoinTalk community for helping me. I am not a hardware person. You great people always shown a way for any query, concern, or issue that I posted here.
THANK YOU ALL!
dangful
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 84

Moirai ICO starts on 10/11/2017


View Profile
October 30, 2017, 07:09:42 AM
 #6

It is possible as long as the motherboard recognize each card in any brand with no problem. As long as each device also has valid driver for full functionality.

rizabbasi
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 142


View Profile
October 30, 2017, 07:20:16 AM
 #7

It is possible as long as the motherboard recognize each card in any brand with no problem. As long as each device also has valid driver for full functionality.

Thanks, great! BTW is it possible to mix and matching NVIDAs and AMDs?

I am really thankful to BitcoinTalk community for helping me. I am not a hardware person. You great people always shown a way for any query, concern, or issue that I posted here.
THANK YOU ALL!
umine
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 168


Startima.io ― Lottery & Betting Platform


View Profile
October 30, 2017, 07:24:04 AM
 #8


Thanks. I noticed that you are using 97x and 10xx. Does 9 and 10 series work seamlessly or you had to use some tool or do some configuration?

970 and 10xx series work well together. All cards downvolted and overclocked by MSI AB. But for Maxwell cards (9xx) you can't set voltage-core frequency curve, on the other side you can edit BIOS for 9xx cards and reach the same result

shibob
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 140



View Profile
October 30, 2017, 08:20:51 AM
 #9

Now the rig is on Equihash:


Note: Gigabyte 1080 TURBO is not the best choise - it's cheap but hotter about 10 degree. For 1080 chip 3-slot cooling system is right choise (like Palit JS,SJS,GR,GRP; Giga Aorus; etc)

Hi Umine,

How do you know which card is hashing on summary board (--pec), for example GPU1&3/2&5 are quite same on hashrate? It's not relative with device manager list right?

Thanks in advance!

                                                                                 Fully scalable freelancing market    ✔︎     ǀ      Follow us & check our whitepaper 
C R Y P T O T A S K     ǀ     Decentralized task market     ǀ     Low fees - no limits - task market    ✔︎     ǀ                                                                           
                                                                                           Earn money by being a reviewer     ✔︎     ǀ      Website    Announcement    Twitter    Facebook
umine
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 168


Startima.io ― Lottery & Betting Platform


View Profile
October 30, 2017, 08:49:42 AM
 #10


Hi Umine,

How do you know which card is hashing on summary board (--pec), for example GPU1&3/2&5 are quite same on hashrate? It's not relative with device manager list right?

Thanks in advance!

Yes there is no agreement between device manager GPU order and mining software GPU order.
I overclocked them separatelly. I started mining only on the GPU0 and clocked it by MSI AB then on GPU1 and so on. And finaly I identified all GPUs in the rig

jmigdlc99
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 252



View Profile
October 30, 2017, 09:01:58 AM
 #11

As the previous posters already pointed out, this should work fine without any problems. Especially now that windows 1709 has come out as a version that allows you to exceed the initial 8 GPU limit.

I myself am actually running a hybrid AMD-NVIDIA mining rig. RX470/480 and GTX 1060/170s. All have been mining flawlessly for three (3) months now.


▄▄▄████████▄▄▄
▄▄███▀▀▀ ▄  ▄ ▀▀▀███▄▄
▄██▀▀ ▄▄████  ████▄▄ ▀▀██▄
▄██▀ ▄███████    ███████▄ ▀██▄
██▀ ▄████████▀    ▀████████▄ ▀██
██▀ ██████████      ██████████ ▀██
██▀ ██████████        ██████████ ▀██
▄██                                ██▄
██ ▄                              ▄ ██
██ ███▄                        ▄███ ██
██ ██████▄                  ▄██████ ██
██ ▀████████              ████████▀ ██
▀██ ███████                ███████ ██▀
██▄ █████▀                ▀█████ ▄██
██▄ ████        ▄▄        ████ ▄██
██▄ ▀█      ▄▄████▄▄      █▀ ▄██
██▄    ▄▄██████████▄▄    ▄██▀
▀██▄▄ ▀▀██████████▀▀ ▄▄██▀
▀▀███▄▄▄ ▀▀▀▀ ▄▄▄███▀▀
▀▀▀████████▀▀▀
 

    [    ]
sigtmerchant
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 72


View Profile
October 30, 2017, 09:31:33 AM
 #12

The only con I see in a setup like this is having to set up each card's overclocking parameters separately.
cryptobaht
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 63


View Profile
October 30, 2017, 09:32:45 AM
 #13

The only con I see in a setup like this is having to set up each card's overclocking parameters separately.

No other hidden stones like driver trouble etc?
sigtmerchant
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 72


View Profile
October 30, 2017, 09:34:26 AM
 #14

The only con I see in a setup like this is having to set up each card's overclocking parameters separately.

No other hidden stones like driver trouble etc?

Not really, Nvidia drivers should work fine.
cryptobaht
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 63


View Profile
October 30, 2017, 09:35:31 AM
 #15

The only con I see in a setup like this is having to set up each card's overclocking parameters separately.

No other hidden stones like driver trouble etc?

Not really, Nvidia drivers should work fine.

Thank you.
RealSwissMiner
Member
**
Online Online

Activity: 70


View Profile WWW
October 30, 2017, 09:52:31 AM
 #16

I found my rig to become rather slow with AMD and nvidia drivers installed. That’s why I stated before to better not mix cross brands.

GRAFT ║║║ Decentralized Universal Payment Processor ║║║ GRAFT
ANNOUNCEMENT THREAD▬║║║▬ICO STARTS ON JAN 18, 2018
▬▬▬▬▬▮ TwitterFacebookTelegramReddit ▮▬▬▬▬▬
shibob
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 140



View Profile
October 30, 2017, 10:56:14 AM
 #17


Hi Umine,

How do you know which card is hashing on summary board (--pec), for example GPU1&3/2&5 are quite same on hashrate? It's not relative with device manager list right?

Thanks in advance!

Yes there is no agreement between device manager GPU order and mining software GPU order.
I overclocked them separatelly. I started mining only on the GPU0 and clocked it by MSI AB then on GPU1 and so on. And finaly I identified all GPUs in the rig

Thank you very much!
I tried this before, but it didnt work for me. Then finally I just overclocked a bit for all cards. 

                                                                                 Fully scalable freelancing market    ✔︎     ǀ      Follow us & check our whitepaper 
C R Y P T O T A S K     ǀ     Decentralized task market     ǀ     Low fees - no limits - task market    ✔︎     ǀ                                                                           
                                                                                           Earn money by being a reviewer     ✔︎     ǀ      Website    Announcement    Twitter    Facebook
Sir.bond378
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 35


View Profile
October 30, 2017, 08:07:39 PM
 #18

I dont think so.. If we want using different brands just try it, and we will knows how many percen progress that brands.
Phantoms001
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126


View Profile
October 31, 2017, 05:12:55 AM
 #19

The only con I see in a setup like this is having to set up each card's overclocking parameters separately.

No other hidden stones like driver trouble etc?

Not really, Nvidia drivers should work fine.

Nvidia uses the same driver package for the 9xx series and 10xx series.  You are only installing 1 driver package.
szafa
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 448



View Profile
October 31, 2017, 06:28:18 AM
 #20

First i see something,wow.


███
███
███
███
███
███
███
███
███
███
███
███


███
███
███
███
███
███
███
███
███
███
███
███
...........
███
███
███
███
███
███
███
███
███
███
███
███
.
Facebook
Twitter
Telegram
)
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!