Bitcoin Forum
December 10, 2016, 03:11:09 PM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Bincoin miner as a windows service  (Read 2235 times)
Redemption.man
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 6


View Profile
June 27, 2011, 08:01:45 PM
 #1

I've been trying to setup a miner as a windows service, but the service won't start it just times out. If I run the command the service is trying to run It works no problem. Just wondering if there is something I'm missing. I've double checked the user that the service is run by if I mis type the password I get an error about the credentials.
1481382669
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481382669

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481382669
Reply with quote  #2

1481382669
Report to moderator
1481382669
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481382669

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481382669
Reply with quote  #2

1481382669
Report to moderator
1481382669
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481382669

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481382669
Reply with quote  #2

1481382669
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
Jerle
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 12


View Profile
June 27, 2011, 09:43:15 PM
 #2

What miner are you using?
deepceleron
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1470



View Profile WWW
June 27, 2011, 11:33:03 PM
 #3

You can set up a scheduled task to run the miner. Set the task to run every few hours to be sure that the miner stays up.
If you have the scheduled task use a different user account, you won't have to see the miner running on your desktop.

lordbuggie
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 25


View Profile
June 27, 2011, 11:38:52 PM
 #4

I agree with the scheduled task option.  Just make a batch file and put your whole command in that, then point the scheduled task at the batch file.
Redemption.man
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 6


View Profile
June 28, 2011, 08:56:52 AM
 #5

alot of the PC's i have access to are turned on at all times of the day, so i have to setup a few scheduled tasks to make sure its running. to stop more that one miner running at a time i have used the following batch file which checks for a the miner running before opening it again. you will need to change miner.exe to the name of the file name of the miner your running.

Code:
tasklist /FI "IMAGENAME eq miner.exe" 2>NUL | find /I /N "miner.exe">NUL
if "%ERRORLEVEL%"=="0" GOTO end

<Insert command to run miner here>

:end

hope this is useful to some one
ottoxgam
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 9


View Profile
July 08, 2011, 02:55:06 AM
 #6

Thanks for the coding to check to see if there was more than 1 running. I have this deployed off a server using pstools to open my miner on around 28 pcs every night
ned123
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 9


View Profile
July 11, 2011, 11:47:07 AM
 #7

I've tried everything as OP.
I just cannot run Diablo Miner (fastest for me) on Windows as a service (service cannot start) or as a scheduled task (runs batch/direct command and just exits).
Anybody succeeded in running Diablo Miner without logged on user or it is impossible? Linux is an option, but I'll try to avoid it until I setup dedicated miner, and recently I have a lot of power outages Smiley
infogulch
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3


View Profile
July 22, 2011, 06:50:32 PM
 #8

You can't run any GPU code as a service as of vista/7 due to session 0 isolation:

http://www.scribd.com/doc/58343489/Windows-Session-0-Isolation-Impact-on-GPU-as-Service

1MZ9VikkRfziY8zGSDwDPBZJzmGiYXckey
xus
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 41


View Profile
July 22, 2011, 07:19:02 PM
 #9

Look it this:

http://www.sw4me.com/wiki/Winserv

this works perfectly for creating a service for windows.
but be aware that only non gui applications can run as a service..

best regards

If you like my Post please donate: BTC 1KY3RfdVFspD2g2H1jsqfhbE6qcRRqBQmg LTC LczjYHWVgqo4vvRBZjpiEmxhUUoD8kirwZ StableCoin sQJ4hgU3tTdnJ3F36QZTqAnCVzp6FLnobH
PLaci1982
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 168


Live long and prosper. \\//,


View Profile
July 22, 2011, 10:59:28 PM
 #10

Seting up a service under WinXP/Vista/7:

http://support.microsoft.com/kb/251192

You can donate some if it was helpfull Wink

You can't run any GPU code as a service as of vista/7 due to session 0 isolation:

http://www.scribd.com/doc/58343489/Windows-Session-0-Isolation-Impact-on-GPU-as-Service

WinXP FTW!  Grin

Hardware Expert / WinXP, Win7 Expert

1J5oPkyGVdb4mv44KGZQYsHS2ch6e1t4rc
infogulch
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3


View Profile
July 22, 2011, 11:46:55 PM
 #11

@Placi1982 lol

Btw, I had some luck using: psexec -i -u username -p password poclbm.exe ......

Switches are: interactive, username, and password. Use admin cred. Defaults to current comptuer. It doesn't work so well when someone is logged on, but I was trying to set as an idle-triggered scheduled task anyways.

1MZ9VikkRfziY8zGSDwDPBZJzmGiYXckey
cdnadvis
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 10


View Profile
July 23, 2011, 02:23:55 AM
 #12

alot of the PC's i have access to are turned on at all times of the day, so i have to setup a few scheduled tasks to make sure its running. to stop more that one miner running at a time i have used the following batch file which checks for a the miner running before opening it again. you will need to change miner.exe to the name of the file name of the miner your running.

Code:
tasklist /FI "IMAGENAME eq miner.exe" 2>NUL | find /I /N "miner.exe">NUL
if "%ERRORLEVEL%"=="0" GOTO end

<Insert command to run miner here>

:end

hope this is useful to some one

That was really helpful. Thanks a lot.
btcdeep
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 17


View Profile
August 29, 2012, 03:50:35 PM
 #13

(sorry for resurrecting and old thread, but this is one that I keep running into doing searches on the topic)

So, have people had success in getting scheduled tasks to start miners? I've been having the damnedest time. I love Redemption.man's batch file example and it works great when running it manually, but as any sort of scheduled task I can never get any mining to actually take place. When using a scheduled task, I can see that the miner starts, but upon checking GPU load I can see that no mining is taking place.  I am using poclbm, but will use any miner that works better with scheduled tasks if anybody can point me in the right direction. Here's the batch I run (run.vbs is commands to launch a given prompt hidden and run.bat is the commands to run poclbm username/password/flags)

Code:
tasklist /FI "IMAGENAME eq poclbm.exe" 2>NUL | find /I /N "poclbm.exe">NUL
if "%ERRORLEVEL%"=="0" GOTO end

wscript "c:\xyz\run.vbs" "c:\xyz\run.bat"

:end
edit: running Windows 7 x64, by the way.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!