Bitcoin Forum
May 27, 2017, 12:48:25 AM *
News: If the forum does not load normally for you, please send me a traceroute.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: x16-x16 riser cable NOT to by  (Read 9614 times)
drknark
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28


View Profile
June 27, 2011, 09:19:48 PM
 #1

I bought some cables from http://www.b2c-support.com/pcie-pciexpress-16x-riser-card-extender-ribbon-cable-p-4154.html.

The first two out of the five I tried refused to recognize the card. The third one however, is when it gets really interesting.. I plugged it in, standard procedure. Made sure there was no possibility of shortcircuiting the exposed (why exposed?) contact points.

So I'm all set up and ready to go. I flip the PSU into on, and hit the power button. First I noticed some really thin smoke, it was barely visible. Then the smell of burning plastic and suddenly a lot more smoke. This is what I pulled out:

http://i1081.photobucket.com/albums/j349/drknark/IMG_0517.jpg

Luckily all my hardware survived. Since their support ignored me I had to issue a paypal dispute to get my money back. So don't buy cables from that site Smiley I would even be wary of similar looking cables at other sites, might be the same manufacturer.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1495846105
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1495846105

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1495846105
Reply with quote  #2

1495846105
Report to moderator
1495846105
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1495846105

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1495846105
Reply with quote  #2

1495846105
Report to moderator
SlaveInDebt
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 701


Your Minion


View Profile
June 27, 2011, 10:06:03 PM
 #2

Single ribbon, most use dual.

"A banker is a fellow who lends you his umbrella when the sun is shining, but wants it back the minute it begins to rain." - Mark Twain
crazybernie
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 23


View Profile
June 28, 2011, 01:58:02 PM
 #3

*blinks*  one.... two....
*blinks*  one.... two....
*blinks*
*blinks*  Huh?


*** Edit ***

Aha!   I get it now! 0_o

Sharecoin: SNv1yHAVfapFSiGGqazpms36tC2hEC6cac
Jack of Diamonds
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 252



View Profile
June 28, 2011, 03:21:22 PM
 #4

Buy from Cablesaurus, these work 100% fine even in 24/7 use, and I bought a version with a Molex power feeder injected in the ribbon = even less risk of something like that.

BTW, my 4th card wasn't detected either when using the riser from CS, until I plugged in the extra power cable.

1f3gHNoBodYw1LLs3ndY0UanYB1tC0lnsBec4USeYoU9AREaCH34PBeGgAR67fx
drknark
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28


View Profile
June 28, 2011, 04:16:52 PM
 #5

Yeah, I tried one from cablesaurus after this incident. It works fine, so I have ordered a bunch of them now Smiley
SgtSpike
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1330



View Profile
June 28, 2011, 05:09:19 PM
 #6

Yikes!   Shocked

I bought mine (just a single one) from that cryptoanarchy store, and it works great.  Also bought some resistors from them... good experience all around though!
zerokwel
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 466



View Profile
June 28, 2011, 05:10:59 PM
 #7

Lucky escape. Could of killed hardware

For me if I ever need anything I will use cablesaurus Its worth the extra not to fry my hardware.
airdata
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 532


🌟 SONM ICO: 15/06/17 🌟


View Profile
June 28, 2011, 07:02:25 PM
 #8

i got 4 $5 16-16's recently and couldn't get my cards to show up.

Got 3 other x1-x16's today and cards showed up right away.
All cables I've gotten from cablesaurus have worked fine.

]░░░░░░▄▄███████████▄▄
░░░░▄███▀░░░█▀░▀█░░░▀▀██▄
░░░██░▄▄▄▄▄▄█▄░▄█▄▄▄▄▄▄░██
░░███▀░░░░░░▀█▀█▀░░░░░░▀███
███░░░░░░░░░░█░░░░░░░░░░███
██░█░░░░░░░░░░█░░░░░░░░░░█░██
█▌░█░░░░░░░░░░█░░░░░░░░░░█░▐█
█▌░░█░░░░░░░░█░█░░░░░░░░█░░▐█
█▌░▄▄██▄▄▄▄██▄▄▄██▄▄▄▄██▄▄░▐█
███▀░░▀█░█▀░░░░░░░▀█░█▀░░▀███
██▄░░▄██░░░░░░░░░░░██▄░░▄██
░░██▀▀▀░█░░░░░░░░░░░█░░▀▀██
░░░██░░░█░░░░░░░░░░░█░░░██
░░░░▀██▄▄█▄░░░░░░░▄█▄▄██▀
░░░░░░░▀▀███████████▀▀

]░░░░░░▄▄███████████▄▄
░░░░▄███▀░░░█▀░▀█░░░▀▀██▄
░░░██░▄▄▄▄▄▄█▄░▄█▄▄▄▄▄▄░██
░░███▀░░░░░░▀█▀█▀░░░░░░▀███
███░░░░░░░░░░█░░░░░░░░░░███
██░█░░░░░░░░░░█░░░░░░░░░░█░██
█▌░█░░░░░░░░░░█░░░░░░░░░░█░▐█
█▌░░█░░░░░░░░█░█░░░░░░░░█░░▐█
█▌░▄▄██▄▄▄▄██▄▄▄██▄▄▄▄██▄▄░▐█
███▀░░▀█░█▀░░░░░░░▀█░█▀░░▀███
██▄░░▄██░░░░░░░░░░░██▄░░▄██
░░██▀▀▀░█░░░░░░░░░░░█░░▀▀██
░░░██░░░█░░░░░░░░░░░█░░░██
░░░░▀██▄▄█▄░░░░░░░▄█▄▄██▀
░░░░░░░▀▀███████████▀▀

hugolp
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742



View Profile
June 28, 2011, 07:10:32 PM
 #9

Another satisfied cablesaurus costumer here. And you can pay with bitcoins.
MaGNeT
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1092


Waves | 3PHMaGNeTJfqFfD4xuctgKdoxLX188QM8na


View Profile WWW
June 29, 2011, 09:43:11 PM
 #10

When I look at the picture I think one of the connectors wasn't aligned correctly.
And when you look at the upper left connector it even looks like 2 pins are bent because there isn't a hole where they fit in.

My Waves address is 3PHMaGNeTJfqFfD4xuctgKdoxLX188QM8na
Want to create your own Waves vanity address? Check this out!
teflone
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 770


You're fat, because you dont have any pics on FB


View Profile
June 29, 2011, 11:42:55 PM
 #11

When I look at the picture I think one of the connectors wasn't aligned correctly.
And when you look at the upper left connector it even looks like 2 pins are bended because there isn't a hole where they fit in.


I also think you messed this one up yourself, there are multiple loops in a slot..  looks like you shorted out your pwr supply +v

For Canadians by Canadians: Canada's Bitcoin Community - https://www.coinforum.ca/
chungenhung
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1134


View Profile
June 30, 2011, 03:58:53 PM
 #12

same thing happened to one of my cables.

Trading MtGox USD for Dwolla/ACH deposit/Chase cash deposit
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=90115.0
Buy/Sell Call/Put Bitcoin options https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=99853.0
drknark
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28


View Profile
July 03, 2011, 09:17:15 AM
 #13


I also think you messed this one up yourself, there are multiple loops in a slot..  looks like you shorted out your pwr supply +v


Messed it up how? I'm confused. The connectors on each side were already mounted when I got the cable. The pci-e connectors seemed to fit tightly in the slot / on the card, I don't see how I could have gotten that wrong.
malevolent
can into space
Staff
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1722



View Profile
July 03, 2011, 02:38:38 PM
 #14

What GPU(s) and PSU(s) were you using?
erek
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 36


View Profile
July 03, 2011, 10:21:43 PM
 #15

what is the point of these riser cables? like why do you guys want to use them??

 *Image Removed*
malevolent
can into space
Staff
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1722



View Profile
July 04, 2011, 01:31:30 AM
 #16

Better airflow.
Without them, in many motherboards no more than 2-3 cards would fit.
Jack of Diamonds
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 252



View Profile
July 04, 2011, 01:36:07 AM
 #17

what is the point of these riser cables? like why do you guys want to use them??

Motherboards usually have horribly placed PCI-e slots. Maybe to discourage the use of tons of GPU's.

With risers, you can actually utilize all 8 PCI-e slots on a board like MSI BB Marshall.
Which would be impossible normally, because a single card (even a 5770) takes 2 slots on the board.

No comment on whether it's safe to draw 8x75 (600W) from the board 24/7.

1f3gHNoBodYw1LLs3ndY0UanYB1tC0lnsBec4USeYoU9AREaCH34PBeGgAR67fx
drknark
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28


View Profile
July 04, 2011, 12:15:28 PM
 #18

What GPU(s) and PSU(s) were you using?

The test was done (one cable at a time) with a Corsair HX750 and a 5750. Using other cards where the cables were supposed to go finally of course.
Inaba
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1260



View Profile WWW
July 05, 2011, 04:21:58 AM
 #19

No comment on whether it's safe to draw 8x75 (600W) from the board 24/7.

It's not.  You'll fry all sorts of good stuff.


If you're searching these lines for a point, you've probably missed it.  There was never anything there in the first place.
hennessy
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 51


View Profile
July 05, 2011, 08:13:22 AM
 #20

Are those some old recycled IDE cables???
Pages: [1] 2 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!