Bitcoin Forum
December 11, 2016, 12:23:38 AM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: x16-x16 riser cable NOT to by  (Read 9514 times)
drknark
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28


View Profile
June 27, 2011, 09:19:48 PM
 #1

I bought some cables from http://www.b2c-support.com/pcie-pciexpress-16x-riser-card-extender-ribbon-cable-p-4154.html.

The first two out of the five I tried refused to recognize the card. The third one however, is when it gets really interesting.. I plugged it in, standard procedure. Made sure there was no possibility of shortcircuiting the exposed (why exposed?) contact points.

So I'm all set up and ready to go. I flip the PSU into on, and hit the power button. First I noticed some really thin smoke, it was barely visible. Then the smell of burning plastic and suddenly a lot more smoke. This is what I pulled out:

http://i1081.photobucket.com/albums/j349/drknark/IMG_0517.jpg

Luckily all my hardware survived. Since their support ignored me I had to issue a paypal dispute to get my money back. So don't buy cables from that site Smiley I would even be wary of similar looking cables at other sites, might be the same manufacturer.
1481415818
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481415818

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481415818
Reply with quote  #2

1481415818
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481415818
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481415818

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481415818
Reply with quote  #2

1481415818
Report to moderator
1481415818
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481415818

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481415818
Reply with quote  #2

1481415818
Report to moderator
1481415818
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481415818

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481415818
Reply with quote  #2

1481415818
Report to moderator
SlaveInDebt
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 701


Your Minion


View Profile
June 27, 2011, 10:06:03 PM
 #2

Single ribbon, most use dual.

"A banker is a fellow who lends you his umbrella when the sun is shining, but wants it back the minute it begins to rain." - Mark Twain
crazybernie
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 23


View Profile
June 28, 2011, 01:58:02 PM
 #3

*blinks*  one.... two....
*blinks*  one.... two....
*blinks*
*blinks*  Huh?


*** Edit ***

Aha!   I get it now! 0_o

Sharecoin: SNv1yHAVfapFSiGGqazpms36tC2hEC6cac
Jack of Diamonds
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 252



View Profile
June 28, 2011, 03:21:22 PM
 #4

Buy from Cablesaurus, these work 100% fine even in 24/7 use, and I bought a version with a Molex power feeder injected in the ribbon = even less risk of something like that.

BTW, my 4th card wasn't detected either when using the riser from CS, until I plugged in the extra power cable.

1f3gHNoBodYw1LLs3ndY0UanYB1tC0lnsBec4USeYoU9AREaCH34PBeGgAR67fx
drknark
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28


View Profile
June 28, 2011, 04:16:52 PM
 #5

Yeah, I tried one from cablesaurus after this incident. It works fine, so I have ordered a bunch of them now Smiley
SgtSpike
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1344



View Profile
June 28, 2011, 05:09:19 PM
 #6

Yikes!   Shocked

I bought mine (just a single one) from that cryptoanarchy store, and it works great.  Also bought some resistors from them... good experience all around though!
zerokwel
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 466



View Profile
June 28, 2011, 05:10:59 PM
 #7

Lucky escape. Could of killed hardware

For me if I ever need anything I will use cablesaurus Its worth the extra not to fry my hardware.
airdata
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 406


View Profile
June 28, 2011, 07:02:25 PM
 #8

i got 4 $5 16-16's recently and couldn't get my cards to show up.

Got 3 other x1-x16's today and cards showed up right away.
All cables I've gotten from cablesaurus have worked fine.
hugolp
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742



View Profile
June 28, 2011, 07:10:32 PM
 #9

Another satisfied cablesaurus costumer here. And you can pay with bitcoins.
MaGNeT
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1050


Founder of Orlycoin | O RLY? YA RLY!


View Profile WWW
June 29, 2011, 09:43:11 PM
 #10

When I look at the picture I think one of the connectors wasn't aligned correctly.
And when you look at the upper left connector it even looks like 2 pins are bent because there isn't a hole where they fit in.
teflone
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 770


You're fat, because you dont have any pics on FB


View Profile
June 29, 2011, 11:42:55 PM
 #11

When I look at the picture I think one of the connectors wasn't aligned correctly.
And when you look at the upper left connector it even looks like 2 pins are bended because there isn't a hole where they fit in.


I also think you messed this one up yourself, there are multiple loops in a slot..  looks like you shorted out your pwr supply +v

For Canadians by Canadians: Canada's Bitcoin Community - https://www.coinforum.ca/
chungenhung
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1134


View Profile
June 30, 2011, 03:58:53 PM
 #12

same thing happened to one of my cables.

Trading MtGox USD for Dwolla/ACH deposit/Chase cash deposit
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=90115.0
Buy/Sell Call/Put Bitcoin options https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=99853.0
drknark
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28


View Profile
July 03, 2011, 09:17:15 AM
 #13


I also think you messed this one up yourself, there are multiple loops in a slot..  looks like you shorted out your pwr supply +v


Messed it up how? I'm confused. The connectors on each side were already mounted when I got the cable. The pci-e connectors seemed to fit tightly in the slot / on the card, I don't see how I could have gotten that wrong.
malevolent
can into space
Staff
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1624



View Profile
July 03, 2011, 02:38:38 PM
 #14

What GPU(s) and PSU(s) were you using?
erek
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 36


View Profile
July 03, 2011, 10:21:43 PM
 #15

what is the point of these riser cables? like why do you guys want to use them??

 *Image Removed*
malevolent
can into space
Staff
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1624



View Profile
July 04, 2011, 01:31:30 AM
 #16

Better airflow.
Without them, in many motherboards no more than 2-3 cards would fit.
Jack of Diamonds
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 252



View Profile
July 04, 2011, 01:36:07 AM
 #17

what is the point of these riser cables? like why do you guys want to use them??

Motherboards usually have horribly placed PCI-e slots. Maybe to discourage the use of tons of GPU's.

With risers, you can actually utilize all 8 PCI-e slots on a board like MSI BB Marshall.
Which would be impossible normally, because a single card (even a 5770) takes 2 slots on the board.

No comment on whether it's safe to draw 8x75 (600W) from the board 24/7.

1f3gHNoBodYw1LLs3ndY0UanYB1tC0lnsBec4USeYoU9AREaCH34PBeGgAR67fx
drknark
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28


View Profile
July 04, 2011, 12:15:28 PM
 #18

What GPU(s) and PSU(s) were you using?

The test was done (one cable at a time) with a Corsair HX750 and a 5750. Using other cards where the cables were supposed to go finally of course.
Inaba
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1260



View Profile WWW
July 05, 2011, 04:21:58 AM
 #19

No comment on whether it's safe to draw 8x75 (600W) from the board 24/7.

It's not.  You'll fry all sorts of good stuff.


If you're searching these lines for a point, you've probably missed it.  There was never anything there in the first place.
hennessy
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 49


View Profile
July 05, 2011, 08:13:22 AM
 #20

Are those some old recycled IDE cables???

If I was of any help, donations are appreciated - 1FrCtiQsVoy2YTTYqgjsvVvdgvHS4Umah4
8x Sapphire 5830 @950/300 in 2 dedicated mining rigs -> 2500Mhash/s
Pages: [1] 2 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!