Bitcoin Forum
May 08, 2024, 02:48:15 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 27.0 [Torrent]

Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: sapphire 7970 4th card half the speed.. all cards slower  (Read 1107 times)
makbot (OP)

Activity: 13
Merit: 0

View Profile
June 14, 2013, 08:27:36 PM

I recently built a rig and have an asrock z4 mobo and qty 4 7970 gpus.  newb to all this and first build.

i had only 2 installed originally and they ran between 580-650 mh/s.  is it normal for the cards to vary so much from minute to minute?

also when i put in my 4th card it's hash rate barely hits 300 mh/s.  i'm using bitminter and thought about trying another miner, but being a newb i wasn't sure if that would have a large impact.  

help is appreciated.  i searched quite a bit but did not really find much regarding a 4th card or variable speeds when mining.

thx!!

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
Reply with quote  #2

Report to moderator
The forum strives to allow free discussion of any ideas. All policies are built around this principle. This doesn't mean you can post garbage, though: posts should actually contain ideas, and these ideas should be argued reasonably.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction.
firefop

Activity: 420
Merit: 250

View Profile
June 15, 2013, 12:36:54 AM

If these are mounted directly to motherboard - it's most likely a heat issue of some sort - get those thing on extenders (which molex power) for better ventilation.

Charles999

Activity: 224
Merit: 100

View Profile
June 15, 2013, 02:44:55 AM

If these are mounted directly to motherboard - it's most likely a heat issue of some sort - get those thing on extenders (which molex power) for better ventilation.

Mine too.  But I only have 3 cards!  I hope someone pops up an answer.
makbot (OP)

View Profile
June 15, 2013, 09:47:28 AM