Bitcoin Forum
April 01, 2020, 03:02:56 AM *
News: The virus is now s̴͜͠p̶̰͝r̷̰̅e̶̦̽a̵̼͂d̴͉̑ỉ̷̖n̸̙̏g̷̬͝ even online; practice social distancing!
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: 2 cards working fine, but third card is stuck at "Starting"  (Read 822 times)
iamzill
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 682
Merit: 250



View Profile
June 28, 2011, 02:26:21 AM
 #1

I'm running three 5830s on a MSI 890FXA-GD70 motherboard. I'm running XP SP3. Two of my machines have this exact same setup and they're experiencing the same error: after clicking "Start mining" in the GUIminer, the lower right hand corner status bar is stuck at "Starting...".

No hash rate, 0 shares accepted forever, and MSI Afterburner is showing 0% GPU usage for that card.

Thanks in advance.


.
▄███▄       ▄▄██████▄▄     ▄▄██████▄▄     ▄▄██████▄▄
█████    ▄██████████████▄██████████████▄ █████████████▄
 ▀▀▀    ▄███████████████████████████████▄ █████████████▄
 ▄▄▄   ▄█████▀      ▀███████▀      ▀█████▄ ▀      ▀█████▄
█████  █████          █████          █████          █████
█████  █████          █████          █████          █████

█████  █████          █████          █████          █████

█████  █████          █████          █████        ▄█████▀

█████  █████          █████          ███████████████████

█████  █████          █████          █████████████████▀

 ▀▀██   ▀▀██            ▀██           ▀▀██████████▀▀
███████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
.

IMO Ecosystem
.
███████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
██   ██
 ██   ██
  ██   ██
   ██   ██
    ██   ██
     ██   ██
     ██   ██
    ██   ██
   ██   ██
  ██   ██
 ██   ██
██   ██
1585710176
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1585710176

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1585710176
Reply with quote  #2

1585710176
Report to moderator
1585710176
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1585710176

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1585710176
Reply with quote  #2

1585710176
Report to moderator
AWARD-WINNING
CRYPTO CASINO
ASKGAMBLERS
PLAYERS CHOICE 2019
PROUD
PARTNER OF
1500+
GAMES
2 MIN
CASH-OUTS
24/7
SUPPORT
100s OF
FREE SPINS
PLAY NOW
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1585710176
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1585710176

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1585710176
Reply with quote  #2

1585710176
Report to moderator
1585710176
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1585710176

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1585710176
Reply with quote  #2

1585710176
Report to moderator
iamzill
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 682
Merit: 250



View Profile
June 28, 2011, 04:14:46 AM
 #2

I tried both Slush's pool and BTC guild and have the same problem.

If I use the summary or the console it'll say "Connecting..." forever.

After I click "Start mining", in the console it'll display "Listener for "Default" started" and then nothing happens for 5 minutes. 5 minutes later the line "long poll: new block 00000xxxxxxxxxx" will come up, but still no hash rate or GPU usage.

Is this a network problem or a card problem? Should I swap out the cards and try them on different machines?


.
▄███▄       ▄▄██████▄▄     ▄▄██████▄▄     ▄▄██████▄▄
█████    ▄██████████████▄██████████████▄ █████████████▄
 ▀▀▀    ▄███████████████████████████████▄ █████████████▄
 ▄▄▄   ▄█████▀      ▀███████▀      ▀█████▄ ▀      ▀█████▄
█████  █████          █████          █████          █████
█████  █████          █████          █████          █████

█████  █████          █████          █████          █████

█████  █████          █████          █████        ▄█████▀

█████  █████          █████          ███████████████████

█████  █████          █████          █████████████████▀

 ▀▀██   ▀▀██            ▀██           ▀▀██████████▀▀
███████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
.

IMO Ecosystem
.
███████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
██   ██
 ██   ██
  ██   ██
   ██   ██
    ██   ██
     ██   ██
     ██   ██
    ██   ██
   ██   ██
  ██   ██
 ██   ██
██   ██
phorensic
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 630
Merit: 500



View Profile
June 28, 2011, 10:57:35 PM
 #3

I've had to convert my friends from mining on Windows XP to Windows 7.  7 handles multiple video cards 1,000 times better.  I have one friend who has tried everything in the book, yet one of his cards never hits a solid 99% GPU usage, it fluctuates everywhere.  I'm betting him 7 will fix the problem.  The overall layout of the operating system is different when it comes to handling the video drivers.
iamzill
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 682
Merit: 250



View Profile
June 29, 2011, 09:22:57 PM
 #4

Thanks, I'll give Windows 7 a try.

I used XP because I have many licenses for it.

.
▄███▄       ▄▄██████▄▄     ▄▄██████▄▄     ▄▄██████▄▄
█████    ▄██████████████▄██████████████▄ █████████████▄
 ▀▀▀    ▄███████████████████████████████▄ █████████████▄
 ▄▄▄   ▄█████▀      ▀███████▀      ▀█████▄ ▀      ▀█████▄
█████  █████          █████          █████          █████
█████  █████          █████          █████          █████

█████  █████          █████          █████          █████

█████  █████          █████          █████        ▄█████▀

█████  █████          █████          ███████████████████

█████  █████          █████          █████████████████▀

 ▀▀██   ▀▀██            ▀██           ▀▀██████████▀▀
███████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
.

IMO Ecosystem
.
███████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
██   ██
 ██   ██
  ██   ██
   ██   ██
    ██   ██
     ██   ██
     ██   ██
    ██   ██
   ██   ██
  ██   ██
 ██   ██
██   ██
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!