Bitcoin Forum
May 12, 2024, 10:17:14 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 27.0 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Overclocking with batchfile  (Read 450 times)
Lumining (OP)
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 322
Merit: 100



View Profile
November 04, 2017, 02:24:04 AM
 #1

I want to overclock my RX 480 cards with the .bat file instead of using MSI Afterburner. I have several problems with Afterburner because I use the mining drivers and because I have 2 different GPU brands in my rig (2 XFX GTR with standard core clock 1388 and Powercolor Red Devil with standard core clock 1288) and the rig crashes when I OC different cards.
I found out that you can OC your GPU via the .bat file with this code:
EthDcrMiner64.exe -epool eu1.ethermine.org:4444 -ewal ETHEREUM_WALLET.WORKER_NAME -epsw x -tstop 85 -tt 65 -fanmin 60 -fanmax 100 -cclock 1200 -mclock 2250 -cvddc 850 -mvddc 850

I wonder if it's possible to set different overclocks for each card in the .bat file? Is there a guide on using the .bat file overclocking somewhere?

★ ★ ★ ★ ★   DeepOnion    Anonymous and Untraceable Cryptocurrency    TOR INTEGRATED & SECURED   ★ ★ ★ ★ ★
› › › › ›  JOIN THE NEW AIRDROP ✈️        VERIFIED WITH DEEPVAULT  ‹ ‹ ‹ ‹ ‹
▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬   ANN  WHITEPAPER  FACEBOOK  TWITTER  YOUTUBE  FORUM   ▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬
1715552234
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1715552234

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1715552234
Reply with quote  #2

1715552234
Report to moderator
1715552234
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1715552234

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1715552234
Reply with quote  #2

1715552234
Report to moderator
Every time a block is mined, a certain amount of BTC (called the subsidy) is created out of thin air and given to the miner. The subsidy halves every four years and will reach 0 in about 130 years.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction.
1715552234
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1715552234

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1715552234
Reply with quote  #2

1715552234
Report to moderator
Za1n
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1078
Merit: 1011



View Profile
November 04, 2017, 05:10:59 AM
Last edit: November 04, 2017, 05:22:47 AM by Za1n
 #2

I want to overclock my RX 480 cards with the .bat file instead of using MSI Afterburner. I have several problems with Afterburner because I use the mining drivers and because I have 2 different GPU brands in my rig (2 XFX GTR with standard core clock 1388 and Powercolor Red Devil with standard core clock 1288) and the rig crashes when I OC different cards.
I found out that you can OC your GPU via the .bat file with this code:
EthDcrMiner64.exe -epool eu1.ethermine.org:4444 -ewal ETHEREUM_WALLET.WORKER_NAME -epsw x -tstop 85 -tt 65 -fanmin 60 -fanmax 100 -cclock 1200 -mclock 2250 -cvddc 850 -mvddc 850

I wonder if it's possible to set different overclocks for each card in the .bat file? Is there a guide on using the .bat file overclocking somewhere?

That line of code is used with the Claymore Ethereum miner and there is a ReadMe file inside its folder detailing each of the available commands.

To apply different settings to multiple cards, you simply separate the values for each card, so in your case with three cards with one of them being different, your batch file would look something like:

EthDcrMiner64.exe -epool eu1.ethermine.org:4444 -ewal ETHEREUM_WALLET.WORKER_NAME -epsw x -tstop 85 -tt 65 -fanmin 60 -fanmax 100 -cclock 1200,1200,1100 -mclock 2250,2250,2000 -cvddc 850,850,900 -mvddc 850,850,900

I simply used random values for the clocks and voltages to give you an idea as you would need to use your own unique values, but in my example above the last value in -cclock would be for GPU 2 (counting starts at 0 as in 0,1,2), same for the other values. Since you have 3 cards you need three values, if you had 6 cards you would need 6 values and so on.

Also for any settings that will be the same for all your cards, like the tstop, tt, fanmin and fanmax, you can leave it a single number. A single value behind a parameter indicates it will apply to all the cards. Again, if you want different settings for each different card you would put multiple values behind the parameter as well, one for each card.

So the basic premise is one value following a parameter applies to all GPUs and if you want to have different values for for each card you would need to have a separate value for as many GPUs as you have.
nicendrine
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 44
Merit: 0


View Profile
November 04, 2017, 06:05:02 AM
 #3

I want to overclock my RX 480 cards with the .bat file instead of using MSI Afterburner. I have several problems with Afterburner because I use the mining drivers and because I have 2 different GPU brands in my rig (2 XFX GTR with standard core clock 1388 and Powercolor Red Devil with standard core clock 1288) and the rig crashes when I OC different cards.
I found out that you can OC your GPU via the .bat file with this code:
EthDcrMiner64.exe -epool eu1.ethermine.org:4444 -ewal ETHEREUM_WALLET.WORKER_NAME -epsw x -tstop 85 -tt 65 -fanmin 60 -fanmax 100 -cclock 1200 -mclock 2250 -cvddc 850 -mvddc 850

I wonder if it's possible to set different overclocks for each card in the .bat file? Is there a guide on using the .bat file overclocking somewhere?

Yes it is possible to set overclock settings in the batchfile, but I, myself, am having trouble making the clock settings on batchfile to work on AMD cards. Is this because the rig has a combination of both NVidia and AMD cards?

Anyway, in order to do this, just add a "," after the first clock value.

For example -cclock 1200,1100,1300 -mclock 2100,2000,2100

Same applies to -cvddc -mvddc and other parameters like the intensity settings for single mining and dual mining. You can set all these settings individually in the batch file.
Lumining (OP)
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 322
Merit: 100



View Profile
November 04, 2017, 02:16:51 PM
 #4

Great, many thanks for your posts! Good to know and much easier than I had imagined!
I'll try it out and hope my rig will not crash Grin

★ ★ ★ ★ ★   DeepOnion    Anonymous and Untraceable Cryptocurrency    TOR INTEGRATED & SECURED   ★ ★ ★ ★ ★
› › › › ›  JOIN THE NEW AIRDROP ✈️        VERIFIED WITH DEEPVAULT  ‹ ‹ ‹ ‹ ‹
▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬   ANN  WHITEPAPER  FACEBOOK  TWITTER  YOUTUBE  FORUM   ▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬
Lumining (OP)
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 322
Merit: 100



View Profile
November 05, 2017, 04:42:04 PM
 #5


I want to run my GPUs with only 80% of their original power draw. Should I rather setup -powlim or -cvddc and - mvddc?

-powlim set power limit, from -50 to 50. If not specified, miner will not change power limit. You can also specify values for every card, for example "-powlim 20,-20,0,10".
   Note: for NVIDIA cards this option is not supported.

-cvddc   set target GPU core voltage, multiplied by 1000. For example, "-cvddc 1050" means 1.05V. You can also specify values for every card, for example "-cvddc 900,950,1000,970". Supports latest AMD 4xx cards only in Windows.
   Note: for NVIDIA cards this option is not supported.

-mvddc   set target GPU memory voltage, multiplied by 1000. For example, "-mvddc 1050" means 1.05V. You can also specify values for every card, for example "-mvddc 900,950,1000,970". Supports latest AMD 4xx cards only in Windows.
   Note: for NVIDIA cards this option is not supported.


What's the difference between target GPU core voltage and memory voltage? I didn't do any voltage settings so far, I only worked with power limit in MSI afterburner so far

★ ★ ★ ★ ★   DeepOnion    Anonymous and Untraceable Cryptocurrency    TOR INTEGRATED & SECURED   ★ ★ ★ ★ ★
› › › › ›  JOIN THE NEW AIRDROP ✈️        VERIFIED WITH DEEPVAULT  ‹ ‹ ‹ ‹ ‹
▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬   ANN  WHITEPAPER  FACEBOOK  TWITTER  YOUTUBE  FORUM   ▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬
Za1n
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1078
Merit: 1011



View Profile
November 05, 2017, 05:44:52 PM
 #6


I want to run my GPUs with only 80% of their original power draw. Should I rather setup -powlim or -cvddc and - mvddc?

-powlim set power limit, from -50 to 50. If not specified, miner will not change power limit. You can also specify values for every card, for example "-powlim 20,-20,0,10".
   Note: for NVIDIA cards this option is not supported.

-cvddc   set target GPU core voltage, multiplied by 1000. For example, "-cvddc 1050" means 1.05V. You can also specify values for every card, for example "-cvddc 900,950,1000,970". Supports latest AMD 4xx cards only in Windows.
   Note: for NVIDIA cards this option is not supported.

-mvddc   set target GPU memory voltage, multiplied by 1000. For example, "-mvddc 1050" means 1.05V. You can also specify values for every card, for example "-mvddc 900,950,1000,970". Supports latest AMD 4xx cards only in Windows.
   Note: for NVIDIA cards this option is not supported.


What's the difference between target GPU core voltage and memory voltage? I didn't do any voltage settings so far, I only worked with power limit in MSI afterburner so far

They are pretty self explanatory terms, GPU core voltage is for the actual GPU processor itself (the chip) and memory voltage is for the actual memory chips on-board the GPU.

Most of the time these will be set the same values as each other, but for advanced tweaking they can be set to different values with the one caveat that the memory voltage cannot be lower than the core voltage.

To adjust the power level with AMD cards, it is recommend to adjust the voltages. You can probably start safely with 950 for both the core and memory (which represents 950 mv or 0.095 V) and work slowly down from there until your GPUs hang or crash. Then add back another 20 mv and you should be close to the sweet spot as far as energy saving versus power consumption. For example say you make it down to 850 mv before the cards hang, then you would bump your settings to 870 mv and run that for awhile to test for stability. It basically will take some trial and error as each system and graphic card will be different as to how much undervolting it will tolerate.
Lumining (OP)
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 322
Merit: 100



View Profile
November 05, 2017, 08:38:21 PM
 #7


Okay many thanks. I experienced some crashes at the beginning with 850 so I left the mem and core voltages apart and tweaked the memory and core clocks first, but I'll add the mem and core voltages slowly like you explained.

★ ★ ★ ★ ★   DeepOnion    Anonymous and Untraceable Cryptocurrency    TOR INTEGRATED & SECURED   ★ ★ ★ ★ ★
› › › › ›  JOIN THE NEW AIRDROP ✈️        VERIFIED WITH DEEPVAULT  ‹ ‹ ‹ ‹ ‹
▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬   ANN  WHITEPAPER  FACEBOOK  TWITTER  YOUTUBE  FORUM   ▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬
damba_
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 150
Merit: 3


View Profile
July 25, 2018, 05:01:09 PM
 #8

Hi what if i like to have default cvddc / mvddc

If you want to keep default memory and core voltages then just don't add -cvddc / -mvddc in your .bat file.
But you will have higher power consumption.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!