Bitcoin Forum
June 21, 2018, 03:30:53 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.16.1  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: help with USB bitmain miner  (Read 188 times)
aliitp
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 43
Merit: 0


View Profile
November 04, 2017, 08:40:28 AM
 #1

hi

i have been away from mining like 2 years but thinking of making a come back :p

Anyways, i got 3x Bitmain u2 (i believe each rated at around 2 GH/sec and they are far more powerful than my 3x GTX 970 cards...

I need advise on a GUI software that supports them as so far i downloaded guiminer but dont seem to find them listed under Devices, also i simply plugged them into my PC (win 8.1) and they seem to have installed the drivers automatically, but not 100% sure,

i need help please to start mining again with them using an easy GUI miner tool...

Thank you,
The World's Betting Exchange

Bet with play money. Win real Bitcoin. 5BTC Prize Fund for World Cup 2018.

Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1529551853
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1529551853

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1529551853
Reply with quote  #2

1529551853
Report to moderator
1529551853
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1529551853

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1529551853
Reply with quote  #2

1529551853
Report to moderator
1529551853
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1529551853

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1529551853
Reply with quote  #2

1529551853
Report to moderator
Stroustrup
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 49
Merit: 0

"Genius is patience." - Isaac Newton


View Profile
November 05, 2017, 03:39:27 PM
 #2

Are you really thinking mining bitcoin with USB miner?

Those bitmain antminer have a max 2.2GH/s (overclocked).

3 x 2.2 = 6.6GH/s


Those will be plugged into your computer.

If you have free electricity, you can make around 3$ in 1 YEAR! (depends on how price goes, etc etc)
But i guess you don't have free electricity, so you will get a loss instead of profit.
According to this article: (https://www.griffith.edu.au/sustainability/sustainable-campuses/sustainable-initiatives/energy/average-computer-energy-usage),  "An average desktop computer has a power usage of between 80 and 250 watts, depending on graphics cards and additional peripherals.".
I mean my PSU has 750W (of course it can deliver 750W, it's not using them all), but i'm probably using around 400W-500W.
But let's follow the article, and even if you are using only 80W and if you pay $0.10 per KW/h, your loss would be around $-67.22.

Does it worth? Nah it doesn't. You're reducing the life of your computer components for nothing.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!