Bitcoin Forum
October 21, 2018, 11:36:21 AM *
News: Make sure you are not using versions of Bitcoin Core other than 0.17.0 [Torrent], 0.16.3, 0.15.2, or 0.14.3. More info.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: help with USB bitmain miner  (Read 193 times)
aliitp
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 86
Merit: 0


View Profile
November 04, 2017, 08:40:28 AM
 #1

hi

i have been away from mining like 2 years but thinking of making a come back :p

Anyways, i got 3x Bitmain u2 (i believe each rated at around 2 GH/sec and they are far more powerful than my 3x GTX 970 cards...

I need advise on a GUI software that supports them as so far i downloaded guiminer but dont seem to find them listed under Devices, also i simply plugged them into my PC (win 8.1) and they seem to have installed the drivers automatically, but not 100% sure,

i need help please to start mining again with them using an easy GUI miner tool...

Thank you,
1540121781
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1540121781

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1540121781
Reply with quote  #2

1540121781
Report to moderator
1540121781
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1540121781

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1540121781
Reply with quote  #2

1540121781
Report to moderator
1540121781
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1540121781

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1540121781
Reply with quote  #2

1540121781
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1540121781
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1540121781

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1540121781
Reply with quote  #2

1540121781
Report to moderator
Stroustrup
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 49
Merit: 0


View Profile
November 05, 2017, 03:39:27 PM
 #2

Are you really thinking mining bitcoin with USB miner?

Those bitmain antminer have a max 2.2GH/s (overclocked).

3 x 2.2 = 6.6GH/s


Those will be plugged into your computer.

If you have free electricity, you can make around 3$ in 1 YEAR! (depends on how price goes, etc etc)
But i guess you don't have free electricity, so you will get a loss instead of profit.
According to this article: (https://www.griffith.edu.au/sustainability/sustainable-campuses/sustainable-initiatives/energy/average-computer-energy-usage),  "An average desktop computer has a power usage of between 80 and 250 watts, depending on graphics cards and additional peripherals.".
I mean my PSU has 750W (of course it can deliver 750W, it's not using them all), but i'm probably using around 400W-500W.
But let's follow the article, and even if you are using only 80W and if you pay $0.10 per KW/h, your loss would be around $-67.22.

Does it worth? Nah it doesn't. You're reducing the life of your computer components for nothing.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!