Bitcoin Forum
July 16, 2018, 09:15:18 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.16.1  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: B250 Mining Expert Motherboard - 13 AMD GPU Maximum  (Read 851 times)
Coyn
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 51
Merit: 0

Coyn - Your Coins


View Profile WWW
November 04, 2017, 02:29:32 PM
 #1

Hi there crypto experts,

Recently i've been experimenting with the new B250 Mining Expert Motherboard. Untill now the maximum number of cards you can run on the board is 16. This setup needs 8x AMD GPU and 8x the Nvidea P106 card.
I've been able to run a maximum of 13 AMD gpu's on the board. When i plug in 14th card the motherboard doesn't show any HDMI video output anymore, the cards do get power & fan's run.
Asus promised to deliver a driver update before the end of december 2017, the driver should enable the use of 19 AMD GPU's on the board.


Does anyone has any news or also experimented with the MOBO, let us know what you think! We want to get the 19 cards running asap.


(The PCIe Slot State Detection is REALLY GOOD  Grin )
1531775718
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1531775718

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1531775718
Reply with quote  #2

1531775718
Report to moderator
1531775718
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1531775718

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1531775718
Reply with quote  #2

1531775718
Report to moderator
1531775718
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1531775718

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1531775718
Reply with quote  #2

1531775718
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
Vann
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 658
Merit: 581


View Profile
November 04, 2017, 02:49:13 PM
 #2

BBT has run a number of live streams using the board. He was able to run 21 cards in Windows 10 using the latest Crimson Relive drivers and PCI-E splitters.

https://youtu.be/miUoqnUqk9M?t=6140

From his testing:

  • 19+ GPU rig is possible in Windows 10
  • A maximum of 13 AMD cards are supported
  • AMD Drivers 17.10.2 required for more than 8+ AMDs
  • Nvidia P106 mining cards are required for more than 13 cards
TuffToad
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 27
Merit: 0


View Profile
November 04, 2017, 02:52:42 PM
 #3

Coyn,

You might want to take a look at "Bits Be Trippin" YouTube channel https://www.youtube.com/BitsBeTrippin and there Website BitsBeTrippin.com

BBT Carter took 3 stabs at the B250 and concluded with VLOG #65 with 21 GPUs.  Videos are a little long but informative

VLOG #65-21+GPUs working in Windows
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=miUoqnUqk9M

VLOG #64-16 GPUs working in Windows
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uPsgcKjBXCQ

VLOG #63-ASUS B250 Mining Expert
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=h-ZEPjoFh2I

I hope this helps

  /s TuffToad

“Doveryai, No Proveryai” (Trust, but verify)
Coyn
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 51
Merit: 0

Coyn - Your Coins


View Profile WWW
November 04, 2017, 02:55:46 PM
 #4

Thanks for the tips guys!
I've watched the video's, but if i'm right he does not use AMD GPU but a mix of both.

Still my point, drivers not yet here for 19 AMD cards.
QuintLeo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1120
Merit: 1022


View Profile
November 04, 2017, 07:02:00 PM
 #5

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=2110421.0

 Among the 2 or 3 other threads that already exist about this motherboard.

I'm no longer legendary just in my own mind!
Like something I said? Donations gratefully accepted. LYLnTKvLefz9izJFUvEGQEZzSkz34b3N6U (Litecoin)
1GYbjMTPdCuV7dci3iCUiaRrcNuaiQrVYY (Bitcoin)
Lionidas
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 924
Merit: 1012


View Profile
November 04, 2017, 08:58:16 PM
 #6

But from what I have contemplating about getting one of these boards and maxxing it out with the 19 gpu after this firmaware upgrade,
Wouldn't overload the board at some point with it and all it's components running 24/7?
 Embarrassed
Metroid
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 602
Merit: 274


Xtreme Monster


View Profile
December 21, 2017, 10:02:04 PM
 #7

But from what I have contemplating about getting one of these boards and maxxing it out with the 19 gpu after this firmaware upgrade,
Wouldn't overload the board at some point with it and all it's components running 24/7?
 Embarrassed

No, it depends on many things, eth mining uses no cpu power whatsoever, equihash on the other side does and it requires a little more powerful cpu other than a celeron.

Does anybody know if this motherboard already supports 19 amd cards?

BTC Address: 1DH4ok85VdFAe47fSVXNVctxkFhUv4ujbR
ichlove
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1
Merit: 0


View Profile
February 24, 2018, 05:26:23 AM
 #8

I am running 17 GPUs: 5 P106s, 6 1070s, 6 1060s... Win 10
I just ordered 1050s because of the cost of 1060s and 1070s.  I need one more P106 to get to 19 GPUs. 
QuintLeo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1120
Merit: 1022


View Profile
February 24, 2018, 06:25:20 PM
 #9

But from what I have contemplating about getting one of these boards and maxxing it out with the 19 gpu after this firmaware upgrade,
Wouldn't overload the board at some point with it and all it's components running 24/7?
 Embarrassed

No, it depends on many things, eth mining uses no cpu power whatsoever, equihash on the other side does and it requires a little more powerful cpu other than a celeron.

Does anybody know if this motherboard already supports 19 amd cards?

ETH does use CPU - just not very much of it unless you're doing DAG file creation on the CPU like older Genoil versions, and even then it doesn't use a lot for long.

Equihash seems to depend on the miner version - but generally doesn't use much CPU either.

No, the board does NOT support the use of more than 13 "non-minining-specific" cards of one brand even under LINUX - ASUS did something weird in the bios to limit it for no apparent reason I can see.



I'm no longer legendary just in my own mind!
Like something I said? Donations gratefully accepted. LYLnTKvLefz9izJFUvEGQEZzSkz34b3N6U (Litecoin)
1GYbjMTPdCuV7dci3iCUiaRrcNuaiQrVYY (Bitcoin)
unc0nnected
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 20
Merit: 0


View Profile
May 04, 2018, 11:55:58 PM
 #10

Would it be possible to have 13 AMD gpus and 6 Standard Nvidia gpus or do you absolutely need the mining specific nvidia gpus?  I was wondering if as long as the other 6 were not AMD if it would work
darkneorus
Jr. Member
*
Online Online

Activity: 113
Merit: 0


View Profile
May 05, 2018, 12:06:50 AM
 #11

Would it be possible to have 13 AMD gpus and 6 Standard Nvidia gpus or do you absolutely need the mining specific nvidia gpus?  I was wondering if as long as the other 6 were not AMD if it would work
it won't even POST with 14 GPUs connected.
unc0nnected
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 20
Merit: 0


View Profile
May 14, 2018, 05:15:58 PM
 #12

Well it will, it's just that the 14th gpu needs to be a mining specific card liek the p102 or p106 .. I was wondering if it was a mining card requirement or if you could just use a any nvidia cards to supplement 13 amd gpus' on that board
Metroid
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 602
Merit: 274


Xtreme Monster


View Profile
May 14, 2018, 05:48:34 PM
 #13

Well it will, it's just that the 14th gpu needs to be a mining specific card liek the p102 or p106 .. I was wondering if it was a mining card requirement or if you could just use a any nvidia cards to supplement 13 amd gpus' on that board

you see that is the thing, why only p106, p104 or p102? why not amd mining cards like rx 470? why only nvidia mining cards?

BTC Address: 1DH4ok85VdFAe47fSVXNVctxkFhUv4ujbR
darkneorus
Jr. Member
*
Online Online

Activity: 113
Merit: 0


View Profile
May 14, 2018, 10:12:51 PM
 #14

Well it will, it's just that the 14th gpu needs to be a mining specific card liek the p102 or p106 .. I was wondering if it was a mining card requirement or if you could just use a any nvidia cards to supplement 13 amd gpus' on that board

you see that is the thing, why only p106, p104 or p102? why not amd mining cards like rx 470? why only nvidia mining cards?
because Pxxx cards don't have display outputs. they are not GPUs but just some PCIe expansion boards from motherboard's point of view.
Metroid
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 602
Merit: 274


Xtreme Monster


View Profile
May 14, 2018, 11:21:01 PM
 #15

Well it will, it's just that the 14th gpu needs to be a mining specific card liek the p102 or p106 .. I was wondering if it was a mining card requirement or if you could just use a any nvidia cards to supplement 13 amd gpus' on that board

you see that is the thing, why only p106, p104 or p102? why not amd mining cards like rx 470? why only nvidia mining cards?
because Pxxx cards don't have display outputs. they are not GPUs but just some PCIe expansion boards from motherboard's point of view.

The asus rx 470 mining card has "Interface: DVI Output : Yes x 1 (Native) (DVI-D)", so it is all bound by display output it seems.

BTC Address: 1DH4ok85VdFAe47fSVXNVctxkFhUv4ujbR
CryptoCoin101
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 140
Merit: 0

RENT NOW! www.miningrigrentals.com/u/mininguser


View Profile WWW
June 12, 2018, 02:57:37 AM
 #16

Seems this thread is related to my small question even it is one month old inactive.

Would it be possible to have 13 AMD gpus and 6 Standard Nvidia gpus or do you absolutely need the mining specific nvidia gpus?  I was wondering if as long as the other 6 were not AMD if it would work
it won't even POST with 14 GPUs connected.

My question is, is it required to have 13 AMD gpu? How about 13 standard NVIDIA GPU or any maximum number of standard NVIDIA GPU supported?

RENT NOW! Crytonight Rig!
https://www.miningrigrentals.com/u/mininguser
Available in BTC, LTC, ETH or DASH! Check it out!
jmigdlc99
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 462
Merit: 276



View Profile WWW
June 12, 2018, 03:06:35 AM
 #17

Well it will, it's just that the 14th gpu needs to be a mining specific card liek the p102 or p106 .. I was wondering if it was a mining card requirement or if you could just use a any nvidia cards to supplement 13 amd gpus' on that board

you see that is the thing, why only p106, p104 or p102? why not amd mining cards like rx 470? why only nvidia mining cards?
because Pxxx cards don't have display outputs. they are not GPUs but just some PCIe expansion boards from motherboard's point of view.

The asus rx 470 mining card has "Interface: DVI Output : Yes x 1 (Native) (DVI-D)", so it is all bound by display output it seems.

Interesting point. Skipped my mind that rx470 mining editions are still mining GPUs. Has anyone tried if they would work towards building a 19-GPU rig? These days it seems like power consumption is key to staying profitable. I would love to consolidate some rigs and build 19 or eve 21-GPU builds.

darkneorus
Jr. Member
*
Online Online

Activity: 113
Merit: 0


View Profile
June 12, 2018, 03:09:43 AM
 #18

My question is, is it required to have 13 AMD gpu? How about 13 standard NVIDIA GPU or any maximum number of standard NVIDIA GPU supported?
not sure about 13 AMD or NVIDIA cards, maybe there are some driver limitations, but 12 cards work fine.

Interesting point. Skipped my mind that rx470 mining editions are still mining GPUs. Has anyone tried if they would work towards building a 19-GPU rig? These days it seems like power consumption is key to staying profitable. I would love to consolidate some rigs and build 19 or eve 21-GPU builds.
you can't use more than 13 cards with display outputs on this MB, so no, 14+ RX470s Mining Edition won't work, period. sorry to disappoint you, bro.
Hansibua
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2
Merit: 0


View Profile
July 11, 2018, 01:59:01 PM
 #19

Hallo!
Ich bin neu hier bzw. ob ich richtig bin.

Ich möchte gerne ein Rig von 9 auf 11 rx vega 64 lc erweitern. Es funktioniert bei mir nicht. 9Gpus laufen ohne Problem!

Konfiguration:
Asus b250
24 gbram
PSU 2x 2000w

Win 10
Devcon
OverdriveTool,
SRBminer bzw StakXMR
Coffee135
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 350
Merit: 137


BookiePro.Fun - The World's Betting Exchange


View Profile
July 11, 2018, 02:23:56 PM
 #20

Well it will, it's just that the 14th gpu needs to be a mining specific card liek the p102 or p106 .. I was wondering if it was a mining card requirement or if you could just use a any nvidia cards to supplement 13 amd gpus' on that board

you see that is the thing, why only p106, p104 or p102? why not amd mining cards like rx 470? why only nvidia mining cards?
because Pxxx cards don't have display outputs. they are not GPUs but just some PCIe expansion boards from motherboard's point of view.

The asus rx 470 mining card has "Interface: DVI Output : Yes x 1 (Native) (DVI-D)", so it is all bound by display output it seems.

Interesting point. Skipped my mind that rx470 mining editions are still mining GPUs. Has anyone tried if they would work towards building a 19-GPU rig? These days it seems like power consumption is key to staying profitable. I would love to consolidate some rigs and build 19 or eve 21-GPU builds.
Why do you need to increase the number of GPU? What do you want to achieve? Saving the cost of rig? It doesn't. A large rig will cost more than a few rigs of 6 GPU. In case of equipment failure you will have a large amount of GPU. My opinion is that the policy of increasing the number of the GPU is a mistake.

Pages: [1] 2 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!