Bitcoin Forum
December 05, 2016, 06:37:25 PM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Mining estimate  (Read 900 times)
ponzi
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2


View Profile
June 28, 2011, 09:46:05 AM
 #1

OK, I've downloaded the client and I've spent a CPU-day mining but my balance still says 0.00. Can somebody give me an estimate of bitcoins/GHz/CPU-hour so I'll know if this is worthwhile.

On the plus side, the bitcoins.com client seems to be threaded since top reports 100+ CPU usage. Nice work!
1480963045
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480963045

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480963045
Reply with quote  #2

1480963045
Report to moderator
1480963045
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480963045

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480963045
Reply with quote  #2

1480963045
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1480963045
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480963045

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480963045
Reply with quote  #2

1480963045
Report to moderator
1480963045
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480963045

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480963045
Reply with quote  #2

1480963045
Report to moderator
tool_462
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 204



View Profile
June 28, 2011, 09:48:54 AM
 #2

1)  Can't believe your username wasn't taken until now.

2)  The client doesn't report a MHash/s reading anywhere?  I'm not familiar with CPU mining since it is so little compared to GPU.

BTC: 1ABEAV4QCJCGCURyxUUiYmxX8uhRvXboJg    MRY: M9dnmfbpzGS1y3EXqf2x7Kgjfh8VTTDoYt
LTC: LRPEG8uHEnJFe5v1K1bnKqtiZU3y5LnYZ2 DOGE: DUTCXVT3FaJ7aHU3WeYpm5CYMQFZeWshgx
Bert
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126



View Profile
June 28, 2011, 09:53:52 AM
 #3

Lookup the Mhash/sec for your setup.
https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/Mining_hardware_comparison

Then plug the numbers into a calculator.
http://bitcoinx.com/profit/
http://www.alloscomp.com/bitcoin/calculator.php
http://0x10.org/sandbox/bitcalc/

Most people join mining pools, because the difficulty has increased so much to make it nearly impossible to solo mine unless you have 20Ghash/sec.
https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/Comparison_of_mining_pools

Pick any pool that you like, they all pay the same*.
Joining a smaller pool will payout less often, but with bigger rewards.
Joining a larger pool will payout more often, but with tiny rewards.
The average should be the same for all pools over time.

* Some charge additional fees as well as keeping the transaction fees of all mined blocks.

But it is a good idea to avoid the top 2-3 largest pools, because no one person should control 50% of the mining, it could cause the exchange rate to drop if it happens.
https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/Weaknesses#Attacker_has_a_lot_of_computing_power

Tip jar: 1BW6kXgUjGrFTqEpyP8LpVEPQDLTkbATZ6
ponzi
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2


View Profile
June 28, 2011, 10:18:27 AM
 #4

1)  Can't believe your username wasn't taken until now.

2)  The client doesn't report a MHash/s reading anywhere?  I'm not familiar with CPU mining since it is so little compared to GPU.

1) Well, I was kindof stumped too :-)
2) There is a client that uses my GPU? I'm on Linux but I might be persuaded to go windows...
BkkCoins
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 784


firstbits:1MinerQ


View Profile WWW
June 28, 2011, 10:24:59 AM
 #5

Yes there are a few clients for Linux. I don't recall which use the GPU but they do. Someone will chip in here. I'm on Linux too but I'm using a CPU miner not GPU (just playing).

A real world figure for BitCoint revenue that I just saw based on another rig here using ATI 5870+5970 is 1.20 cents / day / MHs (using $16 exchange). Electricity costs about 9%. Of course, other equipment will vary and a CPU (w/o GPU) is just going to lose you money to electricty.

I figured you need 0.20 MHs / W to break even with electric @ 10 cents kWH.

Bert
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126



View Profile
June 28, 2011, 10:30:27 AM
 #6

It really depends on your flavour of Linux.

I used this guide down as far as "Setup Headless Bitcoin Mining", where I stopped because I wanted to use the machine for other things besides mining.

But if you search this forum, I'm sure that you will find help in setting up mining on any kind of Linux.


Tip jar: 1BW6kXgUjGrFTqEpyP8LpVEPQDLTkbATZ6
cryptomint
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 60


View Profile
June 28, 2011, 12:08:22 PM
 #7

1)  Can't believe your username wasn't taken until now.

2)  The client doesn't report a MHash/s reading anywhere?  I'm not familiar with CPU mining since it is so little compared to GPU.

1) Well, I was kindof stumped too :-)
2) There is a client that uses my GPU? I'm on Linux but I might be persuaded to go windows...


I use phoenix with the phatk kernel for gpu mining on linux: http://forum.bitcoin.org/index.php?topic=6458.0
poclbm is another popular choice: http://forum.bitcoin.org/?topic=1334.0

What is the model of your GPU?
otomo5240
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 14


View Profile
June 28, 2011, 12:16:58 PM
 #8

which smaller pool do you recommend?
At this moment I've joined deepbit

thx
BkkCoins
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 784


firstbits:1MinerQ


View Profile WWW
June 28, 2011, 12:22:48 PM
 #9

You might try BitClockers.com - I've been with them a while and they're not too big. About 300 GH/s total, 500 users. They have some decent stats pages and seem to be security conscious. I don't know anyone there personally though.

Eligius is good too but pretty stark as far as interface.

There is a lot of choices though. Some are listed on the bitcoin Wiki and lots more show with on google.

bitcointraderuk
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 8


View Profile
June 28, 2011, 12:39:00 PM
 #10

I think deepbit is one of the largest isn't it?
Onedutch
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 6


View Profile
June 28, 2011, 12:45:21 PM
 #11

I'm using  http://mining.bitcoin.cz/ happyly ever after, Slush is on top of his mining pool.

I did choose this one because of the SCORE instead of PROP I liked "impossible to cheat" so I went with that one..



Bert
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126



View Profile
June 28, 2011, 01:40:23 PM
 #12

I personally like MtRed, it does not hold onto some of your BTC's. Most pools have a minimum payout of at least 0.01 to 1.0, so there is always a tiny amount of Bitcoins left in your account if you ever decide to change pools. MtRed allows you to fully empty your account. This reason alone is enough for me to stay. But it is a matter of personal choice, read through the list of pools and pick one that suits you.

Tip jar: 1BW6kXgUjGrFTqEpyP8LpVEPQDLTkbATZ6
noob_jul11
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 121


View Profile
June 28, 2011, 02:39:52 PM
 #13

Then plug the numbers into a calculator.
http://bitcoinx.com/profit/

I like this calculator; but how do I find out how much electricity my system is using? I'm on Ubuntu 10.10.
BkkCoins
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 784


firstbits:1MinerQ


View Profile WWW
June 28, 2011, 02:49:27 PM
 #14

You can get some indications from the Bitcoin Wiki Hardware Comparison page.
Give a rough guess, or use a Kill-O-Watt meter to check actual usage.
I also bet if you post your basic system details here someone could give you a close guess.

noob_jul11
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 121


View Profile
June 28, 2011, 02:51:18 PM
 #15

Ubuntu 10.10 with 1 6970; looking to upgrade to 2 6970.

Per https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/Mining_hardware_comparison, I'm burning 196 W/hour for 1 6970?
KaptainBlaZzed
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 47


View Profile WWW
June 28, 2011, 02:51:38 PM
 #16

Then plug the numbers into a calculator.
http://bitcoinx.com/profit/

I like this calculator; but how do I find out how much electricity my system is using? I'm on Ubuntu 10.10.

use this calculator, it has all needed calculations.

www.kaptain.me/btc_calc.php

"All in One" Bitcoin Mining Calculator with Difficulty Adjusted Calculations!!
www.kaptain.me/btc_calc.php
Bert
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126



View Profile
June 28, 2011, 03:00:44 PM
 #17

Ubuntu 10.10 with 1 6970; looking to upgrade to 2 6970.

Per https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/Mining_hardware_comparison, I'm burning 196 W/hour for 1 6970?

I'd GUESS add another 150 watts for your CPU, RAM, motherboard, HDD, fans, (also any USB devices drawing power). So say 350 watts, maybe 400 watts, try both values and see the effect.

Tip jar: 1BW6kXgUjGrFTqEpyP8LpVEPQDLTkbATZ6
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!