Bitcoin Forum
May 12, 2024, 06:18:37 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 27.0 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: [HOW TO] Live tracking in excel  (Read 528 times)
Str1x (OP)
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 140
Merit: 33

Buy me a beer 13mVkBy6HVwKuNovaWzYdF27FB6pLqoJtr


View Profile
November 05, 2017, 03:43:19 PM
Last edit: November 09, 2017, 12:04:52 PM by Str1x
 #1

Hi all,

Searched the forum but couldn't find a tutorial how to add coinmarketcap in excel, so here i go.

What you need
MS Excel 2007/2013
MS Power Query https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=39379

Set up excel
When you finished setting up power query in excel you should see this icon:


If the new tab is in excel we can start with setting up the coinmarket API in excel:

Start with going to the new power query tab and click on from web


In the next screen copy and paste this link:
Code:
https://api.coinmarketcap.com/v1/ticker/?limit=0

you'll get something like this and press ok:


After pressing ok, you'll get the following screen:


Now that the API has loaded in press the button "to table"


now press "ok" and than press the left filter button as shown here:



After you press ok you can change colum name like you prefer, or even delete colums you don't need


After you done renaming colums press "Close & Load' and you are good to go:


TIP
If you want your data to refresh every X minute set the mouse on a cel -> go to Design and press connection properties


Now you can change how fast/slow you want the coinmarketcap data to be refresh as seen below:


Help
Feel free to ask in this topic if you need help in setting up this live coinmarketcap API in excel.

If you find this topic to be helpful you can always buy me a beer:
BTC: 13mVkBy6HVwKuNovaWzYdF27FB6pLqoJtr

1715537917
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1715537917

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1715537917
Reply with quote  #2

1715537917
Report to moderator
The forum was founded in 2009 by Satoshi and Sirius. It replaced a SourceForge forum.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction.
1715537917
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1715537917

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1715537917
Reply with quote  #2

1715537917
Report to moderator
1715537917
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1715537917

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1715537917
Reply with quote  #2

1715537917
Report to moderator
Profilerx
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 11
Merit: 0


View Profile
November 05, 2017, 08:48:18 PM
 #2

Thank you, I was looking for something like that. Can you also do this for the top 100 coins only?
Str1x (OP)
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 140
Merit: 33

Buy me a beer 13mVkBy6HVwKuNovaWzYdF27FB6pLqoJtr


View Profile
November 06, 2017, 08:18:46 AM
 #3

Thank you, I was looking for something like that. Can you also do this for the top 100 coins only?

Thanks for the reply, please change the api URL in:
Code:
https://api.coinmarketcap.com/v1/ticker/?limit=100

You can change the ticker limit how you want it, for example top 10 coins =
Code:
https://api.coinmarketcap.com/v1/ticker/?limit=10

DarnellL
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 34
Merit: 0


View Profile WWW
November 06, 2017, 05:46:40 PM
 #4

any chance to do the same in Google Sheets?
Heard, they have request limitations - is there any way to do that?
Str1x (OP)
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 140
Merit: 33

Buy me a beer 13mVkBy6HVwKuNovaWzYdF27FB6pLqoJtr


View Profile
November 06, 2017, 06:36:23 PM
 #5

any chance to do the same in Google Sheets?
Heard, they have request limitations - is there any way to do that?

The API has a limit of 10 times per minute, don't think you are going to refresh the sheet more than 10 times or are you. In regards to google spreadsheet i will look onto it and will update OP if i find it.

clip123
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 193
Merit: 10


View Profile
November 06, 2017, 11:52:03 PM
 #6

Thanks, been looking for something like this!
Spratan
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 689
Merit: 507


View Profile
November 08, 2017, 08:54:16 AM
 #7

My tables has been limited to 100 lines since yesterday. Yesterday it was more than 1200. Did Coinmarketcap changed its API ?
Str1x (OP)
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 140
Merit: 33

Buy me a beer 13mVkBy6HVwKuNovaWzYdF27FB6pLqoJtr


View Profile
November 08, 2017, 05:18:14 PM
 #8

My tables has been limited to 100 lines since yesterday. Yesterday it was more than 1200. Did Coinmarketcap changed its API ?

You are right, i had that this morning. Coinmarketcap sees a lot of traffic nowadays so they made it at default 100 coins.

But if you change the api to this:
Code:
https://api.coinmarketcap.com/v1/ticker/?limit=0
You are good to go

Spratan
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 689
Merit: 507


View Profile
November 08, 2017, 11:08:34 PM
 #9

My tables has been limited to 100 lines since yesterday. Yesterday it was more than 1200. Did Coinmarketcap changed its API ?

You are right, i had that this morning. Coinmarketcap sees a lot of traffic nowadays so they made it at default 100 coins.

But if you change the api to this:
Code:
https://api.coinmarketcap.com/v1/ticker/?limit=0
You are good to go

Thanks, it worked !
cryptodyn
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 50
Merit: 0


View Profile
November 08, 2017, 11:37:26 PM
 #10

Excel-ent!
Many thanks for this great tutorial. I've tried so many times in the past and couldn't make it work.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!