Bitcoin Forum
November 19, 2017, 02:30:10 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 [2]  All
  Print  
Author Topic: Internet Speed  (Read 825 times)
QuintLeo
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 882


View Profile
November 07, 2017, 10:03:00 PM
 #21

Ok pro miners, what about hashrates? Why when you see your's speed on the zec pool and it's look like 1.8ksol from 1 rig, but when you see your speed in miner and it's 2.3 ksol? I think internet speed has the meaning and don't forget about ping from your's rig to pool.

 Pool hashrate is calculated from shares found, which VARY.
 This is not an "internet speed" issue, though it might be an "internet LATENCY" issue if you have something like a Sat connection.

 Mining does NOT use a lot of data bandwidth - my junk Virgin Mobile 3G cell connection had more than enough bandwidth to handle several miners, even though it rarely saw much more than 200kbps on a GOOD night.

 Static IP doesn't matter unless you're running a pool you want folks to be able to use from outside your LAN.
1511101810
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511101810

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511101810
Reply with quote  #2

1511101810
Report to moderator
1511101810
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511101810

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511101810
Reply with quote  #2

1511101810
Report to moderator
1511101810
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511101810

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511101810
Reply with quote  #2

1511101810
Report to moderator
Join ICO Now A blockchain platform for effective freelancing
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1511101810
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511101810

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511101810
Reply with quote  #2

1511101810
Report to moderator
1511101810
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511101810

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511101810
Reply with quote  #2

1511101810
Report to moderator
gambit1
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 517


Crypterium - Digital Mobile Cryptobank For Everyon


View Profile
November 07, 2017, 11:02:58 PM
 #22

Quote

 Pool hashrate is calculated from shares found, which VARY.
 This is not an "internet speed" issue, though it might be an "internet LATENCY" issue if you have something like a Sat connection.

 Mining does NOT use a lot of data bandwidth - my junk Virgin Mobile 3G cell connection had more than enough bandwidth to handle several miners, even though it rarely saw much more than 200kbps on a GOOD night.

 Static IP doesn't matter unless you're running a pool you want folks to be able to use from outside your LAN.

I understand you, but why I have this big speed difference between flypool and my miners? I have 4g "mobile" internet now. What is the correct speed? On the pool or in the miner?



░░░░░░░░░░▄▄▄▄▄▄
░░░░░░▄███████████▄
░░░░▄██▀▀░░░░░░░░▀██▄
░░░██▀░░░▄▄▄▄▄▄░░░░▀██
░░██▀░░▄██▀▀▀▀▀░░▄▄
██▀░░██▀░░▄▄▄▄░░▀▀
██▀░░██░░▄██▀▀▀█▄
██░░██░░██▀
██░░▀▀░░██
██░░▄▄░░██
██░░██░░██▄
██▄░░██░░▀██▄▄▄█▀
██▄░░██▄░░▀▀▀▀░░▄▄
░░██▄░░▀██▄▄▄▄▄░░▀▀
░░░██▄░░░▀▀▀▀▀▀░░░░▄██
░░░░▀██▄▄░░░░░░░░▄██▀
░░░░░░▀███████████▀
░░░░░░░░░░▀▀▀▀▀▀


░░░░░░░░░░▄▄▄▄▄▄
░░░░░░▄███████████▄
░░░░▄██▀▀░░░░░░░░▀██▄
░░░██▀░░░▄▄▄▄▄▄░░░░▀██
░░██▀░░▄██▀▀▀▀▀░░▄▄
██▀░░██▀░░▄▄▄▄░░▀▀
██▀░░██░░▄██▀▀▀█▄
██░░██░░██▀
██░░▀▀░░██
██░░▄▄░░██
██░░██░░██▄
██▄░░██░░▀██▄▄▄█▀
██▄░░██▄░░▀▀▀▀░░▄▄
░░██▄░░▀██▄▄▄▄▄░░▀▀
░░░██▄░░░▀▀▀▀▀▀░░░░▄██
░░░░▀██▄▄░░░░░░░░▄██▀
░░░░░░▀███████████▀
░░░░░░░░░░▀▀▀▀▀▀

▀  Twitter
▀  Telegram
▀  Facebook
▀  ANN Thread
▀  Whitepaper
▀  Website
Anonym1337x
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42

If you want info about E-book, PM!


View Profile
November 07, 2017, 11:06:14 PM
 #23

You don't need good internet connection , since its about your hardware.
I have like 2Mbit/sec (VERY BAD) internet speed but i can mine like my friend with 1Gbit/sec lol

►►AUTOBUY LINK ◄◄
https://rocketr.net/buy/7501ba3b94ff
bongpanit20
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 14


View Profile
November 08, 2017, 10:41:25 AM
 #24

you just need the basic internet speed taht is available by your ISP  10mbpc or less if its available
BitcoinIntern
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 84


View Profile
November 08, 2017, 02:14:54 PM
 #25

Ok pro miners, what about hashrates? Why when you see your's speed on the zec pool and it's look like 1.8ksol from 1 rig, but when you see your speed in miner and it's 2.3 ksol? I think internet speed has the meaning and don't forget about ping from your's rig to pool.

 Pool hashrate is calculated from shares found, which VARY.
 This is not an "internet speed" issue, though it might be an "internet LATENCY" issue if you have something like a Sat connection.

 Mining does NOT use a lot of data bandwidth - my junk Virgin Mobile 3G cell connection had more than enough bandwidth to handle several miners, even though it rarely saw much more than 200kbps on a GOOD night.

 Static IP doesn't matter unless you're running a pool you want folks to be able to use from outside your LAN.


But what happens in a scenario where you install like 1000 miners on that 10 mbps network? Usually the download speed is way more than upload. Do you know which one matters when you have miners in 1000's? Thanks.
QuintLeo
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 882


View Profile
November 08, 2017, 08:06:30 PM
 #26

1000s of miners, you're probably going to need something higher end than dial-up equivilent - but I've never been anywhere near that level.

 I SUSPECT 10 Megabit would be enough - but would not be shocked if you need closer to 100.
 I believe you would likely need more upload speed, but that it would depend on how many shares you send back TO the pool vs how many new blocks it sends to each miner.
Pa1n
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28


View Profile
November 09, 2017, 03:37:14 PM
 #27

Important issue is not internet speed. There is only big issue is that continuous strong internet during mining.
Matthewmorris4
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28


View Profile WWW
November 09, 2017, 03:42:40 PM
 #28

I a friend of mine mined on mobile internet connection whit no problem (1 mbps). Only thing you have to look for is 24/7 to be online whit no interrupts. The speed doesn't matter.

So we just need a stable connection, right ?
then what happens if when we sleep, there is an interruption on our connection or for example the unexpected is the power outages

whether it will greatly affect our hardware mining ?

www.etherblue.org The Future of CryptoCurrency
BitcoinIntern
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 84


View Profile
November 09, 2017, 06:28:52 PM
 #29

I a friend of mine mined on mobile internet connection whit no problem (1 mbps). Only thing you have to look for is 24/7 to be online whit no interrupts. The speed doesn't matter.

So we just need a stable connection, right ?
then what happens if when we sleep, there is an interruption on our connection or for example the unexpected is the power outages

whether it will greatly affect our hardware mining ?

That is why you need 2 internet connections. One for back up and the other as primary.
QuintLeo
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 882


View Profile
November 09, 2017, 08:50:52 PM
 #30

If you're running a big operation, a second connection as a backup makes sense.
Most ISPs are stable enough for small operations.

 Only time I lose Net at this point is if my POWER goes down, as the panel I connect into for my Net access runs from building power - so a backup connection doesn't help me much if at all.

 If your net or power goes down when you're asleep, it's not going to be a big deal if you set up your miners to start back up when power comes up.
 Usually that's a setting in the motherboard BIOS for a GPU rig, and it seems to be the default for most or all ASIC stand-alone miners.



jdole
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28


View Profile
November 11, 2017, 06:45:15 AM
 #31

Internet speed doesn't affect your mining as far as know. Correct me if im wrong.
Your mining rig capabilty is which matters the most because this is where all process are done. Internet speed may not affect your mining. Base on my research, you can still mine even if your internet speed is 128 kbps to keep your mining going. Even on bandwidth,  mining doesnt really use huge bandwidth. But  your internet connection should be stable. You don't really need a very fast internet connection to mine. Fast internet connection will be worthless if it's not stable.

I did not know that internet speed is not a factor in mining.  I have a image mining is speed is most important so connection speed need it.thanks good infomation and I will study mining.

ALTCOMMUNITY  COIN 
 WE DECIDE THE FUTURE
Pages: « 1 [2]  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!